We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can feel the history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Park Street Cemetery

South Park Street Cemetery
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Improve this listing
Type: Cemeteries, Cultural
Attraction details
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You can feel the history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I visited the cemetery twice during my stay November 2012. Just found the place so amazing, strange and over whelming. Can't believe the size of some of the tombs ... it was like walking on to a film set for a scene in Indiana Jones. Very sad as well to see how young some of the people were when they died. Well worth a visit to get away from the chaos that is Calcutta

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    54
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
103 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Strange place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a very old graveyard for colonial people buried in Calcutta. The tombs are massive and very impressive but the overall atmosphere is rather spooky. There are a lot of black crows flying around and it reminded us of Hitcocks The Birds film! Interesting but not worth a long journey, but its only 10 mins from Mother Teresa's house so the two can be combined.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cully, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“British cemetery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I went because I was fascinated with the stories of how British lived their live. This cemetery connects visitors with British India. The atmosphere was so calm and serene. I sat there alone. It was quite, gave me a freedom from all my existing thoughts for a while.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My Secret Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Once you step into the gate of the cemetary you will be completely blown away. Its unlike any I have ever seen. Beautifully shaded and overgrown, it is a wonderful place to look back in time, relax, or just walk around. Its surprisingly quiet even on the bustling park street. One of my favorite places in Kolkata!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“very calming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I chose to go here as I had read up on it. It wasn't on my agenda initially but I am so glad I went here. I have never seen gravestones like these, truly amazing. My guide told me a story of one person and we found her grave, it was fantastic. The guy on the gate was very helpful and gracious. a truly brilliant place to see.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Park Street Cemetery also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 

Been to South Park Street Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Park Street Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.