We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge to your Saves list
Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Garcha, 1st lane, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700019, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
faridabad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Business Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I haven't been to Kolkata a lot but past few experiences have not been good. Surprisingly I found this hotel on the net. Its a new property and very clean. The staff is very helpful. The food is also good, though not authentic. The terrace bar is a must visit.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge!!!

We sincerely appreciate your time and thank you very much for the wonderful feedback.

It is indeed a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. it is our constant endeavour to create a wonderful experience of warm hospitality and impeccable service for all our valued guests.

I look forward to meeting up with you on your next visit to our hotel and we thank you for choosing us for your accommodation needs while your travel brings you to this great city.


Warm Regards
Neetu Ahluwalia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    105
    42
    11
    12
See reviews for
37
20
7
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I just returned from Kolkata, my experience at the Park Plaza was excellent. Room was fully modern with every convenience, automatic black out shades, air conditioning fully programmable and excellent, WIFI worked perfectly, the room was totally new, great shower, it couldnt have been better. Service at the K9 restaurant was excellent and I was with Indian natives who commented on how good the food was and also how reasonably priced it was, we went out to dinner 2 nights, both times 2000 rupees for 4 people, and the dinner the night before was not as good as the Park Plaza for the same price.

I can't say enough about the kindness of the staff. I had health problems and a staff member
came with me to the closest hospital, pharmacy at midnight at night. Staff couldn't have been any kinder to me. I felt like I had a "home" with people who cared at the Park Plaza.

Additionally My international flight arrived very early and there was a room waiting for me, when
I was so exhausted. I had arranged an airport pick up and this went perfectly.

The location is excellent off the main street on a quiet street but so very close to shopping etc,
a taxi to the very center was only 3 dollars.

This really is an excellent hotel, I travel constantly for work and I have only good things to say about the hotel. The staff couldn't have been kinder, the food was excellent, the location so very convenient, what a blissful night I spent on the roof bar with my feet in the pool watching the Diwali fireworks.
I can't say enough good things.

Room Tip: ask if you want a family room, this is more a business hotel and rooms are for business people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge!!!

We sincerely appreciate your time and thank you very much for the wonderful feedback.

It is indeed a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. it is our constant endeavour to create a wonderful experience of warm hospitality and impeccable service for all our valued guests.

I look forward to meeting up with you on your next visit to our hotel and we thank you for choosing us for your accommodation needs while your travel brings you to this great city.

Warm Regards,

Neetu Ahluwalia
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

1. The location of the hotel is some weird street in between residential properties.
2. Food is very costly.
3. Size of rooms is smaller compared to other Park Plaza hotels.
4. In the room I got there was one big window, and when I opened the curtains, there was a wall in front of it, barely four feet away. Room seemed claustrophobic due to this.

Room Tip: I got a room which had a very large window with glass pane, but when I opened the cutrtain, in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and will look forward to improve in all the sections as per your suggestions.

We will make sure that we render the best of services and can contact me directly for your future booking in Park Plaza Kolkat ballygunge.

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Kolkata and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again.


Warm Regards

Neetu Ahluwalia
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durg, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Expected a lot from park group but experience the worst of services. Rooms are not well sized for double sharing. Service at k9 restaurant is the worst. Hotel management is rigid for any kind of adjustment for complimentary lunch/dinner for MAP plan also. Pool is available but after 8 AM in morning so we are unable to enjoy it also. Food is also not good. Over all bad experience with Park : (

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and will look forward to improve in all the sections as per your suggestions.

We will make sure that we render the best of services and can contact me directly for your future booking in Park Plaza Kolkat ballygunge.

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Kolkata and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again.


Warm Regards

Neetu Ahluwalia
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

guwahati
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was in the hotel for almost 3 nights checking out twice during the stay. The first thing i observed as soon as i checked in was the size of the room which was not comfortable for me as it looked smaller than expected for a family of three to four people. so size does matter. BUt as we hardly stayed long in the hotel it didn't bother us more, yes the location was ideal but the street were the hotel is situated was not that eye catchy. one more thing would like to mention is that the food is good but slightly over priced as it has been rightly pointed out by other reviewer. other services were good enough like the check in process, room service, a c in the room which made all of us more comfortable as my son was already suffering from high fever and cold. Breakfast was excellent but need to add some more varieties like poha, upma etc were not served on of the days. so they need to take care of it. overall i would like to say a good experience in the midst of heavy rains and Durga pooja celebration in KOlkATTA. During pooja's traffic was not an issue but on a usual working day we need to look out for the traffic.

Room Tip: I would suggest to go for a premier room depending on the budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygungel!

We sincerely appreciate your time and thank you very much for your feedback.

It is indeed a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. it is our constant endeavour to create a wonderful experience of warm hospitality and impeccable service for all our valued guests. We have also noted your concern about the food & beverage pricing to be on the higher side and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure that we reach up to your expectation next time.

I look forward to meeting up with you on your next visit to our hotel and we thank you for choosing us for your accommodation needs while your travel brings you to this great city.


Warm Regards,

Neetu Ahluwalia
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights during Durga puja. The hotel is located in the centre of the city but the location in terms of the street is a little weird. One would usually expect a 4 star hotel to be on the main road but this ones slightly inside and overlooks residential properties. The rooms are brilliant with all the facilities you can imagine and need, including, hair dryer, steam iron etc etc. The rooftop swimming pool is brilliant if you want to relax after a workout in the gym or just cool yourself. Although I feel that they could have atleat built a canopy on the rooftop so that during rains normal routine could be managed and things didnt have to go haywire. The worst part about the hotel was the ridiculously over priced food and beverage. A can of coke will set you back by around 270 Rs and a bottle of water by 200. The food is fine but not out of the world. Overall we were happy with out stay. Would have been happier had the beverages been priced a bit more sensibly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygungel!

We sincerely appreciate your time and thank you very much for your feedback.

It is indeed a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. it is our constant endeavour to create a wonderful experience of warm hospitality and impeccable service for all our valued guests. We have also noted your concern about the food & beverage pricing to be on the higher side and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure that we reach up to your expectation next time.

I look forward to meeting up with you on your next visit to our hotel and we thank you for choosing us for your accommodation needs while your travel brings you to this great city.


Warm Regards,

Neetu Ahluwalia
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Bang in the middle of a residential area is this star hotel . Any room you are in, the view from the window will be of residential buildings and people going about their daily business - so I kept the window shades firmly shut . The rooms of course were fairly okay for one person - if you are thinking of twin accommodation, it could be quite crowded.

As you walk to your room , you will feel as if you are an extra in a James Bond movie. While the grim looking porter hauls your luggage ahead of you , the lights in the corridor detect human movement and automatically turn on and off . A bit disconcerting of you are not used to it . Of course but I am sure the hotel means well in terms of saving energy

Like most star restaurants the breakfast is sumptuous and of course the choice infinite . Unfortunately the same doesn't extend to the a la carte menu which is predictably very expensive even for such simple items like dal and roti ! So you are warned . Otherwise an overall good experience

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and will look forward to improve in all the sections as per your suggestions.

We sincerely appreciate your compliments. We are committed to consistently providing warm and efficient service to our all valued guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is our greatest reward.

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Kolkata and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again.


Regards

Neetu Ahluwalia
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge

Address: 17 Garcha, 1st lane, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700019, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#13 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza boasts 92 well-appointed hotel rooms in Kolkata, comprised of 86 Deluxe Rooms, 3 Executive Rooms (interconnected with Deluxe Rooms), 1 handicap-accessible room and 3 Suites. All rooms feature crisp, modern decor and luxury amenities like complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access, automated lights, 42" LCD TVs and laptop safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.