We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Feel...Hotel Needs a Serious Revamping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peerless Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Peerless Inn to your Saves list
Peerless Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12, J. L. Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Old World Feel...Hotel Needs a Serious Revamping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Walking into The Peerless Inn at Kolkata gives you a feeling of the old world star hotels. The hotel is located at an extremely crowded place and there is constant noise 24 x 7. The reception at the hotel was warm, they provide you a muffin as soon as you come in. Maybe because I checked in pretty late in the evening, there were no standard rooms and hence I was upgraded to the Presidential Suite at the same price. It was a big room, with a living area facing the Howrah Bridge, with old world chairs and a center table and a dinning table. Surprisingly there was no TV in the living room - kind of strange! The bed room was also large enough but didn't give you that class feeling. The aura around was that of a typical government run hotel frequented by ministers and government officials. Yes the rooms were clean and well maintained.

The bathroom had a bath tub, and taps, which needed urgent refurbishing - I stayed there for 3 nights but just couldn't get the combination of hot & cold correct! On day 2 the housekeeping forgot took away used towels but forgot to keep the new :)

The food at the hotel was expensive - the room service menu wasn't quite exhaustive but was expensive for what it was worth. The food was decent but didn't deserve to cost so much.

The breakfast menu was also quite same all 3 days - didn't really provide any local taste to the cuisine - something one would expect when traveling to a different city. South Indian dishes, cereals, parathas and eggs dominated the breakfast menu.

All in all, I would say this property needs urgent refurbishing in order to bring about a certain class in the hotel. At present those who enjoy the good old world charm can enjoy the stay there.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room on the higher floor and possibly facing the Howrah Bridge. At least the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you, for your recent stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata and for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

Your positive comments about warm welcome is much appreciated. We have noted the concerns that you have highlighted regarding breakfast buffet spead and working towards improving the same. Regarding refurbishment of the hotel, we would like to inform you that we are going for renovation very soon.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    163
    72
    21
    11
See reviews for
52
41
49
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

It was wonderful stay with excellent meals. New market walkin distance from hotel was so convenient. Enjoyed our stay in peerless kolkota. Buffet breakfast n dinner was excellent.
Service by housekeeping was good too

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality.

Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I had stayed at hotel peerless inn kolkata from 11th to17th Feb 2013. The stay was very comfortable and the hotel staff was very polite and professional. A wonderful experience and rooms are very clean. The breakfast and dinner at Ist floor restaurent was lavish. Very good variety and very tasty, may be it veg or non veg.
The best thing is it's location, very near to famous new market.

P K KHURANA
Addl Director
Indian Oil Corporation Ltd
New Delhi
Cell : 09999970230

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

Your encouraging comments will help us do better and hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Good location
Clean hotel
Costly Food
Helpful Staff
Awesome breakfast
Free Internet
....................................................................................................................

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmond
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We didn't stay here but had lunch and dinner. Lunch was with family and dinner with colleagues. Both were wonderful experience. Bengali music, décor, traditional attire of the staff and authentic Bengali cuisine. We had thali as well as ala-carte dishes. The variety is awesome. Don't miss the Aam Sharbat, jhoori moori aloo (potato sticks in mustard oil), steamed betki and Iilish in mustard gravy.
Live music on Sunday lunch with a small play area setup for kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinng at Aaheli and our hospitality.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our services, and hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

After 2 and a half years, I was again at Peerless Inn last week. It was nice to see that the hotel maintained the same standard of hospitality. The room as usual was impeccably clean, and all supplies were plentiful. The room service was very prompt and every attendant served with a smile. Breakfast was a treat on account of quality as well as ambience in the restaurant. The only disappointment was the welcome drink and the fruit juice at breakfast; it was diluted, tasteless concoction.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality.

We really appreciate your kind feedback on the room,breakfast buffet and other services. We have noted the concerns that you have highlighted regarding welcome drinks and fruit juice at the restaurant and are working towards improving the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I and my wife had a 24 hr stay at peerless in. On feb 2nd 2013. We had a suite booked. I liked the staff welcome and had a good vibe when we checked in. We were given the suite on 9th floor. Accommodation was great and worth every penny. I was disappointed a little as we did not get the Eden gardens view, instead got the city view. The bathroom was great and everything was clean and shinning. The location was also great as it is right on esplanade. However parking was kinda shabby for the hotel which is a drawback. Overall had a satisfying experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peerless Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peerless Inn

Address: 12, J. L. Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#18 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peerless Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peerless Inn
Peerless Inn Kolkata
Peerless Inn India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peerless Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.