We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE NEW BUILDING - great value, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Astoria Hotel
6/2 Sudder Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
washington, dc
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“THE NEW BUILDING - great value, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

this old backpacker favorite has a new building adjacent, and it has spotless, simple rooms, and otherwise the same kindly and helpful management. the price is now a bit above backpacker but very affordable and way below the other new properties on sutter street. it is easy to make a reservation here as no deposit is required, just reconfirm often. and of course the big plus is the sutter strret location with all of the tourist services and proximity to the metro and swank park street.

Room Tip: as for the side away from the mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    20
    7
    16
See reviews for
9
10
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed in the newly renovated section of the hotel which was nice. The room was a bit small but was adequate for 1 person and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was large clean was was the room itself. For some reason they continue to use an old entrance when they have a newly renovated lobby, so when you first enter the hotel you are very suspicious of the quality. The staff was friendly. The location on Sudder street was excellent and close to the metro and shopping areas all around. Skip the breakfast though. Down the street is Blue Sky Cafe which serves good basic food and cheap, and there is also the restaurant at the Fairmount which is also good but a bit more expensive. All in all my stay was good and is a good budget hotel and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have been in this hotel many times. My last visit was in May 2012 with my family. Now it has a combination of new building called new wing and old building called old wing pricing around inr 2800 and inr 1800 for old wing.

The front desk staff are very good to me always.

Have a nice stay in astoria.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

the first night i was brought to a smelly room with non functioning ac. i was too tired to complain and stayed in the room, crushing bugs. i thought the smell, was one of those smells, you would jsut get used to. i didnt. the walls were stained. stray long hairs were found in the bathroom.

the next day i switched rooms. they were cool about it. this room only had a slight smell. you got used to it after ten minutes. no hot water for two showers.

on the plus side....good internet!

general advice, dont stay. they dont want your business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is very old hotel but recently renewed the property. Now this is a good place to stay in kolkata with all the required facilities. They have single seated rooms too to stay as single. The location is near to park street and metro station.

Room Tip: Depend on budget and they can offer 20% discount so ask for discount before check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

We arrive in Calcutta late one night and took a taxi to New Market. After a long search we got tired and settled in at this place despite all the odds.

Its a very old house with high ceiling with creepy holes that may intrude upon guest privacy. Bathrooms were the dirtiest you can imagine with big holes through which one can see the nextdoor toilet floor.

By the look and staff behavior it seemed the place is used for non tourist activities as well.

Had a creepy feeling in the room as if being watched so please do check the rooms beforehand and take precautions likewise if you have nowhere else to go.

If not for budget issues and late arrival would not have stayed here. So i would recommend that you spend a little more time in the area nearby which have many more options available.

Its a big no no for couples and specially single women traveller from my perspective.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

At twice the price, you can stay in the new part of the Astoria Hotel. We stayed in the old part. The room was big and it had good air conditioning that stayed on all night, but I don't think they clean. The bathroom had someone else's hair on it, the pillow cases had hair oil and hair on it, and the sheets were stained. The two chairs in the room were filthy. We asked them for more sheets, pillowcases, etc., and I covered up the chairs. Then I asked them if I could borrow a mop, squeegie and some soap to clean the bathroom floor. They were up in no time to do it for us. That night, I left the light on in the bathroom. Mistake! When the street light went out, all the bugs went into our bathroom and died on the floor. Not a good drain on the bathroom floor either. The restaurant food wasn't all that. One night I ordered veggie korma, was the only one in the small place, and 2 hours (when they were closing) I got the bill for my lassi. "What happened to the korma?" "We don't have that." "Why didn't you tell me?" "I forgot." He apologized. Location is ok though. Right by the Indian Museum. We walked to the Victoria Monument and gardens and through the huge city park where folks were playing cricket and flying kites.

Room Tip: They said we had the best one in the old section; room 22. We joked that it was the next black hole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: 6/2 Sudder Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.