We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cullman

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Cullman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cullman
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2052 Hays Drive, Cullman, AL 35058   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Cullman
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were a bit small and would have been nice to have an outdoor pool. It was clean and Wanda the breakfast went out of her way for us. She was a treat!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mchoisser, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cullman, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate knowing how our guests feel about both our property and our service. I completely agree that our breakfast hostess, Wanda is the best! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    15
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
28
15
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, OH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

A bit pricy but nice breakfast to help offset price. Quiet even with a girls softball team there. Decent value. Good night Of sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mchoisser, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cullman, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are thrilled that you stopped in Cullman to spend the night with us and that you were able to get a good night's sleep! We wish you the best and look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marne, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Rooms are in excellent condition, friendly staff, great rates, and hot yummy breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mchoisser, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cullman, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
English, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We've stayed at many hotels through the years, however this hotel was, by far, one of the best. The staff was professional, polite, and very accommodating. Our group consisted of my mother-in-law, my husband, and our 3 boys. Our requests were granted without delay, and with a smile! The crib brought to the room was an actual crib, sanitized, and made up for our child. I was rather impressed! The breakfast was delicious, and the station kept clean despite the vast number of patrons. Ben, an evening front desk employee, was very polite and helpful, which was a welcomed experiences as we arrived later than intended after a very long 8 hour drive. The rooms were very clean, and the beds so comfortable that we joked about buying them directly from the hotel. This hotel is perfect for anyone wanting to visit the Ave Maria Grotto or the Shrine. Needless to say, we will be going back to this family friendly hotel on our trips down to FL in the future! Thanks again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mchoisser, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cullman, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments in reviewing our hotel. As the General Manager, I always appreciate knowing that we have served our guests well. Thank you for your kind comments, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We were visiting family in the area for the Christmas holiday and stayed at the Holiday Inn because there was too much family and not enough room at the house. We live and travel with Emotional Support Animal (a small dog) and notified the hotel of such at the time we made the reservation. Someone from the hotel should spend a few minutes on the internet researching ESAs! On Christmas Eve, the hotel decided that since they could not see a physical handicap, that our dog was not allowed. Even after explaining more personal information than they needed (including diagnoses, medication, etc), they still decided that only people with obvious physical handicaps are permitted to have service animals with them. And with that, they threw us out on Christmas Eve. To be fair, we were "asked to leave", but that is the equivalent of being thrown out.

These folks need a lesson in acceptance and tolerance. I'd love to put an activist group on them, but I don't think they'd learn a thing. There are two lessons I'd like for the Holiday Inn Express in Cullman to learn (1) being judgmental is no good - just because a person has a problem is no reason for you to turn them away, and (2) the season of Christmas would have been the perfect time to extend hospitality to strangers. I only hope that when your time comes, you are not treated with similar disregard.

If the hotel management can overcome its discriminatory attitude, the property would live up to the HI reputation. The building is newer, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the facility is clean. It is not far off the highway and is only a short drive from the center of town. There is alot of potential here - just the hurdle of attitude & service to overcome.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mchoisser, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cullman, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Guest feedback is very important to us. Without hearing from our guests, we can never know where our weaknesses lie. The experience described above is not the experience we want anyone to have at our hotel. We do observe a very strict pet policy due to feedback from a multitude of our guests. We of course gladly make exceptions for service animals traveling with disabled guests according to ADA regulations. Emotional support animals do not fall into this category. When I spoke with this guest, it appears that I did not express myself clearly. I believe that what I told him was that due to the Christmas holiday, it would be impossible to find alternate accommodations for his pet, so I would make an exception for him. If this is not what he understood and felt that I was ‘throwing him out’, I should express my apologies for the breakdown in communication. We will, however, always remain a pet free facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We've stayed here many times & are always impressed with the facility, the cleanliness, the staff & the breakfast, esp. the neat pancake maker. Easy to get to off the interstate & close to a Cracker Barrel. We'll continue to stay here when we're in the area.

Room Tip: We like the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mchoisser, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cullman, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you so much for writing about your stay with us. We're so glad that you choose our hotel when you're in the area! We look forward to having you again. In the meantime, have a wonderful Christmas season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Was looking for a place to spend the night in Cullman. King bed suite was clean and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast in the lobby area met my basic expectations. Yogurt, juice, toast. The basics. My traveling companion seemed enamored of the automatic pancake machine.

Although I didn't use the indoor heated pool or gym, the appeared to be clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and parking was convenient. I really don't know what anyone would expect of a Holiday Inn Express that this facility did not provide.

Room Tip: We went down to go skydiving. The king suite gave us relaxing and sleeping space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mchoisser, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cullman, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for writing about your stay with us! We are so glad that you were able to relax, have a good night's sleep, and enjoy our great breakfast. I hope that we are able to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cullman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cullman

Address: 2052 Hays Drive, Cullman, AL 35058
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Cullman
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Cullman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cullman 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Cullman, Alabama and experience true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, our town's finest hotel.This hotel is equipped with everything a traveler may need for a comfortable home away from home. Our hotel features interior corridors, and 78 professionally decorated rooms to give you an upscale environment. These bright, airy rooms are equipped with a 27 TV with cable and HBO, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and two 2-line phones. Stay connected with high speed internet access throughout the hotel and free local calls. Get your work done at your executive work desk w/ergonomic chair. For your convenience, our hotel has a fitness center, indoor heated swimming pool, and guest laundry on site. All guests receive a free USA Today newspaper.Enjoy our complimentary deluxe breakfast featuring daily hot items, our world famous cinnamon rolls, and Smart Roast coffee.Are you planning a meeting? Our two meeting rooms can hold groups up to 120, set any way you prefer.We are located East of Interstate 65 off of Exit 310. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cullman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cullman Hotel Cullman
Holiday Inn Cullman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cullman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.