We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand and Plush” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi Grand to your Saves list
The Oberoi Grand
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, Jawaharlal Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 196 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Grand and Plush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is, no doubt, the best in Kolkata with the main sights and actions practically just right at the door steps of the hotel. Once within the gated enclave of the hotel, there's a deep sense of calm and serenity and this place provides an escape from the craziness in the streets of Kolkata.

The check-in is swift and efficient although the staff should be reminded that passports should be returned to the guests after check in. When the formalities are completed, the staff will escort you to the guest room and the luggages will just miraculously appear in the room. The guest room is extremely clean, beautifully furnished in a Victorian style. Even the fresh fruits and drinks are replenished twice a day. To add to the personal touch, the staff will hand out Indian local tea bags as souvenirs.

The breakfast has a huge spread. I was keen to sample the local breakfast eg. the Dhosa and Uppendam and these were all available. The only downside is that the hotel is badly in need of a good coffee machine. They should not be heating the cafetiere on hot plates!

Our stay was extremely comfortable and pleasant and the hotel definitely provides a sanctuary for those in need of a break from the craziness in the Kolkata streets.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to note that we could make your stay at the hotel comfortable. The Oberoi Grand, also known as the Grande Dame of Chowringhee is located in the heart of the city with several places of interest like Victoria Memorial, Eden Gardens, Howrah Bridge and Raj Bhawan located in close proximity.

We are pleased to know that you also enjoyed our dining facilities as well as the services provided by the team.

I apologize if there was a delay in returning your passport after check in as they are usually promptly returned after scanning them. I request you to treat this in isolation and not let it mar your overall impression of the hotel and its services.

The team and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    183
    49
    9
    4
See reviews for
173
297
139
439
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I've stayed at other excellent high end hotels before, but there is something special here: each and every one of the staff wants to make SURE that you are having the best experience possible, without there being any "upsell push", you only get what you want and the price/value ratio is solid. Two good examples:
The wifi access: up to four devices < $20 (US)/day, with good speeds, minimal requirements for multiple logins etc..
The hotel transfer: very easy to find your connection (separate, and ahead of the other drivers -- not sure how they pull that off) and the driver had a cold water ready for me when I got in the car. After many hours on multiple planes and waiting in the immigration line at 3am, you can easily imagine how much I appreciated it.

The property itself is exquisite, and a nice respite from the crowded bustle of Kolkata.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read your kind words of appreciation for our team and the facilities provided by the hotel including high speed internet, car service and the relaxing atmosphere that the hotel provides. Such positive and encouraging feedback goes a long way in motivating us to achieve higher standards of excellence.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the Oberoi Grand during a friends wedding. The hotel staff were courteous. They provided for all the whims of the wedding guests. We had a dedicated bar room which was well stocked as well as our own closed off banquet room for meals. Delicious breakfasts, great food and drinks! The bedrooms were in a maze but easy to find. The spa was lovely and i thoroughly enjoyed my massage. I felt thoroughly spoilt and pampered. It was centrally located so it was easy to go to the market.

Room Tip: Make the most of all the facilities at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us when you visited Kolkata on the occasion of your friend’s wedding. Being situated in the centre of the city, The Oberoi Grand is in close proximity to all shopping areas and hence is an excellent location to stay.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Do not goto Kolkata if you are not staying here! This is not only the best Hotel in Kolkata, but probably one of the best in India. From the time you enter the property from the super busy street outside to the time to check in you see the difference between other 5 star hotels & why there should be another category for these unique super service friendly hotels. The service was so nice for my 3 day stay, i had to tell some of the folks to stop being so nice to me, because they were over greeting me every time i passed through the hotel <---i dont even know if thats a complaint.... the hotel is awesome. The room has generally comfortable beds, good view with a Balcony over looking the courtyard/pool with very nice landscape. The rooms have an old british rule feel, but that is what they are aiming for. Bathrooms are good in size, toilets have a continuous flush as long as you hold the bar down & the shower head & pressure is just phenomenal. There is a separate lever for just the pressure of the shower!!!! its a great bathroom. Cabinets in room are actually useful unlike some hotels, with plenty of space & efficiency. Restaurants around hotel are all great! You can even sit poolside and order from the menu. Unlike some hotels food/restaurants being just good or average, food at the Oberoi is very well above average & they cater towards a taste or a dish if you request it! really you dont need a menu -just tell them what you want to eat! it just feels good being here for 3 days, its like an island paradise in the middle of Kolkata. If you are going out to see the sights take the hotel Innova, they are precise with their operations & car is clean with a uniformed driver. They do charge for wifi, but make up for it with exceptional service & a memorable experience. Sometimes they run deals so keep a look out!

Room Tip: everythings great just check in & eat everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us when you visited Kolkata on the occasion of your friend’s wedding. Being situated in the centre of the city, The Oberoi Grand is in close proximity to all shopping areas and hence is an excellent location to stay.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were part of a small tour group who stayed at the Oberoi from 11 -15 February and again for the night of 22 February before our departure back to London.
I have stayed in many international hotels over the years but none have matched the friendly, attentive and personal service enjoyed at the Oberoi Grand. You are treated as a special guest from the moment you first pass through the entrance gates until you settle your account. In terms of service the Oberoi really sets the benchmark for others to follow.
Our room was spacious and neatly furnished with a very comfortable double-bed and exceptionally quiet despite facing the outside.
Food in both restaurants was delicious with impeccable service. My only possible criticism is that "La Terrace" was sometimes over crowded during the morning peak, when the staff struggled to keep up with demands for cooked breakfasts. Also the quality of morning coffee should be improved, and it would be nice for expresso to be served in a small cup rather than a full sized cup. On the final evening we decided to treat ourselves to a margarita in the bar before dinner, which proved to be the only real disappointment during the entire stay. Not only did we wait at least 10 minutes (even though the bar was nearly empty), but the cocktail itself fell short of the standard I had expected. I was left wondering whether the barman knew how to mix and serve a cocktail.
These are minor criticisms in the scale of things, but there is always room for improvement if you strive for perfection.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation for the facilities and ambience provided at the hotel and I am glad that you had a comfortable stay. I am also pleased to note that you experienced world class service during your both trips.

I apologize for your less than perfect experience at the restaurant and the bar regarding beverages. I have shared the feedback regarding the taste and service of coffee and mixed drinks with our Food & Beverage Service Manager and the entire team and assure you that appropriate training and corrective measures will be taken to ensure that our guests do not experience such lapse in service again.

I request you to treat these incidents in isolation and not let them mar the impression of the overall services of our hotel.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We spend three days in It was a great experience. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. I had stayed at this hotel last December. We booked this hotel after looking at other reviews on trip advisor. This was my second visit to Kolkata and should say this hotel was 100 times better than the previous year.
The food was exceptionally good. Had breakfast and dinner from the hotel itself, have to say it was really nice. The bar was also a 10++!!! Rooms are very spacious the rooms are furnished very tastefully in British colonial style, excellent staff. Service was also good. Had no complains. The guy at the reception was very helpful.
I will be returning on my next visit to Kolkata!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to know that we could make your stay comfortable and you would now like to stay at The Oberoi Grand on all your visits to Kolkata. Thank you for your encouraging and positive feedback.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Everything was done to the highest standard.

I had a lovely poolside room which I would highly recommend for the view over the pool and palms.

Room service food was really good as was breakfast...nice Eggs Benedict.

Gym was adequate and wifi was strong but was charged extra.

Cannot commend the service enough, a memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate our food and service. Our well equipped Spa and Fitness Centre are for exclusive use of hotel guests where we offer a variety of treatments and facilities.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Grand

Address: 15, Jawaharlal Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oberoi Grand, fondly referred as the 'Grande Dame of Chowringhee' offers the ultimate classical residence in the City of Joy. This heritage hotel’s neo-classical facade and grand pillared entrance mark a successful fusion of classical Victorian and traditional Indian style and reflect the city’s colonial history.Standing stately for over 125 years, The Oberoi Grand combines classic architecture and charm with state of the art amenities and facilities, offering guests an oasis of tranquility amidst the bustling city.The hotel features elegantly appointed rooms, equipped with all modern facilities blending uniquely with the colonial architecture.The hotel is located in the main business and shopping district of Kolkata (Park Street, BBD Bag, and Chowringhee) and is in walking distance from most corporate and government offices. It is also conveniently located close to major convention centers, legislative offices, banks, Consulates, Deputy High Commissions, Chambers of Commerce and clubs. This ideal location makes the hotel a perfect base for the business and the leisure traveler.The dining options at the hotel provide a great opportunity to savor cuisines from around the globe. Recreational facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, a fitness centre and a full service Oberoi Spa.The city centre location makes the hotel an ideal conference and meetings venue. The options vary from a spectacular ballroom for large conferences and smaller meeting rooms for business gatherings and seminars. A 24 hour business centre fully equipped with modern facilities includes a meeting room along with secretarial services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Grand Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Oberoi Grand Hotel
Oberoi Grand Kolkata
The Oberoi Grand India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.