We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One should opt for the stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Bengal Kolkata

Save Saved
You added Taj Bengal Kolkata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Bengal Kolkata
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34B,Belvedere Road | Alipore, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700027, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 190 hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One should opt for the stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hotel is almost centrally located with all amenities of a 5* hotel.
Rooms size are big and they have various choice for the food. An excellet hotel overall.
They have multiple restaurant with choice of your taste. Excellnet pool.The lounge is well decorated in traditional style. well secured.

Room Tip: It is located in Alipore. very close to the victoria palace,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    481
    195
    33
    9
    4
See reviews for
107
92
120
405
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We returned from Kolkata very recently.
We were on a very emotional trip. Taking my late fathers ashes back to our family. The staff were aware of this, and couldn't have been more helpful, especially one front of house member, Samarpita Nandi who went out her way to help us, she was so very thoughtful with flowers for my family.
And please look out for the lovely Santosh the elevator attendant, who has the biggest smile and a huge knowledge of Kolkata.
We wil definitley come back soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed at this luxury hotel for a night. This is an older property but well-maintained and clean. It is also one of the better Taj hotels. The decor in the corridors and lobby is traditional Indian and there are some magnificent Tanjore paintings.

The rooms are good, although a bit dull and feels cramped. But the fresh flowers in the room and bathroom add a nice touch. The bathroom is small for a luxury hotel but there is a bathtub. The fitness center is good with trainers too and there is a pool that was clean (didn't use it though). Wifi is chargeable even for frequenters of the Taj.

As for the complimentary spread, there is good variety. But the taste could be better and more authentic. The presentation was great but a lot of the Indian dishes in the spread weren't that appealing tastewise.

The service was excellent and prompt though. I asked them to pack some fruits as I was out of time and they also packed a dessert- a nice surprise! This hotel has excellent and friendly staff. The verdict- a good luxury hotel if you like the ones with traditional themes and a feel of the local culture. But for the same price, there are other modern luxury hotels around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were staying a couple of times at Taj Bengal while traveling on business in Calcutta / Kharagpur. (I took my 13 yo son on the trip too, so some was vacation)
The service is just awesome, you feel immediately immersed into Indian culture and hospitality.
We arrived very late the first stay and the restaurants were actually just closing. They kept open for us and also made it possible to have a meal that was normally already out.
The second time we were upgraded to a suite which my son really liked. We used the pool until closing (23:00). Many Hotels have pool openings during the day from 8-17, maybe until 19:00 which makes it almost impossible to enjoy if you are there due to business. Taj Bengal has seemed to understand that issue. The service at the pool (it was already dark at about 20:00) was excellent, we were served our drinks at/in the pool and could enjoy the evening.
This was one of the best Hotels I have ever stay at, #2 for our Tour in India only slightly behind Ananda in the Himalayas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajmer, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went to the Chinoiserie for lunch with family. Good ambience and good food and very friendly service. The space however is a bit tight, ie too many tables in a small space. However the staff make you feel very comfortable and prompt serving. Great variety of food and drinks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

One of the best property from Taj. It is definetly our quick getaway whenever the pressure of city gets a little too much. Excellent Service, right from the moment you step in , small little touches that shows they really care - there are spectacles wipes placed right after the security check, coz cal is so humid and spectacles gets foggy the moment you step in, a box of popcorn and soda drink comes with every movie video you order, small things but so very thoughtful.
If you get a chance of stay on the club floor, do spend some time in the club lounge. I could spend days reading sunk into one of the many leather couches - simply heaven.

Special mention to the staff, they are by far the very best, across all Taj & most of the 5 start property we have stayed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SURAT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is the Best Hotel of Taj Group for Food and Service.Cleanliness of Room are very good, Food service in restaurant as well as in room dining are also good.
We feel that Taj Group Hotel Barack fast quality may be improved , there are scope to improve the same.

Room Tip: No choice all the room are city view, no meaning of Pool side view Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taj Bengal Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Bengal Kolkata

Address: 34B,Belvedere Road | Alipore, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700027, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Bengal Kolkata 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Bengal, designed by the legendary Bob Fox, stands as an elegant Kolkata landmark. It is in close proximity to the commercial centre, Government Offices and Consulates, and must-see sights like the Victoria Memorial, Royal Calcutta Race Course, Horticulture Gardens, National Library and the Zoological Gardens. Iconic host to Heads of State, dignitaries and international business head-honchos, it is geared to the needs of the global business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Taj Bengal Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Bengal Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Taj Bengal Hotel Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Bengal Kolkata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.