We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent old hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi Grand to your Saves list
The Oberoi Grand
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, Jawaharlal Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent old hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Having stayed at a more modern hotel in Mumbai on my trip to India, the Oberoi Grand was definitely a bit different. Whilst not as modern, for me it more than made up for it with an abundance of character, with a lot of old stylings that made it more interesting than the average hotel such as the elevators with wood panelling and brass features. In its next refurbishment, I'm sure a lick of paint and a few new carpets here and there, will make it even better, but its nice enough as it is!

Service was excellent throughout my stay, though definitely a shock to someone who is not used to having so many "good mornings/evenings" throughout the day. I liked the little touches, such as having a little slip of paper with the weather forecast after your room has been cleaned and the news summary from your home country in the morning. Check in was nice, with a refreshing fruity drink being offered, and coffee also offered (as I looked tired!) and helpful lady who showed me room features, etc.

I had dinner at the Thai restaurant, which was very good. Also had a few cocktails at the bar, and judging by my barometer of Long Island Iced Teas, were excellent :) Just to be aware, there is a dress code at the bar (no shorts) that my friend fell foul of, but we were let off as it was the first time we'd been to the bar.

Location is very good, and it feels like an oasis in the middle of all the bustle of the markets. Definitely worth the extra to get a room facing the centre if possible, or if you get lucky you might get a free upgrade like I did!

All in all and excellent hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am glad that our team could make your stay comfortable with their service. Your words of appreciation go a long way in encouraging them.

The Grand Dame of Kolkata, the hotel is tastefully decorated with Victorian style ambience which reflects in the interiors. Chowringhee Bar has been awarded one of the best bars in the city for a business meeting or a relaxed evening with friends or family. Live jazz music livens up the atmosphere and also has a fine collection of single malts, cognacs and cocktails.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes


George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    165
    39
    9
    4
See reviews for
145
254
127
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Grand Dame of Kolkata, that was build over 120 years ago, has still nice touch. I spend one week there when I had my business trip to Kalkuta. The rooms were huge and furnished according to colonial style: dark wood and heavy furniture. I liked the atmosphere, but I would hope to see some carefully planned improvements and renovations so that it would be more suitable for modern travelers without loosing the old world charm. The service was excellent, friendly and professional.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Your kind words of appreciation for the team, services and facilities of the go a long way in encouraging us to achieve higher standards of excellence.

I thank you for your suggestion of further modernizing the facilities of the hotel to better suit a modern day traveller. We assure you that we continuously make efforts to upgrade the facilities and services to be in line with the best luxury hotels globally.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

It goes without saying that the Oberoi Grand has all the facilities that you would expect from a five star hotel but what made our stay so memorable was the quality of service. The staff were very good at their job all the time. They addressed us by our name, with always just the right level of friendliness and respect. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff have clearly been trained very well and the standards they set themselves are the highest. The standard of service matches and beats five star hotels the world over. The location is right in the centre of Kolkata, just a ten minute walk to Eden Gardens and BBD Bagh and next door to New Market.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

My team and I are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we could be of assistance to make your stay comfortable. The Oberoi Grand is centrally located with famous shopping area New Market, sightseeing locations like the Victoria Memorial, Indian museum and monumental cricket stadium Eden Gardens, all being at a close distance from the hotel.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

At least my fifth visit to The Grand. And it is Grand in every way. Room, food, service, all really grand.

Calcutta is a challenging city and staying at the Grand is a real oasis. I fully recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

My team and I are delighted to know that you enjoy your stays with us and the facilities offered in the room and at the restaurants meet and exceed your expectations on your regular visits and stays at the hotel.

The hotel offers a calm oasis from the chaos of a bustling city of modern day Kolkata.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

A superb hotel with care for details, lots of taste, and excellent service. What else to say for a perfect establishment in the middle of Kolkata. It certainly provides a sense of grandeur, and it is a frst class retreat from the buzz of the city. Has a siperb garden and pool, and all sort of services. Located two blocks away from the museum.

Room Tip: I would recommend choosing a room that views the garden/pool, as looking outside should be pretty no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Arriving from the airport to the hotel proved stressful; given the way road conditions are in India. We passed a myriad of different sights along the way, which makes it an interesting ride.
Once arrived and into the gates of the Oberoi Grand, all senses changed. It was like stepping back into times and the hotel grounds somehow omitted a sense of calm and peacefulness.

All staff were way way too polite, with each and every staff member greeting you with smiles.

Hotel ground was nicely kept and everything was prim and proper. Although there is a bustling market street just right outside the hotel gate and with a busy road to add, it was surprisingly calm and quiet within the hotel.

The room was woody styled, and gave a antique feeling to it. The bed was standard sized with a choice of comfy pillows to select. I had a very very comfortable sleep. Also, there was a good choice of cable TV channels to select from.

I had a try at the spa. It was costly comparing against Indian price standards and conversion, however, it definitely worked wonders on me, putting me into a deep slumbering sleep.

Overall, this hotel has met my and possibly every traveler's needs of providing good service and accommodation after a hard day work of exploring the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

My team and I are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. Your kind words of appreciation for the team go a long way in encouraging them.

Thank you again for your detailed feedback and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.


Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

It is in sharp contrast with the ambience just outside the hotel.The compound is thoroughly cooled.Traditionalally attired staff greets one as and when passes by.Food go as it is with other hotels of repute.The market just outside the hotel is chaotic.US consulate is located ay walking distance .Excellent if you are on a business tour .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

My team and I are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and we could be of assistance to you in following your schedule to take photographs of this picturesque city.

The location of The Oberoi Grand is iconic with most places of interest in the city being at a close proximity from the hotel.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Grand

Address: 15, Jawaharlal Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oberoi Grand, fondly referred as the 'Grande Dame of Chowringhee' offers the ultimate classical residence in the City of Joy. This heritage hotel’s neo-classical facade and grand pillared entrance mark a successful fusion of classical Victorian and traditional Indian style and reflect the city’s colonial history.Standing stately for over 125 years, The Oberoi Grand combines classic architecture and charm with state of the art amenities and facilities, offering guests an oasis of tranquility amidst the bustling city.The hotel features elegantly appointed rooms, equipped with all modern facilities blending uniquely with the colonial architecture.The hotel is located in the main business and shopping district of Kolkata (Park Street, BBD Bag, and Chowringhee) and is in walking distance from most corporate and government offices. It is also conveniently located close to major convention centers, legislative offices, banks, Consulates, Deputy High Commissions, Chambers of Commerce and clubs. This ideal location makes the hotel a perfect base for the business and the leisure traveler.The dining options at the hotel provide a great opportunity to savor cuisines from around the globe. Recreational facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, a fitness centre and a full service Oberoi Spa.The city centre location makes the hotel an ideal conference and meetings venue. The options vary from a spectacular ballroom for large conferences and smaller meeting rooms for business gatherings and seminars. A 24 hour business centre fully equipped with modern facilities includes a meeting room along with secretarial services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Oberoi Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Grand Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Oberoi Grand Kolkata
Oberoi Grand Hotel
The Oberoi Grand India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.