We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half cooked hotel - Serious Renovations goiong on but hotel is still open” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dee Empresa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dee Empresa to your Saves list
Hotel Dee Empresa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12/2A,Kyd Street | (Kyd Street), Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 196 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
delhi
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Half cooked hotel - Serious Renovations goiong on but hotel is still open”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Stayed here many months back and it was not a great experience. The location is though really good. Went back this month and stayed 2 nights - It was a disaster. We booked and had a writtenconfirmation for taxi at hotel but they conveniently sent the taxi for another customer. The lobby was a mess under construction with no place to sit. Overall very disappointing experience and will not be going back here. I think they should have atleast informed during booking that they are undergoing renovation and needed to be more responsible. We had a guest from US with us and he went back with an unfortunately bad experience of Kolkata, the hotel being one of the reasons.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
6
5
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

The rooms are so narrow you hardly have any space to move around in

Not worth the price tag , despite the adequate wifi, the choice of food is good but the quality isn't up to mark. especially as you are only a 5 minute walk from some excellent establishments near Park Street.

Room Tip: stay at the Kempton Hotel, on the street behind
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Dee Empressa for just 1 night and found it very acceptable. We arrived at the hotel in the early morning after taking a night train from New Jalpaiguri. Checking in early (8:30am) was no problem. Since we were only staying there for 1 night, we booked an executive single room. The room was small, but we knew it would be small as it was just a single room. Had we been staying longer than just 1 night, we would have booked one of the more spacious double rooms. We were quite happy with the room as it was clean, had a decent view of the city and had good, strong water pressure.

The staff were all VERY helpful and friendly and quickly took care of anything we needed. The hotel staff were some of the most friendliest we encountered in our 3 weeks in India. The hotel is located on a quieter part of the Park Street/Sudder Street/Chowringee area of town. It is located in a quieter area than other hotels in this region of town. There are several good restaurants and cafes nearby as well as plenty of small shops selling drinks and snacks. Getting a taxi from the hotel is easy as several drivers wait across the street. The hotel also offers an airport pickup and drop-off for a reasonable price.

I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

stayed here for 3 nights. its not on main road but looking at the budget issues, we were offered to be here. food was ok but the rooms are too small and cleanliness was only average. worse i was on 5th floor and 14 hours the elevator was not working and i was running up and down as they have only 1 elevator. They talk a lot on their website butt the website is not a true reflection of the hotel. if you also have a budget constraint, then this is one option.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Don't touch this with a dirty stick. Pokey rooms, no license, and I had £200 worth of travellers cheques stolen from my room. Don't go.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
navbagga, Owner at Hotel Dee Empresa, responded to this review, April 23, 2011
Dear Sir,

I am sorry to read such a review and disappointed in the non-accuracy of your claim, you came down to check out at the reception and realised that you were missing travellers cheques. We were not given time to look into the matter as you were in a hurry to catch your flight and make a police complaint so you could claim them back. You might also recall that when you did want to make a police complaint, I sent my General Manager to escort you there so that no inconvinience was caused.

We at Dee Empresa Hotel try to maintain very high levels of guest safety and in-house security with 36 CCTV Cameras Recording 24 X 7.

However I do understand how you feel cheated. I do however hope that you will give us another chance to serve and show you true Dee Empresa Hospitality.

Thanking you.

Yours sincerely,

Navkaran Singh Bagga
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

The rooms were small but lovely, nicely decorated, very comfortable beds (we stayed in a deluxe room). The reception, room service and catering staff were very smiley and friendly. We only ordered food at the restaurant once and that took a long time to come, the waiter seemed confused and didn't bring us all the things we ordered. But the included breakfast was always delicious. The location was great - Maidan Park, the nearest metro station, a market were all just round the corner. Having a security guard always at the door made it feel safe to return at any hour of the night. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Dee Empresa Hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

As couple of other reviewers told about the hot water issue, even I faced the same being in this hotel. when you had a important meeting to attend in the morning and suddenly find that you don't have hot water in the bathroom, you definitely feel good.
Moreover, I can see some stains in the bed as well....

Other than that its OK...what I like about this hotel is their breakfast offer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dee Empresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dee Empresa

Address: 12/2A,Kyd Street | (Kyd Street), Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 196 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dee Empresa 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Dee Empresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dee Empresa Hotel
Hotel Dee Empresa India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dee Empresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.