We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Guest House in Kolkata

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guest House in Kolkata
Save
You added Guest House in Kolkata to your Saves list
Saltlake Sector V | Near Technopolis kolkata 105, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700029, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unpleasant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

I would never stay here again. Despite it being a good mid-range price for Kolkata, the saving was not worth it. Noone had any idea where this place was, and it was not close to anything. The owner organised a driver for us - I specifically asked that the driver speak English because we only had one day in Kolkata and we didn't want any problems - we agreed to pay, what we considered to be, an exorbitant price for the driver - when he arrived, he couldn't speak one word of English. I asked the owner why we weren't getting one that spoke English and he said he could speak a little bit and that if we had any problems, just call him. We agreed, only because we had already wasted so much time. of course, we had lots of problems during the day. Our driver did not know where lots of things were that we wanted to go to, we couldn't ask him questions or tell him what we wanted to do, and he even lost us for about an hour. The driver was lovely so I don't blame him, but we felt very duped by the owner of Guest House.
When we got back to the hotel, "very coincidentally", the air conditioning had been turned off. So we were sweltering. We rang his wife to find out whether they could turn it on, and she said it was broken and that her husband would fix it when he got back. "Strangely", the air con was magically fixed as soon as he got back. Even though he knew how much trouble we had during the day, the owner came into our room and told us that we had to pay a fair bit extra for the driver for the parking - this was never mentioned before. He said we would only have to pay a fixed amount. We had a huge argument with him and he was screaming at us and telling us that he would not let us check out if we didn't pay the money.
After all that, we just wanted to get out of there and so we paid the money - after that, he was all nice and smiley.
It's such a shame that these events transpired, as the actual lodgings are quite nice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Adventuregirl986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

Would definitely not recommend staying at this hotel. The manager/owner ended up screaming at us and threatenend not to let us check out with out passports because we did not want to pay for the parking that his driver had apparently incurred without proof of parking receipts - given we were sure it was not the price he claimed and we also were never told we had to pay for parking. Highly unprofessional and something that sadly would only happen in india. The location was not great and the name of the guest house obviously caused problems. When we arrived the manager organised a driver. We specifically asked for a driver that could speak english and we ended up with a lovely man that unfortunately could not speak any english and also seemed not to be from Kolkata as didn't even know where the Victoria Monument was (main tourist attraction!). Definitely would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlobalAdventureGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Vadodara
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Very neat and clean

  • Liked — Very Neat and Clean
  • Disliked — Little bit small room
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vinitsinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucknow
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

This place is good and located in a good area. Food quality is good and staffs are decent. Resturent is nice and its worth to stay here.

  • Liked — food quality
  • Disliked — easy to locate
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sumit1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Kolkata, the city of joy. From hotel we have good transportation and connectivity of tram, bus and metro.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank avgode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

My partner and I stayed there for 3 nights. Location is quite central in Kolkata but not so noisy at night. Kolkata metro is at walking distance and Rashbehari shopping avenue is just next street. The owner Mr Dhatta is very friendly and helpful. There is a common lounge for the guests which can be used as leisure area for relaxing and, as in my case, playing instruments.

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — too little light in the room and lounge
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sitarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

wonderful place to stay if you're looking for homely atmosphere and excellent service. well located near all the best malls make it even more convenient.

I would recommend you to try it out if you're looking for an affordable place!

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — nothing! :)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Apoorv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#25 of 201 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#9 of 201 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tatvam Residency
Tatvam Residency
#4 of 201 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#12 of 201 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#21 of 201 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sunflower Guest House
Sunflower Guest House
#36 of 264 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House in Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House in Kolkata

Address: Saltlake Sector V | Near Technopolis kolkata 105, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700029, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is not a 5 star hotel, but it is a very safe, ideal for families place or business trip, which is near to all transportation and shopping and office areas, yet without any noise. Rowdy and rude people, or people with expectations of 5 star at the cost of a guest house are not welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Guest House In Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Guest House In Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing