We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location is its only plus” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel VIP Continental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel VIP Continental to your Saves list
Hotel VIP Continental
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40, Free School Street (Park Street), Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 196 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“location is its only plus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

the pictures on the net do not represent the exact state of the rooms. the entrance is fine, the staircase is a disaster and the rooms are basic. the linen was clean , bathrooms renovated recently, but still a bit over priced. but its very close to park street and thats the only reason i stayed there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    13
    10
    23
See reviews for
7
20
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeville, Hawaii
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Horrible experience in every aspect! Not only that the place is overpriced, but they even lied to us with the bill and we had to pay considerably higher price. The staff are constantly begging for tips and the service they provide is far from pleasing. The room was very dirty and extremely noisy. The breakfast - worst thing ever! The internet was not free and was very slow.
DO NOT STAY THERE!

Room Tip: They will try to convince you to pay extra for a better room, but don't.. no point!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marikina City, Rizal, Philippines
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

racial descrimination, refused to give receipt. and they said, they accept master card. we were so disappointed when we checked out and used our card they charge 2.5% interest. we went to changed our dollar and paid cash. breakfast was good, service boys were good. we disappointed of the receptionist.

Room Tip: higher room is lesas noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The first thing to point out is that the Hotel VIP Continental and the Hotel VIP International are separate hotels, albeit on the same street. I have no idea whether they are part of the same hotel chain. We stayed there for 4 nights in December 2012. We didn't pre-book; we just asked at the reception desk whether they had a room available. This was during the India vs England test match - not the best time to look for a hotel room in Calcutta. But we needed to find somewhere and this was just round the corner from Sudder Street.

It is a business hotel for Indians - all chrome and glass in the entrance foyer, going a bit to seed inside. The staircase looked dodgy and an area of the ceiling had fallen through in one of the corridors. We'd asked to see one of the rooms before we made the booking. When we actually checked in, we were struck by the smell of cigarrettes. "All rooms are smoking rooms" was the response. The loo didn't flush and we dragged someone in to look at it, but it wasn't fixed. Fortunately there was a nice big bucket which we could fill from the shower. Otherwise the loo & shower were OK. We'd paid a deposit but they asked for more payment before the end of our stay. When I asked for a reduction in the bill because the loo didn't flush, it was fixed instantly. We had to ask for toilet paper. None arrived so we stole some from their cupboard in the corridor. They took the sheets after the 1st night and it took some haggling before we eventually got replacements. Otherwise the staff were pleasant. Cleanliness was OK. Wifi internet access was very good.

We slept well and weren't disturbed by noise from the busy street. No safe deposit box but they looked after our lap-top OK at the reception desk. We understand that Indians tend to eat in their rooms. We saw no-one else when we had breakfast (mediocre) in the dining room (see photo). Banana, spicy omelet, toast without jam, cake and tea.

It was over-priced but we had little choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great location, and the most comfortable bed. We found this hotel on Christmas eve, when there was no room at the inn even at the most basic hotels during the school holidays in Kolkata. We only needed one night, but returned again and stayed 4 nights at the end of our trip. Good complementary breakfast, and cheap laundry service provided. Perhaps a little costly but, price was inclusive of all taxes sometimes charged separately.

Room Tip: The rooms are charged by size, so there is a choice to be had. Ask for a small room if your budget i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siliguri, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

At the time of check in which i did along with my friend on 19th Dec. 2012, the receptionist showed me a delux room and also showed a tariff booklet. We agreed for the delux room and also the room tariff showed as per that tariff booklet. The surprise thing they said when we check in, they asked whether we need a proper bill or not? We told that we need it. We didn't feel that there was some fishy going on in this hotel with the billing. So the next day, we checked out purposely to see what they will say when we asked for the bill. Our doubt got cleared, the Hotel receptionist made a bill with some higher room tariff and moreover, they said that from the room we had taken some drinks which infact we haven't done it at all. We clearified them and if we did then at least those empty bottles should be lying in our room. Then they checked with the room boy and it came to know that the room boy forgot to keep or put back the drinks which the earlier room occupant had consumed. Now, this part is over, but the room tariff which we had to pay was way higher then the one which they had shown to us at the time of check-in. This sort of things happened to us in this VIP International Hotel at Mirza Ghalib Street which is next to Park Street in Kolkata. So, please be careful who ever travel around in such bad and illegal hotel billings going on.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I Checked in at late night and left early in the morning at 4 AM to catch my flight. Rooms were small. There was no blanket and I was so tired that I had no energy left to call them and ask for one. Later I found that there was no water as well. bathroom was too small. I asked them to wake me up at 4 in the morning as I have to catch the flight. No one woke me up and I almost missed my flight. No review about food as I never got a chance to eat there. Is ok for solo traveller but i recommend its costly as compared to the standards.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel VIP Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel VIP Continental

Address: 40, Free School Street (Park Street), Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 196 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel VIP Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Hotel VIP Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel VIP Continental India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel VIP Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.