We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in Kolkata” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Sovrani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Sovrani to your Saves list
Hotel De Sovrani
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   DD 21 Saltlake City Sector I, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700 064, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 195 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One night in Kolkata”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

After a long days at work in Park Street & to catch up a morning flight I decided to stay somewhere close to the airport but I wasn't aware of any properties except Hyatt, I then spoke to my nephew who happened to be an employee of this property & duly advised to be heading towards the property called Sovrani, which is, I found far from the madding crowd yet close to the airport. Staff on duty I met have been found to be courteous & very accommodating in nature. Reception, In room dining & housekeeping staff all delivered to perfection & no room for any complaints. All these have prompted me to revisit the property in very near future if everything permits.

A beautiful property, well managed by the professional like the present GM, my nephew Mayukh did mention about this down to earth person, who has been instrumental for bringing & fine tuning this property, which has now transformed into a finest boutique hotel. In room amenities, food especially the Breakfast Buffet has been found to be at par any Michelin standard. I take this opportunity to thank one & all in this property for providing me excellent service & a home away home environment, which would go a long way, while singing appraisals.

Room Tip: All rooms are properly placed........so no headache !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desovrani, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Sovrani, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Sir, Greetings from De Sovrani !!

We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback. It will be our pleasure if we get another chance to service you again. Thanks and Regards. Team De Sovrani.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    33
    18
    6
    0
See reviews for
12
2
Solo
0
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Had great stay.. Walk-able from City Cenre, Saltlake. Nice variety and preparation in breakfast. Room nicely decorated and laid out, with one seater sofa and working desk (in king size room).. comfortable sleep and bath amenities. Wish they had more TV channels to offer. Did not try their complimentary Wi-Fi and Fitness center. Nice and clean roof top pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desovrani, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Sovrani, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from De Sovrani !!


We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback. It will be of immense pleasure for us to be of service to you soon again.


Thanks and Regards.
Team De Sovrani.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurgaon india
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed from 11th jan 2014 to 13 th jan 2014 booked four rooms although the rooms are small but service is very good break fast is wide spread with lots of eating options very near to city center mall in the heart of salt lake area

Room Tip: Go for front facing rooms as they are little big
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desovrani, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Sovrani, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Madam,


Greetings from 'De Sovrani'!

We appreciate your feeedback.

We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Thanks and Regards.
Team De Sovrani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

De Soverani, located about 40 minutes from the airport has decent rooms, a well-laid out English and Indian breakfast, but the Tata Docomo scratch card aided internet it provides is terribly slow.

True, one can use a USB dongle but i guess the signal strength in the area is weak too. No complains otherwise!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desovrani, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Sovrani, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Sir,


Greetings from 'De Sovrani'!

We appreciate your feeedback on our internet service and we shall definitely look into it.

We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Thanks and Regards
Team De Sovrani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vellore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The real test of any hospitality is in a crisis situation. This is what we faced recently and this hotel failed miserably at the hustings. We were booked as a transit lodging for an early morning flight out of Kolkata.A night time car ride from Durgapur was ruled out due to biting cold and it was decided that we check in early. However we reached Salt lake area in the dead of the night and locating the hotel seemed well nigh impossible. The agents who booked the hotel had however given a number for assistance. A certain Rituparna who responded was very curt and directed us to another number which wasn't accessible. The attempts by the agents to contact the same person was also met with a not so pleasant response almost bordering on abusive.

After a great deal of search the hotel was located and we checked in at nearly 2 am thereby defeating the purpose of an early check in.

The rooms were good but but the initial experience and a very short stay made the whole trip eminently forgetful.

The management will do well to get more hospitable receptionist/managers who are more welcoming.

Avoidable. As There are better options available in the vicinity with better signage and easily locatable hotels

Room Tip: Avoid like Plague!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
country
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Hotel is in the Salt Lake area, not very convenient to downtown. It is walking distance to City Centre Mall (Fab India is there & other clothing, crafts, music). It is a relatively small hotel, a small but upscale lobby, I'm guessing there were only 7 rooms per floor. A car can be arranged to downtown or sights by the hotel at the same rates as their daily tour.

The room was very clean, pretty small by U.S. although not by European standards. TV, very nice linens, sitting area. The bathroom is enclosed in glass and so visible to the room, which surprised me (maybe today's couples no longer need any privacy at all? Or maybe this is now normal?)

Unique Qualities: Has an exercise room and a pool - but I had no time to see them. No business center although one is advertised (When I requested a business center, the staff had me wait and then let me use their computer behind the front desk, which was a noisy area, couldn't really work there.)

Has a nice restaurant with buffet for breakfast and evening. large variety of Indian food, but you can request eggs or an omelette at breakfast.

My colleague said there was a bar below the hotel (I didn't see it, so can't comment)

Very nice staff. They will arrange for your transport to the airport or wherever you need.

I do not know what our hosts paid for our rooms (I was on business travel) but I did see rooms advertised on special for $102 online - so be advised that might be lower or higher depend on how you book.

Address: DD-21, Sector-1, Saltlake, DD Block, Salt Lake City, Kolkata, WB 700064, India


Phone: +91 90 51 275550

Price: US$80-120

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs. Dogs bark like crazy at ngiht. Also avoid rooms closest to the suite adjacent to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed at de Sovrani during one of my business trips. The hotel was very good at good levels of cleanliness maintained. Rooms were spacious with all the requirements taken care of. the Front office staff was very courteous and check in and check out process was the fastest i have encountered. A special work of praise for Monupriya and Pratyusha at the front office for their pleasing personality and warm welcome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Sovrani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Sovrani

Address: DD 21 Saltlake City Sector I, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700 064, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Sovrani 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel De Sovrani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Sovrani India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Sovrani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.