We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD! AWESOME SERVICE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market by the bay take-Out

Market by the bay take-Out
29145 US Highway 98, Daphne, AL 36526
(251) 621-9664
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 79 Restaurants in Daphne
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD! AWESOME SERVICE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is one amazing small little hole in the wall place. On one side there's the restaurant and the other a seafood market. They are very military friendly. Husband goes a couple times a month when in the area for business. And he will surprise me about once a month and take me here. The staff is amazing. Very helpful and always welcoming. And the food, O'my. We always get their fried shrimp. It's flaky and perfectly cooked. By far the best shrimp I've ever had. Gumbos pretty tasty too. Have had different sides when we go, coleslaw, baked beans, fries, and potato salad. All are good. Haven't had a side yet we didn't like. Looking forward to the fried pickles next time I go. There's no better place to get good seafood. Keep up the great work guys. O and one last note.... We drive from Milton Fl. which is about 60miles away. It's so worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best fried shrimp!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My co workers order from here every few weeks. One of them bought me lunch the other day which included fried shrimp, fried pickles, hush puppies & coleslaw. Everything was fabulous other than the coleslaw, it's not what I'm used to. I love that they batter and fry the shrimp when you order. You can taste the freshness of the shrimp. Top notch seafood. I will definitely order from Market by the bay again. Awesome shrimp!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

If I could I would eat there all of the time! The food is so fresh-I can't think of anywhere else locally that has food come even close! This is definitely my favorite place for seafood.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Biggest shrimp poboy I've ever eaten. Couldn't even pick it up! Large tender pieces of shrimp with delicate breading. YUM! Delicious gumbo, too. We had pulled into the parking lot just to see when they were open to eat there the next day. The owner (or manager?) came out and asked us if she could help. Then she ran back in and brought out a sample of the gumbo. What great service.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great little place, awesome gumbo.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at a hotel across the street and went in here after reading some reviews. Not a very fancy place but the food was great. The ladies working were very friendly and were very attentive. I had a shrimp dinner and it was good. They gave me a sample of gumbo after I ordered. I wish they had given it to me first. That is the best gumbo I ever had. Next time just a bowl or two of gumbo for me. Try a sample. It's great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market by the bay take-Out also viewed

 

Been to Market by the bay take-Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market by the bay take-Out, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.