We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islanders Restaurant and Bar

Islanders Restaurant and Bar
1504 Bienville Blvd, Dauphin Island, AL 36528 (Formerly The Oar House)
251-861-2225
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

New management and chef. Best meal I have had in a long time!! Heard from a local that food was excellent and did not disappoint!! Large servings had the shrimp and grits tons of shrimp and sausage !! Will be back!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    49
    27
    21
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I were very skeptical of our visit to the new "Islanders" restaurant but were pleasantly surprised. We had the shrimp and chili sauce appetizer and the shrimp and grits entree. Both were excellent but the shrimp and grits was the standout. The only criticism would be to spruce up the decor.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“New owners make this a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were the fourth new customer to eat at the NEW restaurant that is now called the Islander. We will definitely go back again before we leave the island. The new owner has really cleaned up the place and could not be friendlier. The gumbo and shrimp poboy were delicious. We are so glad to see a new restaurant with such class added to the island since it is one of our favorite places to vacation. If you tried the Oar House in the past we understand the varied reviews. The islander is a major step up from the past and they deserve the chance to show you how good they are. Hope they are going strong when we come back for spring break.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“the Oar House has changed owners and names”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

It is now called "The Islander" and has an excellent menu. It is located catty corner from Holiday Isle condos so it is an easy walk. Love the outside decks and the octagonal shape of the building.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama city beach
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Noise, loud, and not worth the effort.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Would have been better getting carry out somewhere and taking it back to the condo rather than going here where you could hardly have a conversation. It's really more of a bar, with token food thrown in.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Islanders Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Islanders Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islanders Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.