We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very attentive staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonargaon

Sonargaon
34 B Belvedere Road | Taj Bengal, Alipore, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700027, India
33-66123939
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 2,857 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
mumbai
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“very attentive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The food at Sonargaon is good. The staff were nice enough to serve us half portions. We were two women and one of us was vegetarian, and this consideration was extremely helpful

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
india
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“great food, courteous service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My favourite Indian restaurant in the 5 star category in Kolkata. I am a regular here because of the great food and excellent service. However, I prefer to visit this place for lunch since it is less crowded and the food and service seem better at this time compared to dinner. Must try- Dal Sonargaon and the rose petal ice cream

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“unique place for foodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have been visiting Sonargaon for more than a decade and the service, quality, ambiance of the restaurant has been top-notch. Make sure you try the Dal Sonargaon and the other speciality dishes from Bengal.
Food is so delicious and served by courteous people in a style unique to this place.The place is a bit too costly but the delicious food makes you visit it again and again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great food, still the best VFM among the five stars restaurants in the city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have been visiting Sonargaon for more than a decade and the service, quality, ambiance and VFM of the restaurant has been top-notch.

Make sure you try the Dal Sonargaon and the assorted dishes from Bengal (the Bhetki Paturi is great!). Also look our for any food festivals they may be having and try something off the list.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KOLKATA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice & Cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

My suggestion is to try kakori kebab which is really excellent. Otherwise you would love ambience and service. It is a place for a special day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonargaon also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 

Been to Sonargaon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonargaon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.