We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A private Indian club you can have access to!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tollygunge Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tollygunge Club
Save
You added Tollygunge Club to your Saves list
120 Deshapran Sasmal Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700 033, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 195 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A private Indian club you can have access to!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Dont be put off by the reception area (fluorescent strips, and carbon paper!!!) - the rooms we had had been modernised and were very clean, and stylish, with good bathrooms. We had been travelling effectively for 24 hours and after the chaos of Kolkata airport and traffic at rush hour, the Tollygunge is just what you need. Effectively you are staying in a private club for wealthy Kolkattans who come here to play golf, ride, exercise and hold social events such as weddings and corporate parties, or just chill out in the bar areas - and this gives you a glimpse of Indian life you wouldn't otherwise get, so relax and enjoy. The outdoor pool was great, the staff were friendly, the evening meals were delicious and very cheap and there's an upmarket mini-supermarket on site where you can satisfy your Western chocolate cravings if you need to!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    36
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
18
13
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

the Tollygunge Club is quite lovely and charming, in a slightly tatty, days-of-the-Raj sort of way, but out-of-town visitors, especially first-timers, should be aware that the place is effectively closed on Mondays. they will happily rent you a room, but do not expect to be able to use any of the amenities which they advertise, and which constitute the Club's main draw. pool, fitness center, bar -- virtually everything that would prompt anyone to stay there -- are locked up tight for the day.

You might think the Club would make a point of informing guests, especially first-time visitors, of this fact ahead of time, but you'd be wrong. The guy I dealt with, multiple times, prior to arrival, knew I only had the one day there, but never bothered to mention it. Imagine my surprise.

My only explanation is that the place is a private club doing a little perfunctory side business as a hotel. in this latter capacity, management is willing to tolerate, and make a little extra money from, non-members like myself, but beyond that, largely indifferent to our experience there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

You need to know a member of the club to book one of the rooms. We stayed here as a family of 5 as a base to visit family etc. We were a bit wary after reading some of the other trip advisor reviews - some were complimentary, others not so! (this review is a positive one)

Our room was large and air conditioned (cottage style ground floor room - though i understand hotel style rooms are available too in a separate block and on other floors) We had a large double bed and 2 single beds in the same room. Double was very big and fit 2 adults and our 4 yr old. Showers and toilets were good. There was also a lounge area at the front separated from the bedroom so we could read/have a beer when the kids were asleep. There was a TV in the main room. Complementary daily newspaper (Times of India or Telegraph)

There are at least 2 restaurants on site and 3 bars. Breakfast was included for 4 of us in one of the restaurants. This was optional cereal (choice of 2) and freshly cooked omlette daily, with other courses varying from spicy sausages one day to Indian breakfast the next. We occasionally had to raid other tables for cutlery. We paid about £50 a night for the room (for all of us)

The complex boasts an indoor heated pool with diving boards and also a large secluded outdoor pool/ toddler area. Changing rooms clean and well equipped with showers, towels etc. Air conditioned gym looked good (from the outside - i didnt go in!). There is a great golf course and driving range with coaching if needed (collared top needed). Prices for a round are comparable to municipal prices in the UK. Excellent squash courts (5) and tennis courts (3 hard court and 3 clay i think). Horse riding facilities too though we didnt have time to book this for the kids.

Onsite golf shop (well known golf makes at UK prices) and separate convenience store for food etc (cheap)

We went to 2 of the 3 bars (One didnt allow kids inside but had a cool covered seating area outside with good childrens play area). The other was next to this and again was a fantastic large covered area overlooking the golf course - alcohol prices cheap! (the bars also allow take outs to your room) The club's members mingle freely with guests and we got to mix with a lot of Kolkata's young professionals and old guard. There was a wedding on 1 night and a fashion show on our last night with party after. The music went off promptly at 11 pm and they didnt seem to mind us joining them for the disco!

The numerous staff were friendly and eager to please. Reception staff were helpful (organised taxis and connected local phone calls when direct dial wasnt working for us) We were given free bottled water daily when the room was cleaned (and perhaps overcautiosly treated this with a portable UV steriliser) Laundry facilities were cheap and efficient. We tipped the 2 cleaners and the laundry man on the last night (the hotel info suggests this isnt required) but at £2 per person the tip didnt cause too much hardship.

Although other guests and members drank the tea/ coffee at breakfast we were a bit wary and drank bottled water only and brushed our teeth with this water. We remained well through the holiday.

One final point to make is that there are about 12 or so 'club' dogs on site (the owner is a dog lover!) They are well looked after and have been vaccinated and deflead. They tend to lie around asleep during the day and dont cause any trouble (2 of my kids are frightened of dogs and they werent remotely bothered by these ones) The staff tell me that they are used to deter the jackals which are active around the outskirts of the golfcourse late at night.

All in all a great experience (take mosquito repellant for the evenings spent at the outside bar areas) Air conditioned bedrooms are mosquito free if doors/ windows are kept shut.

We would definitely go back here again

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I agree wholeheartedly with Chantman (21 sept 2011). The service is appalling. Totally uninterested in serving anyone but a tip works wonders. They have 109 acres of prime land in Kolkata and it could be a fabulous place to stay in. We have stayed at the Gymkhana Club in New Delhi and it is run by charming, service oriented and efficient people. Had to tip all the waiters who served us at the Tollygunge. There would be about 15 members of staff at Wills Restaurant hanging around not doing anything. After tipping them we had about three people falling over themselves trying to serve us. The laundryman would not leave the clothes in the room as asked to. He waited to hand them to us personally so that he would get a tip. When we went to pay our final bill by credit card at Reception they pointed to the space left for gratuities and then said they wanted it in cash. Left a very bad taste in the mouth. We have visited India over 8 times but this has been one of the worst experiences in a hotel/club. Couldn't wait to leave.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We had a comfortable, spacious "cottage" room, with sitting area, bedroom & ensuite overlooking 18th green! Clean though quite basic/dated fittings but cheap! Ideal to relax away from the hectic city streets. Friendly staff & choice of restaurants. Lovely to swim - 2 pools to choose from. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This premise is truly unique in the heart of the old city of Kolkata. It is very conveniently located and in spite of being in a prime location in the crowded city, it retains sprawling compounds comprising of the main hotel, several outbuildings that are rented out for various events and a golf course. It retains a wonderful charm of days gone bye and is a reminder of the glorious past of this part of the country. In a city where most buildings of the past have been compromised in order to give way to apartment blocks, motorways, ugly flyovers, shopping malls and office buildings, this is probably one of the few green sanctuaries that has escaped the mad rush of modernisation.
We were there as part of a wedding reception in a pleasantly cool January evening. The reception was held in the gardens of the club and it gave us a good chance to explore the flower gardens and sprawling lawns before the buffet dinner service. The food was very traditional, unlike most other restaurants experimenting with modern cuisine in Kolkata today. The main rice dish and accompanying meat and fish dishes were cooked in traditional Bengali style. The tandoori kebabs cooked outdoors in a charcoal fire was particularly impressive. The mandatory sweets to conclude any Bengali meal were also very delicately prepared with a lot of attention to traditional cooking techniques. Although Kolkata is full of sweet shops, it is not easy to get such good quality traditional sweets.
The atmosphere inside the Club is very laid back and relaxed. It will probably not appeal to the fast paced executives of modern India, but will definitely appeal to those seeking a refuge from the mad city life. It is definitely a tranquil haven for a visitor to the city - a place to unwind in peace.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Traveled with a wedding party so not too sure how our booking was arranged. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Club. They have all for the sporty and adventurous and plenty of things to do when relaxing at the hotel. Food there was abundant with 4 restaurants to choose from and the breakfasts were a treat. Didn't order room service.

Rooms were fantastic with 24 hours hot water (often a bonus in India) and no power outages. they were extremely keen and our own little private balcony proved to be a winner. Staff were extremely friendly and there was nothing that was too much to ask for. Overall a fantastic stay and a wonderful experience. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tollygunge Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tollygunge Club

Address: 120 Deshapran Sasmal Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700 033, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 195 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Tollygunge Club Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Tollygunge Club India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tollygunge Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.