We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gracious Gateway.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel EM Bypass

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Gateway Hotel EM Bypass to your Saves list
The Gateway Hotel EM Bypass
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1930 Rajdanga Main Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700107, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“The Gracious Gateway.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The much needed second Tata group hospitality unit in Kolkata in the shape of The Gateway may have been inaugurated officially very recently, but our stay there was as memorable as those in other parts of the country. Conveniently located from the airport, this hotel has the look of a modern business hotel. The rooms are well appointed especially for business travellers and very geometric in design with an excellent lighting system. One of the most prominent landmarks of the city forming the wall paper in the room is symbolic indeed. The linen is fresh as new and overall the hotel is very spick and span. The tv set offerng multiple services like web surfing (though wifi is not free) makes simple tv viewing a bit bothersome.
The set top box also hung though it was immediately fixed by the maintenance staff. The management will hopefully take care ot this problem very soon I am sure. If technology makes you frown, the human resource in the hotel will ease it. The staff at every level are very warm and helpful and will always try their best to satisfy your every need. That is what makes your hotel stay as good as your second home and you actualy love to go back to the same place. The Duty Manager even saw us off at the gate at the time of departure. The rooftop swimming pool and gym offer great view and the restuarant which will open there is something to look forward to. Hopefully the hotel will operate in its full capacity very soon so that it can be the "Hotel of Joy' for the weary travellers.

Room Tip: The north facing rooms would be better and once all the rooms are operational the ones on the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manu_S_GM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel EM Bypass, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review which in itself is very gracious!

With regards to the TVs, a lot of work has already hapened and we are constantly working with our IT team to enhance the user interface based on our guests' feedback. This will enable a better viewing experience on our IPTVs.

Thank you once again for your encouragement and we look forward to seeing you back at the The Gateway Hotel Kolkata (The hotel of Joy) soon!

Regards,
Manu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    24
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
7
3
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

It’s a brand new hotel, indeed not all of the rooms are open yet, though except for a specialty restaurant, everything else is accessible. The exterior design is Spartan, rather boxy. At first glance, you could be forgiven for thinking it is office building for an IT company. Reaching it from the airport or the city centre may take a little time at rush hour, but it serves the emerging eastern part of the city well being near the centre of the district.

It is at a big crossing, so entry easy. The ground floor lobby is easy to navigate and concierge handily upfront. It opens to the all day diner and bar, deli, business centre, and lift lobby. Service seems quick and efficient.

The rooms are decent, mid sized, and stocked adequately. Check for comfy bed, sofa with cushions, round table and chairs, work desk, enough plug points, shower, amenities, bathrobe, slippers, air conditioning, tea/ coffee machine, wall art, apples . Decent net connectivity, but somehow still chargeable, while the industry practice is moving to free access for this category of hotel. I thought the bulb light colour makes the room a little dim, but that can be easily rectified. A huge wall art image of the new Kolkata bridge – Vidyasagar Setu – covers the entire wall behind the bed, very nice, only it makes the room appear a little small – have seen this done at Mercure hotels – definitely a different standard of hotels, so a little unexpected. The view from the front facing rooms is of a busy crossing, pulsating with life, though the dominant view of multiple hospitals in the skyline across may make you introspect a bit.

The breakfast buffet at Buzz offers a fair amount of choice, and the Gateway’s ‘active breakfast’ is an added novelty for guests to try. Seating is spacious, and comfortable, and tables can be joined as required, always a plus. There are lunch and dinner buffets too, though a la carte is available too. The bar is next door, no liquor license yet, though will across soon, I guess.

A nice touch is the rooftop pool and gym. The pool is long, tiled in azure blue, and overlooks the city. Relaxing with a mojito on a deck chair is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms are identical, with suites adding a living room. Take your pick, just try to be closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manu_S_GM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel EM Bypass, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comprehensive post on Tripadvisor. We have noted all the areas that need improvement and will be making changes soon.

A quick note to say that we have received our liquor license and our trendy bar - Swirl is already delighting guests with its fresh cocktails and wide range of spirits and wines. Am sorry that we missed presenting this to you.

I hope that you will be able to experience the Swirl during your next stay.

Warm regards,
Manu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

3 year before I was worried if Tata's axe will fall on Taj Bengal too after Nano. But it was pleasant surprize to see another hotel from Taj there... The Gateway Kolkata! Conveniently located both from airport as well as city! Being less than a year old, its very comfortable & clean. Little shocking not to find their airport pick-up at night inspite of confirmed booking. However I appreciate hotel's gesture to offer me a complementary drop at check-out.

Room Tip: Room-view to cross-road a good time pass!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manu_S_GM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel EM Bypass, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

The Taj group has bolstered its presence in Eastern India with the addition of the Gateway brand in Kolkata and we are looking to increase our footprint in the East.

We are happy to note that you found the hotel "comfortable and clean". However, I am truly sorry regarding your pickup and have made corrections to our process to prevent a recurrence.

I hope to see you back at the Gateway Hotel EM Bypass Kolkata.

Warm regards,
Manu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

This was my regular visit to Kolkata and this time I was given reservation by the company in Gateway. I was so happy to have a gateway hotel.

Hotel is new. Rooms, restaurant, gym, swimming pool are all as per taj standard.

Hotel employees are very co operative and helpful. Again a Taj standard.

Was a short stay, but would love to come back again

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manu_S_GM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel EM Bypass, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s a pleasure to receive your positive and encouraging feedback! Thank you!

We are also delighted to learn that you would be returning soon to The Gateway Hotel Kolkata and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,
Manu Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here during a conference at Kolkata... didnt really get to explore all amenities of the restaurant... but the place definitely deserves kudos for whatever i had a first hand experience at!

So the property is relatively new... has been taken ove by the Taj Group... so you can definitely expect the 'TAJ touch' to linger around...

Spic and span, extremely helpful and courteous staff... however late or early you are, you will definitely have someone greet you at the entrance and get your bags. Top notch food at the restaurant... buffet is worth every buck you pay and the staff is always alert for anything you may need... be it freshly made tea at 1 am in the morning - everything served with a smile...

We stayed in one of the basic rooms... but let me tell u... there was nothing basic about it... extremely comfortable and spacious for two....

Only drawback would be the distance from the major attractions... but then it all depends on the purpose of your visit and obviously, the time youve got at your disposal...

Way to go... definitely recommended to all travellers....!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manu_S_GM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel EM Bypass, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you had an excellent stay with us and are also delighted to receive your encouragement!

We hope to see you back at The Gateway Hotel Kolkata soon.

Warm regards,
Manu Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I enjoyed my stay and the personal touch of the hotel staff, especially for their care for me while I came down with a cold. Since the hotel is brand new they were getting the kinks worked out in the kitchen and of course as noted by at least one other reviewer there was no alcohol in the hotel when I was there in early November. I really cannot comment on the location as it was basically halfway between the airport and where I needed to go but overall I think this will end up being a good value hotel with good service for the typical business trip in Kolkata.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel EM Bypass, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to receive the necessary clearances to serve alcohol soon. Our contemporary bar “Swirl” is ready to welcome guests with fresh and innovative cocktails in addition to the classics, a selection of choicest wines and a wide range of spirits.

The hotel is preferred by many of our guests due to its convenient location, providing easy access to the city, airport and the new and upcoming business district of Rajarhat. We are happy that it suited your requirement too.

We are continually striving to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests and hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards,
Manu Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I thought I should warn prospective customers that this hotel has no alcohol licence. I turned up there at 10:30 p.m. on Wednesday evening looking forward to a long cool drink after travelling from Bangalore via Mumbai. First stop was the minibar - only soft drinks, but no reason to panic. I then went downstairs to look for the bar only to learn that was none. Apparently the hotel has only just opened and they don't have a liquor licence yet. Must be the only hotel in Kolkata without one !
Apart from that, the hotel is nicely decorated but the walls of my bedroom were so thin I could listen to the TV next door.
The bed and bedding were very comfortable, but there was some traffic noise - the hotel is next to a flyover. Bring ear plugs.
Hopefully things will improve.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel EM Bypass, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor!

We are sorry that we could not offer you alcohol this time. We are expecting our liquor license soon and will be able to serve drinks at “Swirl” our stylish and sleek bar. The highlight would be on fresh ingredients for a range of cocktails, a wide selection of wines and spirits, a welcoming and cozy environment and enjoyable music.

We have also noted and updated your preference for a quieter room and apologise for the inconvenience caused during your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back to The Gateway Hotel Kolkata soon.

Warm regards,
Manu Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gateway Hotel EM Bypass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel EM Bypass

Address: 1930 Rajdanga Main Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700107, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel EM Bypass 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Hotel E M Bypass Kolkata welcomes you to the heart of the modern, progressive city of Kolkata. Standing conspicuously on the arterial Eastern Metropolitan Bypass, this property is the sanctuary of choice for the urban nomad. The property is optimally located at the junction of Rashbehari Connector and within close proximity to the city’s IT hub and principal business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gateway Hotel EM Bypass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel EM Bypass India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel EM Bypass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.