We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad hotel to stay with family” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal Garden to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Garden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   163 A Park Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700017, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 195 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Hyderabad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“bad hotel to stay with family”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is one of the worst hotels I have every stayed in my life. There is no cleanliness. They did not change the bed sheets and not cleaned the toilets from the earlier check-outs. We demanded them to clean it and the attendant agreed that the room was not cleaned before given to us. The toliet outlets are opened, since that night it rained all the creatures penetrated into the toilet. My daughter scared to use the toilet afterwards. They did not even provide the bill after I checkout and asked me to contact clear trip for the bill. I would recommend clear trip to drop this from their site so that others should not land in similar kind of situation

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    7
    12
    10
See reviews for
1
5
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Girona, Spain
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I am sorry, if I sound like a mean, heartless person here. But this place is terrible. I do not know what is Royal about this place or why that is used in the name. You will find roaches everywhere and not tiny ones, but gigantic roaches, the water in the bathroom was dirty, there is too much noise and difficult to sleep, They are always cooking something next door even during the night and the smell of food and the burning coal makes it difficult to sleep. They charge you for wifi in the lobby, but there is nothing called a lobby, you sit on a dirty couch with others and have to work. It is really strange. You can just go across the street for internet for much cheaper and use it there than here where you pay per hour. Its Lame. Do not recommend to anyone traveling to Calcutta to stay here. You can find much better for the money !

Room Tip: Do Not Stay Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Well I was in the city for a day, and needed to an accommodation just from morning 9am to evening 6pm or so.
Honestly, this is a place you're looking for only if you need a place to freshen up and some place to keep your luggage if you're going to spend the whole day outside.
So spending Rs.10k a day into The Grand or some exclusive place won't make any sense if you're really not going to spend any time in the room.

The hotel is at a great location and like at a walking distance from the downtown area Park Street, but the surrounding 100m radius of the hotel is not really good.
I had called them before checking in, and I was provided with a good and a clean room.
The room was big enough for one person, the window AC and geyser (most importantly) worked fine, and the bathrooms were clean.
The service was courteous and staff was polite. I won't comment on the food, because I didn't really order any. The place is somewhat noisy because it's on a main road.

I had friends who came to visit and there were no hassles with them visiting me, and coming directly to my room. Prices are quite reasonable seeing the location of the hotel.

So overall, I'm not sure if I'd prefer the place to stay overnight, but for a day, the place to me seemed just fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Its a very good hotel. Had a good time here.... You will get all the amenities and offers promised. staff is good and friendly. close to the park street metro station .... 2 stops away from Howrah. 2 station from the Victoria palace.... the tramps will leave you to the closes markets .. called new market and old market where you can do shopping and eat Bengali food.

Overall good experience...

and Thanks to Adil at the reception. and his team who are making this place a good stay for tourist n visitors.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I went to kolkata i for my official perpose.Looking to the location i prefered to choose this hotel.After cheacked in morning and after severel followup with reception,roomservice and house keeping and finaly i got a handwash soap in next morning with the help of a lady maid.Above all room was sticky and toilet /bathroom was so dirty it is out imazine.Even i found one front desk man was sleeping in the reception up to 10 am.However,i made complaint to another person in reception but he looks like helpless or may less interested to listen anything.
It was cacophony of complaint.As i was alone and busy for my official work therefore i was bound to stay there for 2days.After cheacked out i realize that i saved my soul and trying to forget the nightmare.Location of hotel is great but due to mismanaged experience of staying is terrible/horrible.I never never recomanded this hotel to my bigest foe also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The outside look of the hotel fooled me to take a room at this hotel. But the rooms are small, no towels, only a window a/c that won't work, the flooring is not even, the bathrooms are only 70% neat, the water from the taps is not fresh. Overall not my choice again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Had checked in hurry in the Hotel, and later in the day found the surrounding right from Gate of Hotel as horrible, state of shock,

and was wandering how i had landed at this place.

some time u have good day and bad days, so wanna forgot my memories of those days.

staff was courtious good, room was sort of OK

surroundings were very bad....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r0yalgarden, Owner at Hotel Royal Garden, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
dear guest.
would like to inform you that our hotel is located in park street (heart of the city). Close to all major commercial and leisure hubs . Regently neroscience has been instituted in this location.

kindly verify with other people of kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Royal Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Garden

Address: 163 A Park Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700017, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 195 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is centrally located in the heart of the heart ,in proximity to all major commercial hubs and an recently opened QUEST MALL . The spectacular service is well complimented by spacious well built rooms for better space management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Royal Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Hotel Kolkata
Hotel Royal Garden India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.