We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to stay in kolkata near park street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Astoria Hotel
6/2 Sudder Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Place to stay in kolkata near park street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is very old hotel but recently renewed the property. Now this is a good place to stay in kolkata with all the required facilities. They have single seated rooms too to stay as single. The location is near to park street and metro station.

Room Tip: Depend on budget and they can offer 20% discount so ask for discount before check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    20
    7
    15
See reviews for
9
10
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

We arrive in Calcutta late one night and took a taxi to New Market. After a long search we got tired and settled in at this place despite all the odds.

Its a very old house with high ceiling with creepy holes that may intrude upon guest privacy. Bathrooms were the dirtiest you can imagine with big holes through which one can see the nextdoor toilet floor.

By the look and staff behavior it seemed the place is used for non tourist activities as well.

Had a creepy feeling in the room as if being watched so please do check the rooms beforehand and take precautions likewise if you have nowhere else to go.

If not for budget issues and late arrival would not have stayed here. So i would recommend that you spend a little more time in the area nearby which have many more options available.

Its a big no no for couples and specially single women traveller from my perspective.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

At twice the price, you can stay in the new part of the Astoria Hotel. We stayed in the old part. The room was big and it had good air conditioning that stayed on all night, but I don't think they clean. The bathroom had someone else's hair on it, the pillow cases had hair oil and hair on it, and the sheets were stained. The two chairs in the room were filthy. We asked them for more sheets, pillowcases, etc., and I covered up the chairs. Then I asked them if I could borrow a mop, squeegie and some soap to clean the bathroom floor. They were up in no time to do it for us. That night, I left the light on in the bathroom. Mistake! When the street light went out, all the bugs went into our bathroom and died on the floor. Not a good drain on the bathroom floor either. The restaurant food wasn't all that. One night I ordered veggie korma, was the only one in the small place, and 2 hours (when they were closing) I got the bill for my lassi. "What happened to the korma?" "We don't have that." "Why didn't you tell me?" "I forgot." He apologized. Location is ok though. Right by the Indian Museum. We walked to the Victoria Monument and gardens and through the huge city park where folks were playing cricket and flying kites.

Room Tip: They said we had the best one in the old section; room 22. We joked that it was the next black hole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I can strongly recommend this newly refurbished hotel in Sudder Street to everyone who wants to have a few comfortable last days/nights in India prior to their departure or also to have a smooth start to travelling in India when arriving. I had a newly refurbished single room for Rs 2000, with hot shower, flat screen TV, A/C, fan. They also offer room service and a proper breakfast buffet, the later is included in the price. The room (No. 306) was very clean and quiet, with a view onto a lovely roof garden and old tree, which is something special in an otherwise very loud Kolkata. The staff is friendly and very helpful. There is an accessible roof on fifth floor, unfortunately without chairs or flowers, but that might change as the refurbishment has just been completed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United stated
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Just back from Astoria Hotel and had an excellent 3 weeks. This hotel knocks spots of the big ones. The staff are great and can't do enough for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed 3 nights Astoria Hotel. The hotel is pretty, very clean and well maintained. The food was excellent, drinks cheap! Great service, all staff were very helpful and prompt

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhaka
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed here for 2 night and the experience was just ok. The receptionists were robotic and I felt they had little idea about their rooms. Anyways, pulled through to a spacious room with attached another room-size bathroom. Old fashioned and they really need to clean/change their carpets. A below standard size TV was in the room with an just doable refrigerator. The air conditioner was not cooling enough. The good parts of the hotel is it is spacious compare to other tiny hotels in the surrounding area also a quiet one. If you can compromise with the old fashined, bit unclean rooms it may be worth spending the night here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: 6/2 Sudder Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.