We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi Grand to your Saves list
The Oberoi Grand
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, Jawaharlal Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 195 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Sydney
1 review
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Oberoi Grand was fantastic. The service was top class and the staff were all warm and welcoming. The Thai restaurant is really good I definitely recommend it.... Loved sitting around the pool ... Cherilyn

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your feedback with regards to our product and services which you found to be warm and welcoming.

Baan Thai, our Thai specialty restaurant is one of the finest Thai restaurants in the country serving traditional and authentic cuisine and has been bestowed with several awards and accolades.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    182
    49
    9
    4
See reviews for
173
297
138
439
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

You made me feel at home. I had returned to Kolkata after over 37 years and while excited about going down memory lane was a little apprehensive about dealing with the crowds. The Grand is still the oasis amidst the bustle. I felt like an honored guest from the moment I walked in the door until I left. Staff were extremely attentive to every need, food was fabulous, and the hotel beautiful as always. Attention was paid to every detail such as leaving the weather forecast for the next day and replacing the airline ticket I used as a bookmark with a real bookmark which serves as a souvenir of my trip. My reunion with old friends was even more memorable thanks to the warmth and attention from your staff. I would return to Kolkata just to stay with you.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor and my room was quite and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am glad to know that The Oberoi Grand presented itself to you as home in Kolkata on your return after 37 years. We are all pleased that we made this trip a memorable one for you and thank you for your appreciation on the staff and the warmth and attention you received here.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel's location is great, very central (close to Park Street and to the new market), the staff at the hotel are amazingly nice and helpful! Rooms are very clean and the overall design is nice! I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

The hotel is situated next to the famous New Market and in close proximity to Park Street, Dalhousie square, Victoria Memorial and other places of interest which makes it a very attractive location to stay for all visitors to Kolkata.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else in Kolkata. The location is the best, right in the centre of Chowringhee, but then you step out of the chaotic beauty of the city into this amazing oasis. The public spaces are beautiful, and rooms are wonderful: large, peaceful and quiet. Food is great. Spa is fabulous. There is nothing more restful than to sprawl at the pool with a long cold drink. But what brings it all together are the people working there, who must come from some lost country where gentleness and grace are what rules. They are always generous and kind and welcoming, never obsequious. I sent a shirt to be pressed from which two buttons had fallen off: when the shirt came back, it had matching buttons sewn on – of the exact size, number of holes, and mother of pearl. The care they take is awesome, last time I stayed there, they mended and sent a small figurine to me I had forgotten in the drawer.
Superlatives don't do justice to this hotel, exquisite simplicity and attention to little things makes the hotel really grand. And on top of it all, it is in the centre of one of the greatest and most wondrous cities in the world, such beauty it takes your breath away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed you stay and you were well looked after. I would like to thank you for your kind words of appreciation for the services provided by the team, especially Laundry and Housekeeping services. I have shared your encouraging feedback with their regarding the attention to detail in their service.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranchi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

i had excellent experience in my recent visit to this place.great caring n relaxing place.truly vintage stylist place with services in really grand manner.staff are very courteous and caring.like to name few shashank ,richard and sohan..who really made our trip memorable.
its a place which itself speak lots about grandeur n style. situated in between busiest place in city.excellent food, services and room.
will suggest for family stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

The Oberoi Grand presents a calm oasis in the bustling city of Kolkata and is situated in the centre of the main shopping and business district of the city.

I thank you for the appreciation of the team, especially for Shashank, Richard and Soham who ensured that you had a comfortable stay.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After quickly checking out of a terrible guest house we found ourselves, reservation-less, here. It was as if coming from hell and checking in to heaven! The staff couldn't have been more welcoming, accommodating and truly concerned for our comfort. We had seen a cheaper room rate on Expedia's site and without even asking they showed us to the business center so we could make a reservation for that rate! Wow!! We got the rate, checked in and were shown to a gorgeous room.
Our 4 day stay was pretty much faultless. The staff is truly amazing. From housekeeping to management. Just perfect! The restaurants are wonderful. The bar lovely. The spa is incredible and an experience in itself. Amazing auyerveda treatments! The courtyard and pool are a great place to bliss out and listen to the birds chirping..
Kolkata is a gorgeous city! Very walkable and the victorian architecture is amazing.
The ONLY place to stay if you are visiting Kolkata!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to note that your stay came to you as a welcome respite from the hectic travel in India. My team joins me in thanking you for your encouraging feedback regarding the facilities and services offered at the hotel.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Located right smack in the centre of many busy streets, The Grand Oberoi is a great choice if you like to be in the midst of the action but also enjoy some peace and quiet.
The hotel itself, though relatively old is well maintained with rooms equipped with furniture that are classic and grand. Service staff in the hotel all speak well and are very attentive of your needs. They were also helpful in providing advice and various options of getting around town.
For someone who frequently orders room service when I travel for work, I must say that the food was served promptly by courteous staff who would make conversations.
Overall a great stay and experience!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am glad that our team could make your stay comfortable with their service. Your words of appreciation go a long way in encouraging them.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Grand

Address: 15, Jawaharlal Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oberoi Grand, fondly referred as the 'Grande Dame of Chowringhee' offers the ultimate classical residence in the City of Joy. This heritage hotel’s neo-classical facade and grand pillared entrance mark a successful fusion of classical Victorian and traditional Indian style and reflect the city’s colonial history.Standing stately for over 125 years, The Oberoi Grand combines classic architecture and charm with state of the art amenities and facilities, offering guests an oasis of tranquility amidst the bustling city.The hotel features elegantly appointed rooms, equipped with all modern facilities blending uniquely with the colonial architecture.The hotel is located in the main business and shopping district of Kolkata (Park Street, BBD Bag, and Chowringhee) and is in walking distance from most corporate and government offices. It is also conveniently located close to major convention centers, legislative offices, banks, Consulates, Deputy High Commissions, Chambers of Commerce and clubs. This ideal location makes the hotel a perfect base for the business and the leisure traveler.The dining options at the hotel provide a great opportunity to savor cuisines from around the globe. Recreational facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, a fitness centre and a full service Oberoi Spa.The city centre location makes the hotel an ideal conference and meetings venue. The options vary from a spectacular ballroom for large conferences and smaller meeting rooms for business gatherings and seminars. A 24 hour business centre fully equipped with modern facilities includes a meeting room along with secretarial services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Grand Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Oberoi Grand Kolkata
Oberoi Grand Hotel
The Oberoi Grand India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.