We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Niharika

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Niharika to your Saves list
Hotel Niharika
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5, A. J. C. Bose Road | Near : Minto Park, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 195 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, the staff are courteous, helpful, but if u expect to be in a 4 star comfort , then it is not so, it is best a 3 star hotel, bathrooms don't have a soap holder next to the wash basin. Restaurant is just about ok, i think they use a lot of garam masala and soda, so if one has a sensitive stomach it is worth being cautious.
I booked through Hotels.com , when I checked out a lady at the reception gave me a bill for two days and it was lesser than what I booked through the website. later had to tell her that my room was pre paid. One thing I found interesting was, when I checked in I was told my room was being upgraded, but all the rooms I saw was intact the same size. I noticed the same line being used to another guest checking in. So I find it hard to believe they actually upgraded my room?

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
7
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed there for 2 days on my business trip and this hotel was recommended by my colleague and i must say i really had very good experience . Very neat and clean rooms and good food . Also the location is good and easy accessible to various other places

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Perfect location! From there you have access to Park Street, several shopping malls or big shops (dresses, jeweellery, Oxford bookstore), art galleries, Victoria Memorial Hall, Saint Paul’s cathedral… There are several sizes of rooms, we took the medium one which was quite big (2 beds, sofas with a small table…) and comfortable. Decorations and furniture style are quite old. Do not expect to have a view or see daylight but nice enough for a couple of days. The staff is relatively nice but expects big tips whenever they help you a little, they will make funny faces if they find your tip too low. For tourists going to the airport they have a luggage storage room and scales to check the weight of your luggage. The morning breakfast (included in the room price) is correct, nothing fancy but it is good. They propose free WiFi (one access per person, which is much better than one access per room as some other hotels propose). Go there for the location!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We stayed at hotel niharika in kolkata .its a good hotel .though it looks average from outside , it excellent from within.Rooms are small but v well decorated.Bathrooms are good with good shower and toileteries.
The most striking is the cleanliness.very neat and clean .Even staff is well mannered and cooperative.
Restaurant is also good.
Food was good and even their service was nice.
Surely recommended for family and business . location good and near to markets and attractions.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

I stayed here for 1 night during my visit to Kolkata for official work. That being my first visit to the city, I was happy with the hotel. The rooms are average size. Very clean and good service.
Morning breakfast spread was huge and tasted well too.

Overall good budget hotel at a very convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

It is well location near minto park. Hotel is costly and please please be ensure to keep address proof and id proof with you other wise you will be in great trouble. hotel may refuse to provide the accommodation even if you booked it before arrival of hotel.
Foods are excellent and buffet breakfast is compulsory from next day.
Housekeeping is ok but taking time to serve the food at room.
WIFI is free of cost and password protected.
Snacks and chocolate are chargeable and available at room itself.
Cold drinks and water are available in mini fridge and are chargeable.
Overall is is good but costly .

Room Tip: you can take any room but check it before check in. you will not find any view from any side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

It's a very well located hotel, not sure if it's well priced. Luckily we were given one of their bigger rooms.Good helpful staff, decent rooms,clean & well equipped. Would recommend if you need to stay a night & looking for a no frills accommodation.
However stay form the restaurant. They served to us was stale & not as per our order, which they tried to change by just topping up with different gravies. The breakfast next morning was also average.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Niharika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niharika

Address: 5, A. J. C. Bose Road | Near : Minto Park, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 195 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Niharika 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the business hub of Central Kolkata, Hotel Niharika, a business class hotel offers a bouquet of personalized services and ethnic hospitality which the business clientele and leisure travellers yearn for.Hotel Niharika guarantees a pleasant stay for its guests in its 39 spacious and cosy rooms, superbly designed multi cuisine restaurant and coffee shop and dedicated and affable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Niharika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Niharika India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Niharika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.