We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in a dhaba ambiance....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mirch Masala

Mirch Masala
Singhi Villa No. 49/2, Gariahat Road, Near Apollo Gleneagles Heart Centre | Ballygunge, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700019, India
3324618900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 1,357 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a dhaba ambiance....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I had been to Mirch Masala many times.....excellent ambiance, you won't feel u r in a average priced restaurant in the heart of the city, u will feel like u r into a roadside dhaba.....however the comfort is with at par with any other restaurant of the same league. First time visitors will really enjoy it...About the food I would say is just excellent...i would recommend few dishes for the first time visitors...Shikari Alu, Non veg mili juli kebab, murgh malai kebab. You can go there with your family and enjoy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    32
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Dhaba-Style food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I visited Mirch Masala with my family recently for dinner. It was a very enjoyable experience for us. The food was great. The service was great and the ambiance was great. We ordered Kadhai Mushrooms, Murgh Malai Kebabs, Mutton Seekh Kebab and Tandoori Prawns for starters. Apart from the Prawns, which were a bit of a turns of because they weren't de-shelled, everything else was melt-in-your mouth delicious! We ordered a ginger lemon salt soda which was a nice innovation and added to the meal. The main course was Butter Naans, Paneer Makhani and Kadhai Mugh, all of which tasted excellent.

I highly recommend this restaurant and would definitely visit again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The ambience is very refreshing n cool, a dhaba road side atmosphere. Now the food, it's at par with other restaurants in the city, but we enjoyed the taste n variety. But our experience was marred by one incident when someone next to our table found one insect in one of the dishes. When this was informed to the management, they were just very casual and argued that such things sometime happens in other restaurants too. This visit was our first and this incident had a negative impact on us. Hope this is just one of incidents and management wud look into it. Otherwise a nice place to dine.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“A local favourite...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

During our recent trip to Kolkata, as ordained by my son & daughter (young adults) I was hard pressed to locate a North Indian/Chinese eatery for lunch around Gariahat. We chose Mirch Masala for the proximity and opted for its Chinese section. The ambiance was highly clichéd…from flying dragons to laughing Buddhas to Feng Shui tidbits!

We ordered one portion each of baby corn-mushroom as starter (Rs.175.00), chicken manchow soup (Rs.95.00), chicken fried rice (Rs.135.00), veg hakka noodles (Rs.115.00), exotic veg (Rs.135.00) and Youm bang chicken (Rs.170.00). The names may sound quite exotic and enthralling but all dishes are cooked in la Calcutta Chinese style, a mongrel cuisine developed and devoured over the years in that part of the country.

Considering Gariahat a prime commercial locality, Mirch Masala had a steady local clientele for its pocket-friendly pricing strategy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's all about ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The ambience and the menu designs are in desi and Bollywood style. The food is also v good. Priceing is also good. Service is prompt. Would live to be regular.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirch Masala also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 

Been to Mirch Masala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirch Masala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.