We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Isle Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dauphin Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Isle Resort
1601 Bienville Boulevard, Dauphin Island, AL AL 36528   |  
Hotel amenities
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“My favorite beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Already dreaming of when I can get back here. We have stayed here twice in 2 different condos. Both were great. We rented one directly through Holiday Isle and the other a rent by owner website. Clean, up to date condos with all the amenities. You are getting the luxury resort experience at a much cheaper price b/c Dauphin Island is not as trendy as other places such as Destin or Gulf Shores. We live in Baton Rouge and can get here so much quicker. The beach and water are lovely too. This place is never crowded like other resorts and beaches. No, there are no outlet shops or mini golf courses. There is an old golf course on the island if you really want to play, but it is kind of run down. We are there for the beach and the pool is nice too if you want to jump in on the way back up to your condo. One tip: there are few restaurants, so plan on cooking most of your meals in the condo. There is only a very small grocery store and a couple of convenience stores, so bring dry goods with you, (fruits and veggie selection is not good here). You can pick up milk, egss, butter, etc..at the small grocery store. Bring your books, magazines, games and get ready to relax! Yes, there was wi fi in the condo for those of you who can't get by without checking your email.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

This condo has everything for a great vacation. Large workout room with beach view, tennis, ping pong, indoor & outdoor pools with hot tub. Granite countertops with nice bathrooms, upsale condos.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Kansas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

This was the best place ever. The staff at Holiday Isle is wonderful and so helpful. We have stayed at many places over the last 8 years in the Alabama gulf coast area. This was by far one of our favorties. Susan is a sweetheart and the condo is so beautifully decorated. Everything you could ever need. The pictures are deceiving it is better than it looks. The beaches were beautiful. There was no oil at all on the beaches. If you have plans to go do not cancel. If you are thinking about going then go it is so worth it. The island is quiet but still has lots to do. Great places to eat. We loved the common loon and rainbow? (sorry dont know the exact name but it is right across from the condo.) The sandbox and treasure trove are great places to buy souveniers. The Lighthouse Bakery wonderful cinnamon rolls and cookies. Loved the coffee too. We also ate at Flamingo Fayes hard to find but great location. We even got snow cones from the little trailer on the main road. They were huge and so good on a hot day. You can rent bikes and ride all over the island it is a great way to see the island.You have the sea lab the ferry and the bird sanctiary to go to for fun. You will not get bored on your trip. The pools are wonderful they are clean and well maintained. The people on Daulphin Island are so sweet and laid back. Everyone is helpful. I just cant say enough about the place. This is the best vacation spot ever. Please please go there. Support the gulf coast and have a great vacation at the same time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

My husband and I and our three kids--ages 10, 7, and 7 just returned from a week at Dauphin Island. This was our first trip there; we met friends there who have family on the island and were staying for the month of July.

First, the beach. I have read a few posts about how bad the beach/water is--that it's brackish, filled w/ debris, and that you should wear shoes in the water. That was definitely NOT our experience. The beach and ocean were much, much better than we expected. The beaches were white sand and on the four days we spent at the beach, the water was crystal clear. We could clearly see not only lots of fish swimming in the water, but all of the little crab holes in the sand at the bottom of the ocean. We have spent the last six years vacationing in the Florida panhandle (Seaside, FL) and although the water is not the brilliant sapphire blue of the panhandle, it's just as clear. In addition to seeing school of fish, we also saw a pod of dolphins jumping and playing not far from shore. I've read posts about how the waters at Dauphin Island are full of jellyfish. Again, that wasn't our experience. As I said, the water was crystal clear and we saw only one jellyfish during our four days on the beach. None of us were stung but the last day we were there a little boy w/ a family near us was stung. I didn't see or hear of anyone else getting stung while we were there.

We spent one day at the West End beach, which, as you would expect is at the far west end of the island. There's a small charge to get in (I think it was $8.00 for us). The beach is very nice, and if you walk farther to the west, the beach is covered w/ all kinds of seashells. There is a volleyball net set up, rentals of kayaks, jet skis, etc. and big inflatable waterslides and a bouncy house. A $5.00 wristband bought my seven year olds unlimited time on the water slide and bouncy house, which they made the most of. There's also a concession stand where you can buy funnel cakes, polish sausage, and chicken on a stick. I didn't check it out but I think there's also an outdoor bar, where I assume you can order a beer or margarita. The atmosphere was busy, fun and festive and the beach was really nice. My kids loved it.

We stayed at Holiday Isle, which appears to be the largest condos on the island. Holiday Isle is right on the beach, and it's a VERY wide beach. Apparently, the condos used to be much closer to the water but Hurricane Katrina dumped a huge load of sand on the beach making it a longer walk from the condos to the water. Next to the condos there's actually a fishing pier that pre-Katrina, extended over the water, but is now totally landlocked.

The accomodations were very nice. We stayed in unit 202, which I chose b/c the second bedroom had two sets of bunk beds, which were great for three kids. The balcony was very wide and deep and w/ three nice, flat screen t.v.s, there was no fussing from the kids as to what to watch on the rare occasions we were actually in the condo. The complex has two pools. One is an indoor pool, which is very shallow--this seemed to be where most of the younger kids played. The outdoor pool is great b/c it's mostly covered. Only about a fourth of it is in the sun. This was great for those afternoons when we'd been at the beach for four hours in the morning and still wanted to play in the water outside but get out of the sun. There's also a very nice exercise room, w/ what appeared to be new equipment, a ping pong table and a tennis court. The staff was very accomodating. We were booked to arrive on Saturday, July 11. I called on Friday, the day before, and asked if we could come that night, and check out the following friday instead of the following saturday. The staff said for us to come on down, and left our keys in a little safe deposit box in the lobby (we got there around 9:00 p.m.)

As for things to do on Dauphin Island, we went to the Sea Lab one morning, which was interesting. The kids got to hold a giant horseshoe crab as well as some hermit crabs and seashells. There's also a fishing pier just before you cross the bridge to the island where you can rent tackle, etc. and fish. Mobile is about 30 minutes away and we drove into Mobile one day and toured the USS Alabama and the submarine next to it. We also took the ferry from Dauphin Island to Fort Morgan one day. We took two cars on the ferry and my friend and I drove to Foley and hit the outlet stores, while the two dads took our combined five children to Waterville, USA. Other than the beach and pools, there's not a whole lot to do on the Island. No nightlife to speak of, and the restaurants close early. There are lots of houses, a few condo complexes, 4 or 5 restaurants, and a couple of shops. This is definitely not the place for people who want to be entertained or be going, going, going. However, if you want a laid back, family atmosphere at a nice beach that for our family in Arkansas was 3 hours closer than the panhandle, Dauphin Island deserves some consideration. We will probably return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauphin Island, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

I spent a night here while work was being done to my personal Dauphin Island home. The amenities are the best on the island with a heated indoor pool, workout room facing the beach and a steam room, etc. The parking garage is the only one on the island with plenty of room for your cars. No boats are allowed though.
They offer nightly rentals, weekly and Snow Bird options.
A local real estate office is onsite to handle rentals and sales inquiries.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Isle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Isle Resort

Address: 1601 Bienville Boulevard, Dauphin Island, AL AL 36528
Location: United States > Alabama > Dauphin Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Dauphin Island
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Hotel Dauphin Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Isle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Holiday Isle Resort to your Saves list