We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ITC Sonar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ITC Sonar to your Saves list
ITC Sonar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   JBS Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd night free
Ranked #2 of 196 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
1 review
“Best Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

While you are at work or even on family trip and want to give a least attention to choose your BEST stay option among the top 5 star properties at Kolkata, ITC Sonar is the best one.
I started to stay some of the other 5 star hotels near Park Street area in beginning of my business trips however after visiting ITC Sonar this go changed to this particular place since last 1 and half years. Overall for me, this is one of the best place to stay across other India properties.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor. We
delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience with us. Whether you
stay with us on business or on leisure, we offer distinct facilities that
will help you make the most of your visit. The greatest luxury for
discerning guests like you is time and our service design has been
innovatively worked out accordingly.

Look forward to your next stay with us.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    215
    45
    19
    14
See reviews for
98
73
106
616
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Lovely hotel, arrived late and check in was smooth, rooms are modern, large and clean.

Indian restaurant within the hotel was excellent, some of the best food i have had in India, the Chef visited our table, nice touch.

If i come back to Calcutta this is where i will be staying, i am a big fan of ITC properties in India.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the encouraging comment. Your feedback would indeed motivate
us in our endeavor to achieve greater levels of guest satisfaction. At ITC
Sonar, apart from showcasing award winning cuisines, we also offer a
complete getaway to relax your senses at Kaya Kalp – The Spa. To enhance
your stay further we offer Welcom-e-Concierge Online Service, wherein your
preferences are noted in advance to personalize your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Kolkata & ITC Sonar

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

While I only stayed here one night during a very busy business trip, I did get to appreciate how nice this hotel is. Very luxury and very high end. The ammenities in the room were wonderful. Great shower, comfy bed, nice sitting area, you can't ask for much more in a hotel.

Staff a the desk seemed a little confused when my group checked-in, but all got worked out with a little bit of extra time. So I really can't complain too much. Check-out took a little long to as their credit machine was slow and took some time confirming our charge cards. But these are very minor complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for your kind note. ITC Sonar is arguably the finest “Business
resort” in the country and we look forward to welcoming you back. The
greatest luxury for discerning guests like you is time and our service
design, which has been innovatively worked out accordingly. Also, amidst
the ambience of seclusion and luxury lies Kaya Kalp – The Spa at ITC Sonar,
offering a delightful retreat from the pressing modern world. Our Spa works
towards creating a perfect harmony between the mind, body and soul.

Look forward to your next stay with us.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, West Bengal, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Spent a night at ITC, had hosted a business event of around 1200 employees. In a city like kolkata, ITC Sonar is possibly the only hotel that is capable to cater to a crowd like that as if it were just 200. Everything seemed as smooth as possible. Everyone from the security personnel to the Food and beverage manager took personal ownership of the event and made sure it all went well. They stole the thinking part from our end which made the event enjoyable for all the organisers as well. Mr. Muckth Dograa made visits with his team of Gautam and Aurkopriya along with security heads ahead of the event to make sure all is in place and do some last minute crisis management. The food was good and there was not much that was needed to be done from our end for the event itself. Our company felt of ITC as an extended family.

There is nothing that needs to be mentioned about the stay at the hotel. It is simply the best in Kolkata and for a while this home felt more comfortable than my own home.

Thanks ITC

Love
Ankur

Room Tip: Ask for the pond facing or sunderbans facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for your warm appreciation of ITC Sonar, known as the finest business resort in the country. At ITC Sonar, we endeavor to inculcate a culture of “care” and we are happy to know that the team rose to the occasion & lived up to your expectation. We have conveyed your kind appreciation to respective team members. It is feedback such as this, which motivates the team to excel.

Look forward to your next stay at ITC Sonar.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Recently during one of my business trips, I went to Kolkatta and stayed at this hotel. The approach to this hotel from airport didn't inspired confidence given the ongoing construction work in front of the hotel. But the moment you are inside, its different world altogether. The staff is very courteous and looks for opportunities to serve you. The pond inside the hotel has big fishes and they are beautiful. Evening buffet was excellent and you are spoiled for choices. Only point of disappoint was when we had to wait for 5-7 minutes in front of Concierge for someone to show and give our luggage.

All in all, it was a nice experience. looking forward to more visits to this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor and away from the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor. Designed by awarded Architects Kerry Hill of Singapore, ITC Sonar is a business destination with a difference. With regard to the construction work near the hotel, this is a signal of progressive urban development & is a temporary phase. We assure you access around the area will be soon be swifter and smoother. . Your feedback has certainly been considered for us to evaluate our service to ensure a positive and superior experience in the future.

On behalf of the ITC Sonar family, we look forward to welcoming you back to our warmth and indigenous hospitality in the near future.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I spent 2 nights at the start of my trip to bhutan and two more days at the end at this place. It took me just 20 minutes to get there from the airport which is really fast for calcutta.

I really enjoyed the huge rooms. They don't looked like standard rooms, even a massage seat was in it and all other comfort you could expect. A huge bed and the beautiful decoration in green and neutral tones completed the room. The bathroom with the rain forest shower and molton brown cosmetics was excellent for me.

All of the employees were really polite and very helpful to me. I also enjoyed fine choice of restaurants including two traditional restaurants with great bengal food. In summary: a perfect hotel for my business trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for your patronage. We are pleased to learn that you had an enriching and distinctive experience while staying at ITC Sonar and that our team looked after you very well. Our staff is trained to provide exemplary and personalized service to ensure “Home away from home” experience. It is the appreciation of our guests that works as a motivation to strive for better. At ITC Sonar, we offer an array of award winning cuisines, catering to all tastes - ranging from Peshawri, that brings robust flavours of the North West Frontier & Dum Pukht, showcasing ' The Grand Cuisine of India ' to West View Bar & Grill .Pan Asian showcases the Flavours of East Asia. We also offer the Welcom-e-Concierge Online Service Initiative, wherein your preferences are noted in an endeavor to personalize your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Unlike the not so clean Kolkatta, ITC Sonar is an island of beauty and benevolence. Ample water, intermittent fountains, colourful lotus and marine life in this lake hotel make all the difference. The staff is courteous and literally spoil you with their attention. My wife and I spent our new year eve in Princess Suite which has a spacious hall, bed room, balcony opening to the lake, bath tub and hygiene spa. Well furnished rooms, two TVs, Message Chair and other amenities provide an excellent setting for any celebration. Food in Coffee shop was really good. Excellent swimming pool and spa take you to a different level of comfort. Mr. Urbish Dutta of Conceriege takes care of your local travel, pick up and drop without fail and with a great deal of courtesy.Mr. Anupam Dasgupta, G.M of the hotel is wise and caring. Though we felt the happy hours experience could have been better, the overall rating was certainly excellent.

Room Tip: It is advisable to ask for a room at higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the wonderful note. ITC Sonar is committed to provide world class services supported by courteous & efficient staff.
ITC Sonar is a tribute to the city of Joy- a historical richness of culture coursed through with an irrepressible love of poetry and music, complemented by a tempered inclination for refinement.
Set in an enchanting expanse of beautifully designed gardenscapes with over a million trees and gentle water bodies dotted with water lilies complemented by the artful minimalism of the hotel’s architecture, ITC Sonar offers an unusually leisurely environment for a 5 star luxury business hotel, in Kolkata.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ITC Sonar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Sonar

Address: JBS Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Sonar 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your ITC Sonar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Itc Hotel Kolkata
ITC Sonar India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ITC Sonar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.