We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Floating on a Ship...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Floatel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Floatel Hotel to your Saves list
Floatel Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9/10 Strand Road Kolkata Jetty | Opposite State Bank of India HQ, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700001, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GLIMPSES OF KOLKATA
Ranked #47 of 195 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Surat, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Floating on a Ship...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Rooms are small and quite old.Ground floor rooms are really shabby.Television old n CRT with very weak signal..Even bathroom fittings are in bad shape.Full night You will hear sound of somebody walking on wooden floor in corridor..But buffet breakfast is awesome...Food is good but a bit costly...and lastly ambience is excellent floating on Ganges...

Room Tip: Rooms on First floor sunset view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of the services provided by our team. Our team is our strength and your feedback will encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Kunal Banerjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    82
    55
    23
    20
See reviews for
46
43
23
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galaxy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here for a night. The hotel is run down. They gave me a room on the third floor. It was noisy throughout the night. Sleep disturbed. No hot water in the shower. Shower in the bathtub, but it wont drain. Had to stand in ankle deep water for the shower. Very Poorly maintained. While checking out the front desk asked me how the stay was. I answered unpleasant. He did not reply or react! He went on with his work - it was just a formality he was fulfilling. He was not bothered about my answer.

The much hyped view was not enjoyable. It was smoggy/foggy. Could not see anything. Food is expensive and quality was not that good.

Not recommended.

Room Tip: Dont take rooms on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Floatel has an great location, right on Ganga river. But the rooms are small, old , some times smelling, too cold, bathroom fixtures are old, it takes time to get hot water.
Their is good rooftop restaurant but many times it's booked for parties and you are denied access. The food is costly. I would suggest only people who wish to have parties book the roof top restaurant, not good for staying. More good options are available at same rates in Kolkata.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Mr Amol,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of the services provided by our team. Our team is our strength and your feedback will encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Kunal Banerjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The novelty of the place along with the location, makes it a great place to hold an event. From smaller ones for 50 people to larger 200 people events, the service and food were great.

The view (though sadly the Ganges is not well lit) is great. One can see the Howrah and Hooghly bridges from the hotel.

We had Christmas lunch there - a buffet. Good selection with a Santa Claus and a magician around to entertain the younger ones. Good food and great place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Mr Ruminder C,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of our services. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Kunal Banerjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I was not as impressed. The floating experience was something new but the hotel condition was a little run down. Rooms are rather small. I would not choose this place other than for some meals just to have the fun of floating on the holy River Ganges.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the river and you can see good sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, Front Office Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Mr Ravi ,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

Sir as the hotel is not a land based hotel and it has certain specification and guideline but perhaps Floatel has its own charm and unique experience .

We are delighted for your appreciation of our services. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Amit Dutta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konigs Wusterhausen, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Especially the bellboy, the room service and the security guards at the front door are extremely friendly. I came back after 3 weeks of travelling and they greated me like a good old friend coming home. The rooms could need some renovating and cleaning (curtains are worn down, bathtub has a gradient in the wrong direction). In general it is very noisy from the other rooms and the air condition can't be regulated in the room. For me it was too cold in the room and restaurant as well. And there is one remark for people who are suffering from seasickness. The hotel is moving with the tide of the river. There are no waves this is more a side motion of the floatel. The restaurant serves nice food and you can sit on the terrace facing the river outside. If you sit inside don't forget your sweater. The location is central but you need a taxi to reach the place. If you want to be in walking distance prefer a hotel around Sudder Street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, Front Office Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Mr Armor-Reisen ,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of our services. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Amit Dutta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Floatel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floatel Hotel

Address: 9/10 Strand Road Kolkata Jetty | Opposite State Bank of India HQ, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 195 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Floatel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing Floatel, An Eco-Friendly Hotel during your stay in Kolkata. We are an environment friendly hotel and it is our endeavor to conserve the environment in every way we can. As you have chosen Floatel for your stay, you have also committed yourself to help us save the environment. Together let us ensure a greener earth to ensure a better future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Floatel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floatel Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floatel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.