We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with quality of service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge to your Saves list
Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Garcha, 1st lane, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700019, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Good hotel with quality of service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have stayed on my business trip during April, It was good experience and comfortable over all. Food quality and taste was highlight, it was most authentic to local food. I have noticed cost of food is bit expensive than the quality they delivered. Otherwise its nice stay to a family on vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Mr Srinivas,

Greetings of the day!!!

It was great to read the positive comments about our hotel and the services offered to you. This valuable comment made us feel proud to be a part of Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge.

Our constant endeavor is to innovate ourselves and offer something new to our guest. Our team is continuously making the effort to exceed expectations and bring the edge service.At the same time we had also noted your feedback about the food being expensive and I can assure you that our menu are best competitvely priced.


We look forward to welcome you back at our hotel when your travel brings you to The City Of Joy.

Warm Regards

Brojo Dutta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    105
    42
    11
    12
See reviews for
37
20
7
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Rooms were big, modern and beds were comfy. Smoke shack restaurant gave the feeling as if i am somewhere abroad, the ambiance is great. Breakfast was yummy with wide choices. staffs are friendly and attentive in the lobby and coffee shop. Spa-Panache which has been launched recently have added value. The view from the hotel can be a little better otherwise it is a great and lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Mr Aditya,

Greetings from Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge!!!

We sincerely appreciate your time and thank you very much for the wonderful feedback.

It is indeed a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. it is our constant endeavour to create a wonderful experience of warm hospitality and impeccable service for all our valued guests.

I look forward to meeting up with you on your next visit to our hotel and we thank you for choosing us for your accommodation needs while your travel brings you to this great city.

Warm Regards,

Brojo Dutta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Wonderful rooms and Food all the 5 star quality but very very expensive, the hotel matches perfectly for 5 star category... though staying is cheap about 4500++ but the food on the menu is damn expensive a cup of tea would cost you 180++ and if u hv a child a glass of milk 400++. please make sure you have enough money to spend on food but the food is damn delicious no doubt. Other features of the hotel A thai restaurant, a roof top Smoke house and bar are extremely wonderful and lively at night with a swimming pool with whirlpool just fantastic. Youngsters more often come here to hv a party by 8pm, when its lively on fri sat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

It pleases me to read such positive feedback from our discerning guests. We thank you for giving us an insight into your experience and for reviewing us here on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to learn that you found our services, amenities, facilities as well as the overall ambience of our property and food and beverage offerings at par with your expectations. At the same time we had also noted your feedback about the food being expensive and I can assure you that our menu are best competitvely priced.

We thank you for your valuable feedback and recommendation and look forward to the pleasure of serving you again at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge!

Warm Regards,

Brojo Dutta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

a. Located in the heart of the city at Ballygunge.
b. Excellent service and food.
c. Value for money as they ve free airport transfers and wi-fi.
d. Excellent for business travelers.
e. The new wing with premium rooms is awesome.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your excellent review on Trip advisor.

It is great to know that you had liked our property and enjoyed your stay with us.We pride ourselves on the personalized and friendly service, and the entire team here stands committed to making the guest stay experience always a memorable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge.

Warm Regards,

Brojo Dutta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed for a night while on business. Was a pleassure, quick and efficient service. Polite staff (They even extended the buffte timing for some extra time to accomodate our late arrival) and seem to be earnest about leaving an impression on their guests. Will stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Mr Prasanna,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor for your recent stay at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge.

We are delighted to read your great review about your stay. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us highlighting the Comfortable Rooms, Good food and Overall Service and Hospitality of our staff.

We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in days to come.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards

Brojo Dutta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengalur, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Good points about the hotel:
1. good location - right at Gariahar - heart of South Kolkata - close to shopping area, malls and good dining places.
2. new hotel - hence decor and arrangement - very nice
3. coffee shop - quite good - food is average to good but service and behaviour are very good.
4. rooms are well decorated - the room I stayed was slightly small but bathroom was nice with very good amenities.
5. conference rooms are well arranged and has good facilities.
6. swimming pool on roof top.
7. free internet in rooms and all over the hotel - good speed.

things that I did not like:

1. attitude of one of the Duty Managers and some of the reception staff - they either did not know what they were talking about or need training about handling guest grievances.
2. the room a.c can be excessively cold, to the point of freezing and one can not regulate and the staff did not have too much knowledge about how to fix that.
3. the noise from the night club/lounge bar on the roof top permeates to the 5th floor rooms till late night and becomes very difficult to sleep.
4. one of the service doors on the fifth floor had the hinges broken and hence made loud banging noise everytime a staff member would walk in or out. Till we screamed blue on our faces, no one even bothered to repair it, although every one knew that there was a fault.
5. sometimes the reception staff can be over enthusiastic about dress code and who should enter the hotel or not - this caused unpleasantness in the group that I was a part of. like I said, they need more training.

overall a good business hotel to stay in and don't pick up a room on the fifth floor.

Room Tip: dont take rooms on the fifth floor. and no rooms have any good view, so dont expect any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had a overall wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property and quality of accommodation and service.

We sincerely appreciate your compliments. We are committed to consistently providing warm and efficient service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is our greatest reward.

At the same time we apologize for the negatives that you shared about your experience at the hotel. I have addressed all your feedback with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the city of joy.

Warm Regards,

Brojo Dutta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MREENAHL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here twice and once ate a rasmalai for Rs 450 + taxes (accompanied by rice and fish curry for just about 800 bucks). This time one sunfeast cookie for almost Rs 60.
Come on put some rational pricing at least. just seems to be a lackadaisical attitude of the management. the guy says that minibar stuff would always be expensive but I am ok to pay 25 bucks instead of regular 5 on the store. what is it with 60 bucks?
I ordered fried eggs in the breakfast and the chef clearly didn't know how to make fried eggs. I got a plain omlette instead.
the next morning I asked for an omlette with mushroom and peppers and I had to say bell peppers to make them understand what I meant. Isn't this an American chain?
Checkout was not smooth I wanted to go just after breakfast so I asked the guy at the restaurant to rush a copy of the supporting bill immediately to the reception but he had to be told again from the reception that I was seriously in need of it.
Also disappointing was to wait in the reception while the guys in charge choose to prioritise Indigo airhostesses business to a regular club Carlson member.
You need to have patience here and also need to keep interaction with the hotel staff at the minimum. they are cordial but a bit talkative.
need to mention here that senior managers need to learn the manners to keep their internal discussions between the walls of their offices. Its almost silly to keep waiting at the reception while the person assisting you is asked operational questions by his/her boss.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPKB, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

On behalf of our entire staff at Park Plaza Kolkata we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed feedback with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

Warm Regards,

Brojo Dutta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge

Address: 17 Garcha, 1st lane, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700019, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#13 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza boasts 92 well-appointed hotel rooms in Kolkata, comprised of 86 Deluxe Rooms, 3 Executive Rooms (interconnected with Deluxe Rooms), 1 handicap-accessible room and 3 Suites. All rooms feature crisp, modern decor and luxury amenities like complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access, automated lights, 42" LCD TVs and laptop safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.