We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, shabby and relying on a bygone age.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tollygunge Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tollygunge Club
Save
You added Tollygunge Club to your Saves list
120 Deshapran Sasmal Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700 033, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 199 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tired, shabby and relying on a bygone age.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I quite liked the feel of the Tollygunge Club on arrival, I didn't mind that it was all a bit tired looking and a bit shabby, that was kind of cool. What I did mind was the awful service, the rude staff and the ridiculous rules.

About 4 people helped me up with my bags, without actually helping with the bags and then stood in my room waiting to be tipped. When we bought two beers to take away the staff ran after us expecting a tip. The western food in the restaurant was dreadful, choose Chinese or go to the Indian restaurant where the food was superb and cheap, just don't look to closely at the tablecloths.

The room was spacious if a little charmless. The free wifi was fast.

Breakfast was poor, again the staff rude and not much choice, again the Indian food was the best option.

Lots of rules about what you can and cant wear in the restaurant or to the pool or the gym - we'd been staying in some extremely expensive hotels which didn't have rules like these. THe worst was about wearing swimming caps in the pool and then not providing them, the pool was full of bird poo!!!

I think this club probably used to be very good, I dont know how long it can rely on using its past to pretend its as good as it used to be. If the hotel were to spend some money on it and review the staff and rules and this place could be a gem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    38
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
18
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
132 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Tolly Club (as this is popularly known) - club that has its origin in the British era still proudly lives its colonial past - big rooms, club with all that you can ask for, nice view of the golf course - will surely take you back by 80 years.
Definitely not the place if you are a gizmo fream and expect all the modern gadgets to be a part of your room.
I would recommend this place for a lavish stay in a colonial property, where you live more like a "Sahib", and go back another 70-80 years to experience Kolkata's colonial past

Room Tip: try to get the cottage - more comfortable than the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I have just completed my third stay at the Tollygunge Club in Kolkatta ...... and I am not impressed.

I stayed in one of the cottages and this was fine - the room is old but pleasant with great views over the golf course, sheets were clean, room maintained Ok and there was lots of hot water ...... but it was the staff that upset me.

The room boy waited for 10 minutes in my looking for a tip after dropping my bags to the room .... I always tip .... not a large amount but when service is given I believe you should tip ..... but I detest it when the body language and behavior of the room boy demands such..... then definitely no tip..... All of the staff behaved in this manner.

The major disaster was dining at Belvedere Restaurant ..... Caesar Salad was order and I got a garden salad, when asked for correct food was told even though it was in the menu that kitchen did not know how to make it ..... next the French Onion Soup - the cheese on the crouton you could use a retread for your car tires ..... and onions must have been expensive this week as there were nearly none in the light brown creation of the kitchen. Then onto the roast pork main course ..... this was sliced pork roll of some sort covered with lumpy gravy and a few steamed vegetables - no resemblance to roast pork - tasteless. To top this off with five waiters and nearly empty dining room the service was very bad. The fresh bread rolls were nice though.

Breakfast the next morning was no better...... I got to the dining room at 9.30am .... nearly all of the tables were not cleared from the previous guests, the buffet was less than basic ..... and it took 3 requests and 20 minutes to get 2 fried eggs accompanied by cold potatoes that were supposed to be hash browns and grilled tomatoes covered in a sweetened sause - all which were stone cold. Bacon was also swimming in oil ..... Breakfast my favorite meal was ruined.....

This Club has the best setting in Kolkatta .... and could be great is someone looked at the food quality and the service.

My previous visit I dinned in the Indian Restaurant and the service lacked but the food was excellent.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building rooms as they have been refurbished recently. Much nicer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
Level Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The Tollygunge is one of the classic locations in India, and this was my third visit over many years. The old lady is showing her years, and is in dire need of some refurbishment - to facilities and staffing. Food in the main restaurant was excellent, but that in the outdoor buffet was only so-so. Service varied from friendly to hopeless. Our room was in the old-fashioned bungalows, and whilst spacious, they really need to be brought up to date. The location is still unrivalled in Kolkata, but unless you play golf or bridge, this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The location and greenery anound gives it different charm!. For those who have not been to Kolkota- well this is supposed to be top most club in Kolkota and boasts off a lovely golf course. The course fee is quite reasonable. As this a exclusive club: one can book stay with the help of an existing member and in some cases, outsiders are also allowed to stay.
The club is more than 100 year old and and you can see quite " Raj " kind of regal ambiance.
Sadly, the service is apalling... the waiters will do what is bare minimum required. Orders take more than 45 minutes to come. Good part: The prices at which food and liquer is serrved is shockingly low!
Room size: Though I did not stay, but did look at the rooms and rooms are quite large with high ceilings (Cottage type). Rooms are reasonaby well mainainted ( this is an old structure).
I think this can become a great place if rooms are improved a bit more ( make more modern.. ) and the club needs to improve SERVICE for Sure.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Dont be put off by the reception area (fluorescent strips, and carbon paper!!!) - the rooms we had had been modernised and were very clean, and stylish, with good bathrooms. We had been travelling effectively for 24 hours and after the chaos of Kolkata airport and traffic at rush hour, the Tollygunge is just what you need. Effectively you are staying in a private club for wealthy Kolkattans who come here to play golf, ride, exercise and hold social events such as weddings and corporate parties, or just chill out in the bar areas - and this gives you a glimpse of Indian life you wouldn't otherwise get, so relax and enjoy. The outdoor pool was great, the staff were friendly, the evening meals were delicious and very cheap and there's an upmarket mini-supermarket on site where you can satisfy your Western chocolate cravings if you need to!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

the Tollygunge Club is quite lovely and charming, in a slightly tatty, days-of-the-Raj sort of way, but out-of-town visitors, especially first-timers, should be aware that the place is effectively closed on Mondays. they will happily rent you a room, but do not expect to be able to use any of the amenities which they advertise, and which constitute the Club's main draw. pool, fitness center, bar -- virtually everything that would prompt anyone to stay there -- are locked up tight for the day.

You might think the Club would make a point of informing guests, especially first-time visitors, of this fact ahead of time, but you'd be wrong. The guy I dealt with, multiple times, prior to arrival, knew I only had the one day there, but never bothered to mention it. Imagine my surprise.

My only explanation is that the place is a private club doing a little perfunctory side business as a hotel. in this latter capacity, management is willing to tolerate, and make a little extra money from, non-members like myself, but beyond that, largely indifferent to our experience there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
4.8 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 199 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 stars 1,283 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tatvam Residency
Tatvam Residency
#4 of 199 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
2.7 mi away
Park Palace Hotel
Park Palace Hotel
#51 of 199 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Leela Resorts
Leela Resorts
#29 of 199 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#3 of 199 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 stars 995 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel 233 Park Street
Hotel 233 Park Street
#8 of 199 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tollygunge Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tollygunge Club

Address: 120 Deshapran Sasmal Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700 033, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 199 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Tollygunge Club Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Tollygunge Club India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tollygunge Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.