We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ITC Sonar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added ITC Sonar to your Saves list
ITC Sonar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   JBS Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Limited Period Offer.
Ranked #2 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

One of the better hotels in Kolkata with a nice natural ambience at reasonable rates. Strategically located on the main arterial road stretching from the airport into the heart of the city of joy. The recreation of Bengal countryside scenes (lotus ponds, shoals of fish, locally available trees) is a big plus and proves to be relaxing to a weary traveller.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recommendation and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

ITC Sonar has a distinctively sleek contemporary architectural design contrasting with the rich historical essence of Kolkata. The hotel is nestled amidst acres of land, resplendent with greenery, sunshine, and water. This five-star Business Resort is en route from the airport and a 15 minute drive from the city centre. It is a Business Resort in the urban context, one that has the efficiency of a business hotel yet the feet-up-feel of a resort.

We deeply value your patronage and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    195
    38
    19
    11
See reviews for
89
58
102
568
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roorkee, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Responsible Luxury... truly. Awesome ambiance, Awesome food.One of best properties I have stayed in . Excellent hospitality , lovely food & good service . The hotel ambience gives a very relaxing experience . The lotus blooming on the artificial ponds and a walk through them with scores of fishes swimming in them is just awesome

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel.

ITC Sonar is built as a Business Resort in the urban context, one that has the efficiency of a business hotel yet the feet-up-feel of a resort. Being consonance with ITC Hotels’ ethos of reflecting “rooted in soil” but dynamic in form and philosophy, ITC Sonar pays tribute to the beauty of Bengal through its unique landscapes.

We appreciate your recommendation on our ambience, food, service and hospitability.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Itc sonar is a good hotel when i entered the hotel my room was full neat and tidy the bathroom had all the facilities that it should have the rooms space was good enough the pool was very good the length i think so will be 50m the the pool is quite relaxing i had no problem in the hotel the food was awesome the service was good and in time the people that work there are very polite and not at all rude....
It was a good experience staying in itc sonar..!! :)

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note that you had a comfortable stay at the hotel.

We deeply appreciate your comment on our rooms, services and the swimming pool. We do hope you had the opportunity to experience our other facilities – the internationally acclaimed signature restaurants as well as Kaya Kalp our award winning Spa.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back at ITC Sonar.

Warm regards,
Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This time the hotel was blooming with flowers all around. Credit goes to Mr Pankaj and his dedicated team. Mr. Atul Bhalla, the new general manger, could be seen every where with his charming smile. The food and caring staff makes you feel that you are in your own home.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note that you had a comfortable stay with us.

We deeply appreciate your kind words of praise. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

One of best properties I have stayed in . Excellent hospitality , lovely food & good service . The hotel ambience gives a very relaxing experience . The lotus blooming on the artificial ponds and a walk through them with scores of fishes swimming in them is just awesome.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking the lotus ponds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. Being ‘rooted to the soil’ and highly influenced by the local history and culture, ITC Sonar pays tribute to beauty of Bengal through its unique landscaping.

We are delighted to note that you had a comfortable stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Truly a majestic hotel in ITC tradition and a glorious addition to City of Joy. Impressive building, Elegant setting & interior and befitting traditional bengali flavour right from wide verandah style corridor to lotus filled pond almost coming live out of Legendary Tagore's story plot.
The room is plush, luxury defined. ITC penchant for detailing and endevor to provide luxury experience is evident in each and everything. The rooms have rich granitre, marble and wood interiors, the line are upmarket and traditional, and the bath towels are physical delight. The night basket contains all chosen aroma which is bound to get you into a delicate and deep sleep immediately.
The restaurants are good. The menus offers a rich variety and has some homely dishes like "Ghughuni" etc to remind you of rick bengali heritage. The staff is courteous and you are treated as "real valued one". A must experience in true ITC tradition.

Room Tip: Any room as the interior itself is engaging enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note that you had a comfortable stay at the hotel.

The story behind the ITC Sonar is compelling – Bengal being the inspiration and ITC Sonar, a tribute to the City of Joy.

We deeply appreciate your comment on our rooms, services, food and amenities. We do hope you had the opportunity to experience our award winning Kaya Kalp- The Spa.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back at ITC Sonar.

Warmest regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vellore, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were out to Kolkata for our cousin's wedding, and had a blast during our stay at ITC Sonar! The ambiance was blissful - from the setup of the room to the nice corridors to the fish in the pond and the beautiful lotus that bloom early in the morning and shut in the hot sun. It had pretty much everything one would expect from a star hotel - courteous staff going out of the way to ensure their guests are well taken care of.

That being said, there were a few minor ticks:
- There was a recurring problem with our room's door: it failed to lock itself even when we took the key out. The staff were prompt to come and check the lock with their equipment, and all was fine by then. I guess it was a temporary malfunction.
- The pool, albeit very nice and clean was right beside the new building they were constructing. it sort of kills the peace in the neighbourhood. Again, I'm sure this wouldn't be a worry once that construction is done.
- There isn't a direct link to the Pala hall from the rooms through the first floor; so it's just a little round about that you need to go down to the ground floor, and go up again to the hall.
- The food was excellent in variety and quality (even for vegetarians). But at the end of three days there, my wife and I landed up with upset stomachs (maybe that was a longer run from the week of travel that we did).

In all, it's definitely recommended for anyone wishing to have quality service. :D

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have noted your comments, especially for the detailed observations that you have made. While your appreciation has been valued, we have also noted with great concern the areas you have highlighted for improvement.

The adjoining construction site is of the new ITC Hotel property in Kolkata. Together with ITC Sonar, both the hotels will offer Kolkata superlative standards in accommodation and an unprecedented choice of Food & Beverage offering in restaurants and conference venues. Combined with our Spa, it will be the ultimate destination of the Luxury global traveler.

At ITC Sonar, we give paramount importance to our guests’ safety. Our security experts are committed to provide the highest level of security to our guests while maintaining the luxury and comfort that comes with our brand. With extensive professional training and years of experience, our security management has painstakingly ensured that not an inch of our property goes unguarded. Our protective measures are manifold, with various security features stationed at every possible area of guest contact. We regret the inconvenience caused to you unwittingly due to our stringent safety measures.

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ITC Sonar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Sonar

Address: JBS Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Sonar 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your ITC Sonar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Itc Hotel Kolkata
ITC Sonar India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ITC Sonar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.