We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid four star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ITC Sonar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ITC Sonar to your Saves list
ITC Sonar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   JBS Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd night free
Ranked #2 of 196 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A solid four star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

A tale of two halfs for me because I stayed at the hotel on business for a week and then travelled to Mumbai before coming back to the hotel for a second week.

The first week was exceptional, good service and an airport pick up on the house (which is great if you leave the Kolkata International Terminal because you get hounded by every man and his dog for money). The staff were friendly and could not do enough to help. The novelty of eating indian style breakfast was also interesting (for the first few days)!

The location is not very central for the city but perfect if you are working in Sector V (Salt Lake) so a plus or minus depending on your reason for travel.

The second week however was much different, the hotel managed to mess up the airport pick up which meant me queueing for some time in the pre-paid taxi cab (essential if you want to afford being ripped off by over-zealous taxi drivers). I was paying almost double the room rate but was given a room half the size of the first week. The sink was blocked and none of the condiments had been refreshed.

To be fair once I mentioned this to the duty manager he couldn't do enough to improve my stay so upgraded me to a bigger room (the same size as the first week) and through in a few beers on the house which was a nice touch!

I do agree with some of the previous guests comments in terms of the breakfast being similar each day - not much in the way of western food so I ended up skipping breakfast on some occassions (even though it came with the room rate).

Also the hotel car booking system is a nightmare - you have to book at the front desk the night before but do expect at least twice a week for your booking to have gone missing only for you to argue with the drivers in the morning about the fact that you need to get to work and they should have a car ready! Again not a problem in Europe but no car to work here can spell an hour delay as you battle with the taxi drivers on direction of travel and fare!

Stay here if you prefer standardised business hotels that cater for your needs and have friendly staff - try the Park (Street) Hotel if you want a more central location with a trendier feel!

This is a 5 star hotel (just) but I do wonder who it would fare in a more competitive city like Mumbai/Dehli.

One absolute positive is the choice and standard of restaurants - you have six to chose from and all are between 8 and 10 out of 10! Great service and fantastic food (if a little on the expensive side).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
Dear our Valued Reviewer

Greetings from ITC Sonar,Kolkata!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor. I understand you had a less comforting stay on your second visit to Sonar.Your feedback is very much appreciated in order for us to review our products and services so that the next time you stay with us, we will be able to provide you with a more distinctive and enriching experience.

On behalf of ITC Sonar, we look forward to welcoming you back to our warmth and indigenous hospitality in the near future.

Warmest regards from ITC Sonar

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    215
    45
    19
    14
See reviews for
98
73
106
617
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

Amazing hotel - The room interiors are plush and ornate. Quite different from the other ITC hotels in terms of room interiors. I had stayed only for a night however the lucknow / awadh food menu available adds on to the amazing experience....The only negative point is that it is far from the airport - I would say about 45 mins - 1 hour. However the hotel is amazing both in terms of looks and service.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
Dear our valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the encouraging feedback. It’s always a pleasure to know that the services delivered by us were up to your expectations. ITC-Welcomgroup has been synonymous with Indian hospitality and epitomizes the concept of each of its Properties being indigenous to the local culture of the region. Also, there is extensive use of terracotta throughout the hotel both exterior and interior in the form of statues and figures. The unique and distinctive value of operating excellence and exemplary architecture that the ITC Hotels are associated with has been widely acknowledged by business travelers across the world. It is the same sense of hospitality that the group seeks to bring to Kolkata through ITC Sonar, a hotel that has been created keeping the spirit and the ethos of the city in mind. For the convenience and comfort of our guests from the hustle & bustle, Sonar is located 20 minutes away from the heart of the city.

Warmest regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

hi,
had checked into itc kolakata rrcently. Was impressed with the property .
Food was good but didnt enjoy the breakfast buffet not much of variety, tried out itc buffet in other cities which were better.
Bathrooms were not upto the mark had to get the housekeeping to clean it once again.. really sad. shower caps were rusted and had to be cleaned. imagine me getting it cleaned by the staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, December 4, 2010
Dear our valued Reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor. I sincerely regret your reported experience. We request you to treat this as an isolated incident, as it is not representative of our usual standards. We truly value your patronage, and would request you to give us another opportunity to reinstate our credibility. We have shared your feedback with the ITC Sonar team who is committed to ensuring that no effort is spared to give our valuable customers a great experience.

On behalf of the Sonar family, we look forward to welcoming you back .

Warmest regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

This is one of the most beautiful property, you can find in Kolkata. The location is a bit far from the heart of city "park street", however this provides a lot of calm and peace in the surroundings. They have beautiful interiors and awesome exteriors as well. Loved to have a walk, early in the morning inside the property.
Food is also great and the staff is very friendly and co-operative.
"Dublin" was a great fun and enjoyed the ambiance a lot there with the great booze and music.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Dear our valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the lovely feedback. For the convenience of our guests, we are located 20 minutes from the heart of the city as well as the airport, which keeps our guests away from the hustle and bustle yet connected to the city. Sonar is arguably the first business resort in the country. A resort in the urban context- one that has the efficiency of a business hotel yet the feet-up-feel of a resort. An upscale, world class, Asia’s best business Hotel set amidst resort surroundings. A fine fusion of functionality and creativity in an aggregated best location. One that is a consonance with ITC Hotels’ ethos of reflecting “rooted in soil” but dynamic in form and philosophy.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Sonar, your home in the ‘ City of Joy ‘.


Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

The in house restaurant serves a wide range north Indian and other typical Indian delicacies. At the Pan Asian restaurant, you can explore diverse culinary traditions such as Mongolia , Malaysia , Korea and Thailand . A well-equipped business centre along with conference and banqueting rooms are also available here. A refreshing swimming pool, tennis court and golf course are some of the recreation facilities at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
Dear our valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the exemplary feedback. ITC Sonar is the ultimate business getaway – the first ‘Business Resort’ in the country. Exemplifying this term, this is a place that has all the trappings of a business hotel, along with the ‘feet-up-feel’ of a resort. Kaya Kalp- The Spa at ITC Sonar gives an opportunity to break away from the monotony of work and savour the varied pleasures of life. Our Spa is beautifully laid out as a separate block and is part of pristine gardens and lush greenery, overlooking water bodies to enhance the Spa experience with quietude and tranquility.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sonar family.

Warmest regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

A very good hotle i ever stayed. Little away from traffic noices, congestions and crowd. A very silent hotel with good staff and facilities. Good hospitality and care by the staff. Very spacious and clean and green environment. A nice place for get together and family outing

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Dear our valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the lovely feedback. For the convenience our guests, we are located 20 minutes from the heart of the city and the airport, which keeps our guests away from the hustle and bustle yet connected to the city. Sonar is ITC-Welcomgroup’s getaway in the east, this is where traditional values and a modern format come together in a seamless amalgamation of visually pleasing design. Planned as India’s very first business resort, it captures the essence of Kolkata through its greenery and water gardens, full of floating water lilies.

On behalf of the Sonar family, we look forward to welcoming you back to our warmth and indigenous hospitality in the near future

Warmest regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

we have booked this hotel for business purpose for 2 nights perfect for office conference with all the facilities video conferencing and highly trained banquet team to help you
fantastic design ultimate luxury place, dont miss the food from Peshawari authentic pathani experience.
Dublin Pub perfect place for night out and enjoying drink.

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, December 1, 2010
Dear our valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the appreciative note. The décor of the hotel offers an uncluttered minimalist style, totally eastern in concept. Large stone sculptures and carved friezes, reminiscent of the ancient Pala Dynasty of Bengal are strategically located in the lobby and reception area. The local reverence for the culinary arts is seen through its six premium restaurants. ITC Sonar has a range of superb banqueting areas that offer facilities second to none in the city. The state of the art business center caters to the needs of global business travelers, for whom this is a favoured location for board meetings and conferences.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sonar, your home in Kolkata.

Warmest regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ITC Sonar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Sonar

Address: JBS Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Sonar 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your ITC Sonar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Itc Hotel Kolkata
ITC Sonar India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ITC Sonar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.