We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Special !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Bengal Kolkata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Bengal Kolkata to your Saves list
Taj Bengal Kolkata
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34B,Belvedere Road | Alipore, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700027, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas & NewYear Offer
Ranked #5 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Always Special !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I met my husband at the Taj bengal Kolkata , so it is very close to me .. our recent visit last month was even more beautiful as we are man and wife now and the staff made it more romantic by sending such flowers and goodies in our room after we disclosed the above fact ... the rooms are great, the salon is amazing with super good staff...

Overall its the most special and warm Taj Properties have witnessed so far...

Room Tip: Room # 424 is one of their best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    210
    34
    12
    6
See reviews for
112
100
122
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

this hotel is one of the most luxirious hotel in kolkata. absolutely royal architecture plus awesome bengali food, in particular paturi fish alu poshto. absolutely amazing. i would recommend this hotel to all my collegues going to kolkats. let me tell you that this hotel being 5* has reasonable rates. The rooms were absolutely good and the room service is also up to mark. I am sure that your stay will also bring you once again if u travel to kolkata

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Even though we stay in Kolkata, my wife and I had checked into this hotel for our wedding anniversary. The rooms are average, so to say. However, the service makes up for everything. I had an upset tummy and they went out of their way to provide me medicine late at night. Room service was very good (we didn't want to venture down to the restaurants!) Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very good hotel , grand lobby, cosy room, tasty food. Overall a memorable stay. As i was part of a big group staying in that hotel, I would explore it well going to each and every corner with confidence.

Only thing which I didnt like was view from the room. Its not the fault of Taj Bengal, its because of The Bengal.

Infront of the hotel there is Zoo, which is not worth to spend time. One can take taxi and go to Victoria Memorial from there.

Overall I would recommend to stay in that hotel if you are looking for High end hotels in Kolkata.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Having stayed here a few times, I know what makes me like this one - its is hexagonal layout and some grandoise chandeliers!

ofcourse there's the renowned Taj Service and hospitality, the hotel staff would always 'welcome you back', the staff at the coffee shop would greet you by name! The pool and gym are good too.

Being in bengal, it serves some great misti dahi, delicious kebabs and good food overall. The rooms are good but i felt it they could have been some what larger..It's good value for money for an opportunity to stay at a Taj

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Taj Bengal lived up to its name of excellent service, warm smiles and a helpful hand at any time. The Breakfast spread was delicious, with a wide range of Indian and international cuisine, especially the mediterranean spread.
The rooms were comfortable with all standard modern amenities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I got a very good value for money. The spa benefits are really great.

Room Tip: They welcome you specially.The airport drop off was in a Jaguar...dream come true.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Bengal Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Bengal Kolkata

Address: 34B,Belvedere Road | Alipore, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700027, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Bengal Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Bengal, designed by the legendary Bob Fox, stands as an elegant Kolkata landmark. It is in close proximity to the commercial centre, Government Offices and Consulates, and must-see sights like the Victoria Memorial, Royal Calcutta Race Course, Horticulture Gardens, National Library and the Zoological Gardens. Iconic host to Heads of State, dignitaries and international business head-honchos, it is geared to the needs of the global business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Bengal Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Bengal Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Taj Bengal Hotel Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Bengal Kolkata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.