We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short and sweet stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Bengal Kolkata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Bengal Kolkata to your Saves list
Taj Bengal Kolkata
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34B,Belvedere Road | Alipore, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700027, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas & NewYear Offer
Ranked #5 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
“Short and sweet stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My trip to kolkata and to Taj as well was very short, being an employee of 5 start hospitality group and working as an auditor, I would like to contribute few comments, starting from FO, the moment I stepped in I got the upgrade, it was a warm welcome, specially the gesture from the FO staff was nice, got full information about the hotel. The decor in the corridors and lobby is traditional Indian. Rooms are decent, a bit small toilets but good overall, The beds were comfortable. I only negative thing what I felt was amenities, hotel would not proving the general amenities like shaving kit and tooth brush kit as compare to our hotel.
little disappointed with breakfast as well, i have not been attended by anyone, no one will come and bother to ask you about your breakfast preference, the breakfast setup is bit small.

But the overall experience was good and would like to revisit Taj Kolkata once again with my family. special the to FO lady Pooja.

Best Regards
Kamal

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    210
    34
    12
    6
See reviews for
112
100
122
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new delhi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

You step into the legendary Taj hospitality the moment you step into Taj Bengal....there are very few hotels in India which exudes the old world charm as this property does...extremely informative about their guests (dont be surprised if you are addressed by your surname right from the entrance and every time you step into the lobby)...I was staying with them in Sept 2013 for a night and they clicked a welcome photo and had it printed, laminated and sent to my room before I retired for the night!
The Bengali restaurant at the lobby level serves amazing Begali food and a must visit for anyone wanting to taste the local fare.
If you have business in the central district then this is a great location to be in...close from everything.
Downside :
1. Traffic > getting in and getting out from the airport is a pain
2. The hospitality can become claustrophobic at times for people who like to be left alone!!

Room Tip: Request rooms looking over the sprawling Maidans
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel has been renovated. Beutiful lobby. Rooms are also nice after renovation. Great food in the bengali restaurant. Not so great in the coffee shop
Nice place near the pool to chill out. A little piece of heavan in an otherwise chaotic city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Spent a day at Taj Bengal celebrating our first wedding anniversary - could not have chosen a better place for making this a memorable experience!

The property is great, with a good view of the city esp from The Chambers, in fact it provided a nice quiet break from the bustling city. Enjoyed a great south Indian fare at The Chambers. The experience at Chinoiserie for dinner, The Hub for breakfast & Taj club for tea was good too.

The pool/ fitness center/ jacuzzi were immaculately maintained and well-staffed. We were upgraded to the Junior suite: good view of the pool, adequate room size, sound proof & very well stocked.

The most outstanding takeaway for us was the superb hospitality - genuine personal touch & warmth without making one ill at ease or pushing too hard. The courtesy & interest of the staff, (esp. Ms Pooja), went a long way in making our celebration special. Suggestion of a photo opportunity for our special day just when I was missing my camera, the cake & flowers, upgrades, timely pick-ups & drops, swiftness & efficiency – all made us feel like royalty & iterated our faith in the brand that is Taj. Can’t wait to be back. Strongly recommend for a luxurious break in Kolkata – a class apart from the rest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deesa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for three days and felt It is the best hotel in Kolkata. Tatas have always maintained their standards.
The hotel is meticulously designed and feels great once you are in. Each and everything is par excellence. The staff in particular are very polite and professional in approach. One feels very comfortable and important in hotel right from security and welcome staff to reception. The restaurant made on Indian theme is excellent and makes very delicious food. Room service staff is so trained that they take care of your requirements without reminding them of anything. Everywhere staff just wait to assist you with smile and warmth.
I felt very comfortable during all my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Only a brief stay but all done very well. Great welcome and a superb room. Clean spacious and very well equipped. We had an evening function that was extremely well supported with good A/V support and very good catering. Early morning leave but still well supported by the night staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Taj in Kolkata is one of my favourite hotels. The rooms are lovely and vast and the restaurants especially the Souk is fantastic. Good location although slightly away from the heart of the city yet conveniently located. Great stay and value for money

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Bengal Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Bengal Kolkata

Address: 34B,Belvedere Road | Alipore, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700027, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Bengal Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Bengal, designed by the legendary Bob Fox, stands as an elegant Kolkata landmark. It is in close proximity to the commercial centre, Government Offices and Consulates, and must-see sights like the Victoria Memorial, Royal Calcutta Race Course, Horticulture Gardens, National Library and the Zoological Gardens. Iconic host to Heads of State, dignitaries and international business head-honchos, it is geared to the needs of the global business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Bengal Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Bengal Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Taj Bengal Hotel Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Bengal Kolkata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.