We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hasn't let me down yet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peerless Inn

Save Saved
You added Peerless Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peerless Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12, J. L. Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 189 hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Philadelphia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hasn't let me down yet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010 via mobile

I stayed at the Peerless Inn for the second time in November 2010.

I had the same experience I had after staying in January 2010: a comfortable stay at a nice hotel.

It's in a great location in New Market, within walking distance to many things. The subway entrance is right in front of the place and there are always taxis available. The rooms are slightly dated, but they are very clean. I got a free upgrade to a suite on my most recent stay. Both of the rooms I stayed in had good views of the huge Esplanade intersection but kept most of the noise out. The free breakfast buffet was great and had lots of options. The front desk staff also agreed to a late check-out, which I greatly appreciated.

Non-Indian visitors should be prepared for excellent but distinctly Indian service here. This is not bad at all, but it is just not what you'd encounter at hotels in the west or at the Oberoi down the street.

My one complaint with the Peerless Inn is their wifi access. Their access card system is awkward to use (especially with the iPod Touch I travel with) and incredibly overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    155
    60
    18
    10
See reviews for
47
36
50
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

excellent hotel rooms which are neat and clean
food is good
the hotel also has several restaurants to offer
the ambience is realy very good
the staff is courteous and kind
felt like home
good breakfast and dinner buffet spread

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

We had a great stay at the Peerless in Kolkota. This is a great place to stay for a retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city. The rooms are clean, and have an in-room safe. The beds are soft, and they give you chocolates and fruit on arrival. Staff is very accomodating... By North American standards, the gym is very sparse.

The breakfast is quite amazing - fruit, yogurt, cereal, fresh bread, and various other Indain breakfast items. Oceanic Restaurant is quite delicious, but expensive, as is Ego Restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

very nice hotel very clean. its in the central kolkata nearest metro station is esplanede. new market is behind it. it is surrounded by many historic places. edenn garden , victoria memorial , indian museum, british camera studioo, tipu masjid, gocerner house, gpo first post office is very near to it. from howrah almost every bus is comming to esplanade. so s no diffculties in in reaching .buses jnnurm ac buses are running from airport to esplanade non ac bus es r there also. the main thing is its location is gr8.the room service was out standing . the food is bengolii type. the staff are very good. all of the above my experience with the hotel is gr8

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

I stayed at Peerless Inn for 9 nights and was pretty satisfied with my stay. It is very close to the market and sights. There are always taxis available. It was a short drive to sites such as Victoria Memorial, Mother House, Maidan and walking distance to Park Street and the Indian Museum. The Bengali Restaurant is supposed to be the best of its kind. I love that they supply 2 bottles of water (1.5 liters) daily. For the negatives, I didn’t enjoy the breakfast buffet (not their fault – I am a meat-eater and they serve only chicken sausages and chicken salami – which I respect). Also, I found it odd that they charged for coffee and tea (minimal at 10 Rupees). Wi-fi was expensive at 2000 Rps for 24 hours. I was also irritated when a housekeeping staff rang my doorbell twice when I had a do not disturb sign. He was just going to ask if there was anything to clear. I thought that was not worth bothering me for. I complained, and the following day, I received a bouquet of pink roses from the housekeeping manager.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Convenient location, nice rooms, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

I booked the room through the website which takes you through the Sarovar Hotels website. The rates you get through the online booking are about 55% less from the rack rates. The upgrade option to upgrade from a Superior Room to a Suite is something you should not miss out on once at the hotel. The Suite has windows opening towards the Esplanade and also gives you views of the Vijay Stambh (very fascinating at night when lighted up), the Vidyasagar Setu and the Victoria Memorial. The upgrade costs just Rs. 2000 per night and is really worth paying the price. The buffet breakfast is fantastic with a great spread for vegetarians too! Check in and check out is hassle free and there are no issues on pricing on the counter because of online bookings. The Esplanade Metro station is a 2 minute walk and Taxis are always available from the Hotel door. All in all a value proposition.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peerless Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peerless Inn

Address: 12, J. L. Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#18 Best Value Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peerless Inn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peerless Inn
Peerless Inn Kolkata
Peerless Inn India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peerless Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.