We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, quality of rooms middle class” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Floatel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Floatel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Floatel Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9/10 Strand Road Kolkata Jetty | Opposite State Bank of India HQ, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700001, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #45 of 190 hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Konigs Wusterhausen, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, quality of rooms middle class”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Especially the bellboy, the room service and the security guards at the front door are extremely friendly. I came back after 3 weeks of travelling and they greated me like a good old friend coming home. The rooms could need some renovating and cleaning (curtains are worn down, bathtub has a gradient in the wrong direction). In general it is very noisy from the other rooms and the air condition can't be regulated in the room. For me it was too cold in the room and restaurant as well. And there is one remark for people who are suffering from seasickness. The hotel is moving with the tide of the river. There are no waves this is more a side motion of the floatel. The restaurant serves nice food and you can sit on the terrace facing the river outside. If you sit inside don't forget your sweater. The location is central but you need a taxi to reach the place. If you want to be in walking distance prefer a hotel around Sudder Street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, Front Office Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Mr Armor-Reisen ,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of our services. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Amit Dutta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    60
    50
    18
    17
See reviews for
42
32
21
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have visited kolkata many times in past. But this been an really really awesome experaince, on staying in Floatel. You can see the real kolkata. It is very centrally located on Hugli river, from where you can see Howrah Bridge, the Old style Howrah Station across the river, the other side d legendary Rabrindranath Setu..the other side Kolkata City...it is really amazing to be in this place, on a sea vessel. Highly Recommended and true value for money.

Room Tip: Take a Sunrise room.. dats d time you would be there to enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
At the onset we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Adviser. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of the service provided by the team.. Our team is our strength and your feedback will encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.


Warm Regards,

Kunal Banerjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I planned to visit Kolkata during the Durga Pooja Festival and selected this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews, the staff as very friendly, the room looked great, opening the curtains could view the Ganges and ferries, boats going by and was worth watching, the beds were soft, well maintained. If one has a Cruise experience, they would love this place, in case you plan to leave very early morning for some sightseeing they would pack the b'fast for us.

Something that I did not like was the service @ the restaurant which is on the 3rd floor, no one cared to listen to the concerns, they were no spoons served, had a wait for a very long time and the billing was also pathetic, they got someone's else bill to me :-) . B'fast was a lot better.

I would recommend this hotel only if you get the SUNSET room, do remb. this.. and best places for Couples..

Room Tip: Select the SUNSET room and in case leaving early morning ask for the packed b'fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Mr Sandeep ,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of the services provided by our team. Our team is our strength and your feedback will encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Kunal Banerjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

the place is awesome...The best part was having dinner on the open air top deck which is an extension to the restaurant. The food and service is excellent. The sunset room with huge glass windows overlooking the river is simply great.
A stay during weekends on the river is a must to take out all the stress.

Room Tip: Stay in a Sunset room and have dinner on the bridge deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you!!!! See you soooooooooon :):):):):):)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here one night. From the food to the service to the view, I had an amazing time. Its definitely a must-stay kinda place. The concept is soo unique as is the view. The ambience is very different from any other hotel in Kolkata. The view of the river is breathtaking, especially during sunset and during the Pujas. The buffet choices at dinner and breakfast were incredible. I was so spoilt for choice. The staff are very friendly and courteous and made every effort to make you feel at home.
the bottom line is its definitely worth trying when you come to Kolkata!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Shubho Bijoya! Thank you for a wonderful review. We are pleased to have met your expectations.

We look forward to your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This place has the most amazing locational advantage in a metro like Kolkata.If not for anything else,you'll love this place simply because of the sights and sounds it offers.The food is also amazing,really the fish preperations are amazing.However,the service is lagging as there a staff shortage.The rooms are unclean and pretty much unhiegynic,damp and mushy.Not good for stay,however you'll enjoy the food and view.Quite a budget hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for feedback. The chef is happy you like his food, especially fish and he says thank you for your positive comment.

We are investigating the cause of the dampness in the rooms. We appreciate your review as it the best way we receive constructive and direct feedback as a means to improve our services.

We look forward to your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

9 of us went for food there. Locations is excellent. Convennient. you are on the Ganges. Food is very costly. over all ambience was fabulous. Staff were ok. But get a bit of government feeling. like takes time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for feedback. The Floatel is the only floating hotel in India. We are pleased you enjoyed our unique experience.

We do hope we can meet your other expectations on your next visit. We look forward to your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Floatel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floatel Hotel

Address: 9/10 Strand Road Kolkata Jetty | Opposite State Bank of India HQ, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Floatel Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing Floatel, An Eco-Friendly Hotel during your stay in Kolkata. We are an environment friendly hotel and it is our endeavour to conserve the environment in every way we can. As you have chosen Floatel for your stay, you have also committed yourself to help us save the environment. Together let us ensure a greener earth to ensure a better future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Floatel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floatel Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floatel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.