We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 days in Kolkata” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ITC Sonar

Save Saved
You added ITC Sonar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ITC Sonar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   JBS Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free
Ranked #2 of 189 hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“5 days in Kolkata”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights while attending a conference in the city. The hotel was wonderful, with most helpful and pleasant staff, always willing to please and oblige. We ate in 3 of the restaurants and were not disappointed in either. The breakfast buffet was one of the best. Kolkata is not a place to wander around and explore on ones own. The hotel is a special haven in this extraordinary city with its widespread poverty for all to see. Thoroughly recommend the hotel, would stay there again.

Room Tip: There is a new hotel being built nearby. A room with view over the hotel gardens would be preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to note that you had a comfortable and pleasant stay at the hotel.

ITC Sonar’s kernel is food & beverage and our restaurants are internationally acclaimed cuisines. We take great pride in our breakfast, it has a wide array of international delicacies on offer with various live and interactive stations to order and is the most extensive offering in the city.

Thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    499
    175
    32
    16
    10
See reviews for
78
47
98
499
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baroda
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I visited Kolkata on my official tour and stayed in ITC for two nights. It was an wonderful experience with surroundings full of water and lotus in between. I have not experienced such beautiful surroundings earlier. Hospitality was excellent. Experience inside room was unique .I still remember the breakfast dishes which were really tasty.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Northern wing is advised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We deeply appreciate your kind words and thank you for your recommendation. Built as a business resort, the hotel pays tribute to the beauty of Bengal through its unique landscaping.

Hope ITC Sonar remains your preferred address for all your future visits.

Warmest regards,
Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

On 10th of December, we had an event at ITC Sonar and it turned out to be extremely successful and very well organized by the hotel.

We would like to take this opportunity to compliment and commend the excellent service accorded to our event. Real credit to all the team members for being very attentive, polite and everything ran very smoothly. The waiting staff served the meal very efficiently, and it was piping hot and absolutely delicious.

The compliments that have been received on your staff’s courteousness and the excellent food that your chefs prepared for the occasion have been numerous. Would like to compliment the hotel authorities for their tireless effort to make the event a big success.

We are very delighted to take the decision of choosing to organize the event at your wonderful hotel. Thank you for helping to make the event a huge success. Hope to receive such service always with your hotel. We would have no hesitation in using your services again or recommending your hotel. Wish you all the very best for the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We deeply appreciate your kind words of praise and recommendation. Feedback such as yours encourages us to excel further and we are delighted to learn that we have been able to surpass your expectation in service and food & beverage offerings.

Warm regards,
Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I have great experience of Grand treatment and professional service on my friend Ajmera son
If you can effort do it they can manage any no of guest. .Great service and many food counter
and on time service. we went all the way from Gujarat to attend.

Room Tip: All rooms are well placed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to learn that your event was a grand success and deeply appreciate your recommendation.

Warm regards,
Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel is a great haven away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre.

However, make sure your taxi driver from the airport knows where it is - Science City is a good nearby location to ask for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. ITC Sonar located opposite to one of the largest auditorium in the city, is also a short drive from the airport as well as twenty minutes away from major shopping destinations and business districts of Kolkata.

We deeply appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back in all your future visits

Warm regards,
Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandipur, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We had a short stay on our tour to Assam and we were amazed as to how this property was run. Clockwork and above all Service to the guest. Their culinary experience is out of this world. The choice of menu at Dum Pukht was so rare and the Food servered there was such a high Quality.

Room Tip: Choose Dum Pukht for Dinner... You wont Forget the Magic that they cook there. Their signature dish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recommendation and for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We deeply appreciate your comment on our signature restaurant Dum Pukht which serves not just a cuisine, but an experience that goes beyond mere satisfaction of appetite to the realm of sensuality: an evocative presentation of aromas, flavors and textures that pays tribute to an appreciation of the finer things in life to become A Grand Cuisine.

We would recommend you to experience our award winning signature restaurants Peshawri which offers Robust Flavours of North West Frontier, Pan Asian which offers Flavours of East Asia and West View Bar & Grill an international Grill Room in your future visits.

Warm regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The ITC Sonar Bangla Sheraton and Towers is one of my regular haunts when I'm visiting kolkata on shorts business trips or even a two day trip with the spouse. Its one of the few hotels with all the 7 ITC Sheraton restaurants. Do try the West View bar & Grill - great continental food. And there's Pan Asian, Bukhara and Dum pukht. Food is exceptional in all.

One of the highlights of this hotel is that it has absolutely '0' carbon footprint - infact the first hotel in India with such an achievement. The rooms are also very cosy and the beds are by far the best among most hotels i've stayed in - which is quite something. Sprawling lounges and great art by Sanjoy Bhattacharya makes this quite a favourite hotel of mine. If you have to stay over the weekend, do definitely try the Sunday brunch at the Eden Pavilion. Can recommend it to anyone without missing a beat.

Room Tip: choose rooms overlooking the entrance of the hotel - you'll have sprawling views of the country...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay at ITC Sonar and thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.

ITC Sonar is the first hotel in the world to be registered under UNFCCC FOR its CDM project on reduction of CO2 emission and is a LEED certified hotel, we thank you for appreciating our energy conservation initiatives.

Being rooted to the soil, the hotel pays tribute to the beauty of Bengal, Food has been a long standing friend of Bengal, it has also been the soul of ITC Hotels’, whose food brands, such as Dum Pukht offering the Grand Cuisine of India and Peshawri presenting the Robust Flavors of North West Frontier have become little signatures on lips around the world

Your recommendation is deeply valued and we look forward to welcoming you back in your future visits.

Warm regards,
Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ITC Sonar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Sonar

Address: JBS Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Sonar 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Otel, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your ITC Sonar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Itc Hotel Kolkata
ITC Sonar India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ITC Sonar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.