We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless service; amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Kolkata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Kolkata to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   JA-1 Sector III | Salt Lake City, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700098, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #12 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Faultless service; amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I went on a trip to Kolkata alone with my 2 children aged 4 & 7 years. I was a little nervous about managing them alone but the staff were amazing. The service was incredible and they went out of their way to assist us. The staff at the front doors make you feel like you are returning home and they genuinely seem to want to look after you. It felt like we were in a warm family home, not a hotel. I want to thank them for their care and hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for going out of your way too!

You taking the time to write about you recent experience during your stay really means a lot and is incredibly encouraging for all of us, specially receiving such a wonderful review.

I am so happy to read that we were able to look after your kids well and put you a little more at ease.

I sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Kolkata soon.

With warm regards
Marc Lorenz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    221
    52
    20
    16
See reviews for
82
56
70
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

It is another average inefficient 5 star hotel. The room are comfortable with a view of the lake but the air conditioning takes a long time to cool the room in the face of moderate winter Kolkata afternoon sun. The housekeeping staff are tardy and would need at least 2-3 calls to appear. Things as simple as refilling the toiletries needs a request. Phew!!

The staff attending the phones are ill equipped and are not even aware whether a restaurant in the hotel is open or closed. It may take you to hold the phone for15 minutes before a bored voice informs you that you are trying to bark the wrong tree. Frustrating!!

The food at Gucchi, we had Thai Curry with rice, was very good but the Indian food on offer on the breakfast buffet menu at Waterside Cafe tasted bland and boring.

The check out staff may ask you for the room keys even after you have given it to her long back. Irritating!!

All on all its not value for money at all for a place like Kolkata. Won't recommend...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
First and foremost, thank you so much for sharing your experiences. Even though I have had the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you directly already I wanted to ensure that I respond here as well.
Your comments have been fully taken on board and due to renovations in our main restaurant during the period you stayed, service has suffered more than it should have.
I can assure you that this is not the standard of service we want to offer our guests and the team is working hard on ensuring that your experience will not be repeated.
I want to thank you once again for your understanding and giving me the opportunity to act on this.
with kind regards and hoping to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Kolkata soon.
Marc Lorenz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Beautiful hotel. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. A luxurious bathroom - I was wary of the marble floor but soon got used to it. Service at the hotel is superb; the staff are so attentive and caring and no matter what you need, you won't ask for anything twice. Very good variety of high quality food with the on site restaurants, bar and Waterside Cafe. It is a little pricey however for location, service and security, you really can't beat it. I've stayed here a couple of times now and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Try looking for deals on the Club King or Club Twin rooms as these give you access to the lounge on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking time out to write about your stay with us.
What a huge encouragement for all of us to read your wonderful review. It really makes the start of the year very special.
It is of course particularly great for me to read your comments about the details of customer service you felt we paid particular attention to. This is what it is all about. Thank you!
I appreciate also your recommendations on looking out for good rates for our Regency Club rooms which include an abundance of special privileges and are best found on Hyatt.com, I also like to recommend to look for advance booking rates if you have time to plan your trip.
Once again many thanks and hoping to welcome you back very soon.
Kind regards
Marc Lorenz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our stay was full of luxury. The rooms were big and the bathroom was super big. Very clean rooms and bathroom. I just loved the bathroom, it was huge. It is ultra luxury.

The service was awesome and very quick. The food was great. The breakfast at the hotel (Gucci) is very good with lots of variety. The service at breakfast was great.
Highly recommended for a perfect luxury stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on 2nd onwards are great. The best is to get pool facing room. The view is just amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it means a lot to all of us.
Good to also see your recommendations given about the rooms facing the pool. We will always do our very best to give preference to guests who made requests well in advance. We are very proud of the tranquility of our gardens and pool and will always do our best to accommodate special requests.
Hoping to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Kolkata.
With warm regards
Marc Lorenz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Usually stay here for business but this time was for leisure. Tad too pricey comparatively. But otherwise, you cannot fault the rooms and the service provided. Brekkie is quite comprehensive and great. Staff are at top of their game and very friendly & attentive. Still remember me by name even though last visit was 7 mths ago!!! :-) Couple of others on-site restaurants which are equally great. One is Indian and the other Italian. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking time to write about your stay and of course nothing better and more encouraging for us to receive such a wonderful review.
I am very happy to read that you had such a good stay with us back in December.
The most encouraging however was your observation that we remembered your name after 7 months, this makes all the hard work which goes into the training so worth while. Thank you so much for noticing.
Hope to welcome you back sooner than in 7 months.
With warm regards
Marc Lorenz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune , india
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Wonderful place. Close to airport 20 min drive , alwys a pleasure to stay.
Good rroms , great bar and food.
Nice pool and porperty.
Having stayed here 5 times in last two years is like a homecoming to kolkatta.
Kudos

Room Tip: all rooms are great , try higher floors , facing the stadium, view is bad but quieter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and taking the time to write about it.
Really appreciated and what a great motivator for the team.
We hope to beat the number of visits you had with us over the next 2 years 2013/14 and can't wait to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Kolkata.
I sincerely hope that we have your preference on high floor, quiet room on our system to ensure that you always get a room on a high level even in high occupancy times. Please check on this during your next visit.
We are very proud of the fact that we have a quiet, for Kolkata, environment due to the gardens and adjacent stadium grounds and I really appreciate that it is noticed.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
with warm regards
Marc Lorenz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I was quite surprised at just how pricey the Hyatt in Kolkata was, given the price of similar standard hotels in the vicinity. However, that should not detract from the fact that this is a first class hotel, and in that sense you get what you pay for.

The rooms are comfortable, and well-appointed, the service excellent and the food was delicious.

I would very happily stay here again, although would be careful of shopping for the best price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at Hyatt Regency Kolkata during your last stay, I really appreciate it!
You candid feedback is very much welcome and I am very pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and will be looking forward to your next visit.
In regards to the rates and packages, I would for sure recommend you to check our Hyatt.com offers booked and paid in advance which are available on the website. They are great value!
Once again, many thanks and looking forward meeting you when you next visit us.
With kind regards
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kolkata

Address: JA-1 Sector III | Salt Lake City, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700098, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#6 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#7 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Kolkata is a luxury business hotel in Kolkata (or “Calcutta”), India. Being the first five-star hotel in Salt Lake City, it is also acclaimed as one of Kolkata’s favourites. The hotel creates the feel of a private cocoon away from the complexities of modern living without giving up any of its luxuries. Saddled between Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Airport and Howrah Railway Station which lie just 11 km (7 miles) to either side, Hyatt Regency Kolkata enjoys a prime location near the city’s IT hub and is a preferred business destination of East India. A tranquil retreat amid spectacular landscaped gardens, featuring 233 luxury guest rooms and suites, the hotel allows guests to relax and rejuvenate while staying in Kolkata. Apart from all rooms having access to Wi-Fi Internet, guests on the Regency Club Floor enjoy access to the luxurious Regency Club Lounge and evening cocktail hours. Specialty restaurants like Guchhi, La Cucina,and the 24-hour Waterside Café offer a selection of the finest cuisines. Sink into a range of premium spirits and cocktails at The Bar or at Poolside. Pamper yourself at the holistic spa – Club Prana – featuring a 24-hour gymnasium, squash and tennis courts and a landscaped pool.Being one of the most popular business hotels in the city, Hyatt Regency Kolkata provides extensive banqueting facilities for meetings, incentives, conferences, exhibitions and weddings. The hotel also offers great value meeting packages and personalized catering services.This Kolkata hotel has several interesting tourist attractions nearby. The Science City, an impressive science museum complex, is only 4 km (2.5 miles) away. Nicco Park, an open-air amusement park with an attached water theme park, is also nearby. The Missionaries of Charities is one of the prominent sites for all who visit this cultural capital. Hence, while staying at Hyatt Regency Kolkata one can enjoy many of on-site and off-site activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Hyatt Regency Hotel Kolkata
Kolkata Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Kolkata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.