We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peerless Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Peerless Inn to your Saves list
Peerless Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12, J. L. Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Expectation was very high from Peerless Inn and to an extent they lived upto it with few exeptions. The location, could not have been better, rooms are bigger and certainly needs change in few things namely "Carpet". It stinks with patch marks all thru.
I guess everybody looks for a wifi now a days and a sudden change in the Hotel's policy of charging visitors beyond a certain MB looks ok however applying those to existing visitors looks a bit unprofessional and top it up with the wifi does not work. Sadly there is no one to attend to, if it is beyond normal hours. I think the management should looks into this aspect given that every visitor wants to be in touch.
Food is very good at Aheli, ambience is good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have taken a note of your comments regarding the internet access and will address and rectify the issues highlighted.

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    163
    72
    21
    11
See reviews for
52
41
49
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I have been in Kolkata many times. Stayed in different hotels. But Peerless Inn is good in price and location. Aheli restaurant offers quality food. Ego bar and Coffe shop offer good service. I recommended it.

Room Tip: Better stay northside room of the hotel. You can oversee Esplanade Circle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality.

We really appreciate your kind feedback on the restaurants and other services.
We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel is located in the most commercial area of Kolkata, just beside Grand. Although not as grand as Grand, the hotel definitely is one of the best in Kokata. The rooms and service quality is fine. The food, especially, the breafast they serve is definitely not to be missed. Aahilia is the best out of all the restaurants inside the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Located at heart of the city ,at Esplaned Kolkata. this hotel is good.Offers buffet breakfast, staff are very friendly. Food at their Aheli restaurant serves authentic Bengali cuisine and really excellent, particularly Ilish machher paturi anf Dhokar dalna.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Copy of e-mail to the Customer services manager dated 25th February that still remains unanswered.

On the 22nd February, my wife and I travelled from Assam to Kolkata.

At the airport, I booked a prepaid taxi to travel to the New Kenilworth Hotel where I had a booking arranged through booking.com. I checked the pre-paid taxi form and it did show that we were due to travel to the Kenilworth Hotel and I told the taxi driver to take us there.

For some reason best known to the driver he took us to your establishment. At the reception, I presented my booking.com reservation to your staff who could obviously see the I had no reservation at your hotel but instead of telling me so, he proceeded to book me into your hotel. I must say I now feel a sense of betrayal and a lack of professional attitude by your staff.

Later on I questioned the name of the hotel and that your In-house magazine indicated this hotel to be part of the Sarovar group. I was told that indeed the hotel was now part of this group.

It was only when I checked out, a new member of staff at the reception finally told me that I was not at the Kenilworth Hotel. When I challenged why I was not told that I was at the wrong hotel, the original member of staff told me that he had found no booking for me and instead of telling me so just checked us in. I noted that the room rate charged was exactly as on my reservation confirmation with Kenilworth although on the web your charge rate is less. I was also given false
assurance that there will be no charge made by booking.com although I knew that they would be within their right to do so.

I am happy to note here that after receiving a copy of the above e-mail, The New Kenilworth Hotel and Booking.com acted above the call of their duty and wrote off the cancellation fee. A lesson that the Sarovar group should take on board and teach their staff how to treat customers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Located at heart of the city , this hotel is good but slightly expensive. Needs maintenance.Offers buffet breakfast, staff are very friendly. Food at their Aheli restaurant serves authentic Bengali cuisine but expensive. I visited there during rainy season and they were serving special Khichuri. The veg Khichuri was for Rs.800/- served along with beguni (brinjal pakoda) and aloo bhaja (crispy potato fries).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I had been staying at this hotel on a business trip to Kolkata. The only good thing of the hotel was the location. The Bed was not comfortable. The toiletories in the bathroom were near not there at all. Also the main thing that other than the room charges, everything was very very costly be it food or anything. No extra Sealed bottled water in the room, if wanted then chargeable and charges costlier than a 5 star hotel. In total no value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you, for your recent stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata and for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

We have noted the concerns that you have highlighted and are working towards improving the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peerless Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peerless Inn

Address: 12, J. L. Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#18 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peerless Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peerless Inn
Peerless Inn Kolkata
Peerless Inn India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peerless Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.