We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with excellent breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peerless Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Peerless Inn to your Saves list
Peerless Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12, J. L. Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Konigs Wusterhausen, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice place with excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good location (close to Indian Museum and subway), nice and average big room (bathroom with a good shower, this is not everywhere in India self-evident), clean and with a georgious breakfast (the best I had in India).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    163
    72
    20
    11
See reviews for
51
41
49
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Location wise excellent hotel with markets and places of interests nearby. We booked two suits and these are quite big rooms. Staff are ready to help.The bar is too expensive.The breakfast is average and could have been better.Check in took a little more time than required.Otherwise this is a excellent hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durgapur, India
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I booked the hotel because I had to attend an event at the same hotel next day afternoon before heading for Durgapur, my final destination. I arrived late evening and checked into the room quickly. Following are my experiences:

Location: The location of the hotel is excellent as it is very near to interstate bus-stand and close to main rail station. Also very close to park street area, Calcutta's famous partying area.

Room: I booked a standard room and was not very happy with the shoddy appearance, carpet is old and appears dirty, however, bed was good and there were sufficient tea/coffee kits/arrangements. The furniture looked dated and poorly maintained. The glass windows had stains/paint marks and seemed nobody had ever made any effort to clean up. Washroom was okay.

Services: Complimentary breakfast was really excellent with ample choices. The staffs are cooperative and courteous, however, they need training for their job and to improve professionalism. The person attending telephone for the main hotel contact number speaks terrible English. Overall lack of professionalism is visible everywhere.

Value for money: I spent Rs. 5300 a night, and don't think the hotel is good enough for that amount. Hotel needs to spend some bucks to improve guests' satisfaction.

Room Tip: Bank on your luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We request you to accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused to
you at the hotel.

Our training will be more stronger and will help to eliminate the communication problems that
you experienced.

Nothing is more important than regaining your trust and all of us here hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you the best.

We once again request you to accept our sincere apology .

Regards,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The location is everything in this hotel.

The rooms are dated as are the communal areas.

The staff were excellent.

Generally could do with some $ being spent on modernisation.

Had trouble with the WiFi for 2 of the 4 days I stayed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We have taken a note of your comments regarding the internet access and will address and rectify the issues highlighted.

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Regards,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A bit costly on the food prices but overall a good star rated hotel. Located in the heart of the city. Easy access to nearby big markets and attractions. Though I stayed over just for one night but would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

We hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
446 reviews 446 reviews
170 hotel reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Go up to the gym for a great view of Howrah bridge and Eden gardens have a stroll out to the Super Pub Bar, Tava and Rang Mahal. The bars and restaurants at the hotel are fine but a little expensive to be honest when nearby drink and food is a lot cheaper. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff very good breakfast was nice as well we enjoyed its location and the chance to get into a bit of real India around the hotel even getting caught in a bit of late season monsoon a very enjoyable stay Kolkata grew on us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have taken a note of your comments.

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at Peerless during my official Visit to Kolkatta, I stayed for 2 Days only, I had booked my Room but to my surprise was upgraded to Suite Room, which was really very spacious, amenties also at place. Very Polite people right from the word you enter the hotel, Tasty and delicious food, Breakfast also quality wise is good.The Check In and check Out was also no Problems at all. I shall recommend it to others also, Marketing Place all close by. I shall Visit the Place again.

Room Tip: Corner suites are spacious, Sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable.

Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peerless Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peerless Inn

Address: 12, J. L. Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peerless Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peerless Inn
Peerless Inn Kolkata
Peerless Inn India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peerless Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.