We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price. Good location ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Fortuna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Fortuna to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Fortuna
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   234/1, A. J. C. Bose Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
lancaster
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth the price. Good location ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed there to attend a friends wedding. Very good location. Clean rooms and clean linen. Clean toilets as well. They only serve vegetarian food. Well stocked mini bar. Indian beverages. But good enough. Friendly staff. If not anything, is totally recommend it or its location.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa F, Manager at Hotel Casa Fortuna, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at our hotel in Kolkata and sharing your experience on this public platform.

Centrally located, Hotel Casa Fortuna offers easy access to the major landmarks of the city where guests can enjoy a range of world-class amenities and flawless service. It is a delight to know that you found our upkeep, location, facilities and service upto the mark. Your special appreciation of our vegetarian restaurant, Casa Kitchen, has been duly conveyed to the team in the kitchen and they are overjoyed to receive your kind words of praise.

We thank you for your review and recommendation. We would indeed consider it an honor to have you with us again.

Warm Regards
Kaustubh Das
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    57
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
25
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

On a business trip hence did not check room beforehand. Was given a room with a sweet smell, was told it was a freshener. Smell stays on in the room for more than a couple of hours and my throat starts burning. Post that I complain and two people come to spray more freshener which does not vaporize the sweet smell.
Later when the smell becomes uncontrollable I check that there is pest control which is done in the room and hence the smell does not go. Post that I go and yell at the reception . Room is changed but entire night sleep is gone for a toss in the melee.
Manager calls in the night apologizing but nowhere to be seen during checkout.
Better options available at a decent price. Avoid if possible.

Room Tip: If you have booked check the rooms before you confirm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa F, Manager at Hotel Casa Fortuna, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

With reference to your feedback, it is indeed saddening for us to learn that you have been disturbed by the aromatic compounds that we had used. In the same note, let us mention that there was no pest control done in the designated room, as per our records. We had used Lia Lime Aroma, as Lime aromas are the most popular ones. We also wish to mention and acknowledge that we definitely do regular pest control and sanitization of our Hotel at scheduled timings for the hygiene and safety of our guests, which undoubtedly could be disturbing at times. Our uniform service standards and guest-oriented approach has actually made us a value-for-money hotel and courtesy feedback of all our guests, which are inclusive of appreciation and critics has made to thrive better by the day.

We once again heartily apologize for the discomfort that you had, and we assure you that we would make good during your next visit and stay with us.

Thanking you.

Warm Regards,
Kaustubh Das
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed here for four days last month. First of all,the service was fast and courteous. I have no complaints there. They usually took care of things quite quickly and without any problems.

The rooms, however, were very small. There was very little walking space in the rooms. It was comfortable though. The bathrooms had hot showers and other amenities. The room, despite being small, had free WiFi, decent mini bar, safe and other useful stuff.

We had breakfast buffet at their restaurant. I was slightly disappointed at first because it's vegetarian only. That was put to rest though by the tasty food. Their dosa was absolutely wonderful. The dhokla and alu dam were also great.

Other than the small size of the room, I have nothing else to complain about.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa F, Manager at Hotel Casa Fortuna, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent family trip to Kolkata and for sharing your personal experience here on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that our services and amenities fell at par with your expectations, although we regret that you were not impressed with the size of our guest rooms. Being a city centric hotel it is our great pleasure to inform you that Hotel Casa Fortuna has been built within the parameters of spaces available while all measures have been taken to build the rooms to modern standards of guest requirements. We are happy that you enjoyed all the in-room amenities and the assistance from our staff during your stay with us at Hotel Casa Fortuna.

We would also like to inform you that Casa Kitchen is a complete vegetarian restaurant serving multiple cuisines and dishes to satisfy the varied palates of our discerning guests. The culinary team here takes a step beyond while creating the myriad of tastes & flavors and offers an exceptional dining experience to both the resident guests and locals, alike. We are delighted that we did not fall short of your expectations here and that you enjoyed several options such as the dosa and dhokla.

Thank you once again for sharing your review with us. We would indeed consider it an honor to welcome you again at our hotel in Kolkata.

Warm Regards
Kaustubh Das
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My stay at Casa Fortuna was really bad from the very start . When i came to check in it took almost half hour to allot a room of my choice. The room was very small and i had difficulties as i was there with my family . Casa kitchen was the only dinning option that is available in the hotel and it is completely vegetarian . There is bar section in the hotel where you also have no choice of premium drinks. I am very choosy when it comes to selecting my drinks & it was not available. The main reason for choosing this hotel was its location and i heard that it is a very new upcoming but that is something which was not true to my experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Casa Fortuna, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback offered on Trip Advisor.

We have noted your areas of concern and would only wish to intimate that the Hotel

is a city-centric location with modern amenities and ambience that suits the discerned

travelers. The room sizes are as per standards of the current day guest requirements

for a City centric location, in addition to the spread out breakfast and Wi-Fi that comes

alongwith the Room. We are also happy to intimate here that we hover around the

concept of ‘Vegetus’ and are positioned as Best Boutique Vegetarian Hotel of Kolkata,

which in itself has brought us accolades. Our Restaurant ‘Casa Kitchen – Restaurant &

Bar has been awarded “Telegraph Food Guide Award for Best Vegetarian Restaurant

2013”.

We offer our guests the most premium choices in Wines & Spirits viz: Johnny Walker

Blue Lable, Royal Salute, Chivas Regal in the Super Deluxe Scotch category; Hennessey

in Cognac; Campari, Cointreau, Sambuca, Baileys in Flavored Spirits; Jameson in Irish

Whisky; Grey Goose & Absolut in Imported Vodka; Gordon’s & Beefeater in Imported

Gin; Jose Cuervo Tequila; Glenfiddich, Glenlivet, Glenmorangie and many more in

Single Malt; and amongst Wines we serve Harvey’s Bristol Cream Sherry, Moet &

Chandon Champagne, Longchamp Blanc & Rouge, Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, Adet

Seward Rose and many more brands to reckon with.

It is indeed unfortunate for us that inspite of so many premium brands from our

offerings, you could not get one which could meet your requirements.

We are happy to learn that you are a connoisseur of Wine & Spirits and we thereby

request you to send in your co-ordinates to our email at cfh@casafortunahotel.com;

along with the Guest name,check-in and check-out details. We are sorry to intimate here

that since you have used Alphanumeric User ID, we are not able to locate your details in

our guest history and validate the feedback on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to hearing from you please.

Yours truly,

Kaustubh Das

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

With its good location it is a perfect choice especially for business travellers, a comfortable, neat & clean Hotel.. I stayed here for two nights & have not any complaint regarding service or food quality …. all was Ok. Rooms are small but almost soundproof for good sleep after a busy day. Nice modern bathrooms with wooden flooring.
On a busy road so parking is a problem but you can get park your vehicle easily in next TATA showroom building.
Nice welcome at reception with mock tail, one feel fresh after this … no waiting time to get your room key. Good room service with smiling faces so can say it was a nice stay with CF.
Would recommend to others for sure.

Room Tip: In room dining & restaurant serves only vegetarian cuisines .... !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Casa Fortuna, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We express our gratitude for opting to stay at our hotel and for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Your words of appraise elates our spirits and encourages us to consistently endeavor for even better standards of hospitality.

Hotel Casa Fortuna is a centrally located hotel in Kolkata that provides easy access to various cultural, commercial and political hub of the city. The convenient location of the hotel is complemented with our warm hospitality, galore of amenities and a wide variety of vegetarian delicacies at Casa Kitchen. It delights us to note that you had pleasant experience at our hotel and were fully satisfied with our services and amenities.

We appreciate your recommendation and thank you for your support and patronage. We would indeed consider it an honor to welcome you again at our hotel in Kolkata.

Warm Regards,
Kaustubh Das
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I am very satisfied my choice in Hotel Casa Fortuna.

All hotel managers & staff are all friendly like stay in a big family.

Hotel office manager Das is always attentive with detail considers stand on guest's view and provided immediately professional & valued added service.

1. Car service for city tour included itinerary plan

2. Restaurant: European & local food are authentic

3. Room service: clean and warmly and well-equipped

4. Reception desk: careful

5. I'd like to recommend to my friends and will come again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Casa Fortuna, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your patronage and your inspiring review that has elated the spirit of the entire team.

Centrally located, Casa Fortuna Hotel is a sought after boutique hotel in Kolkata. It is our objective to accommodate all the needs of our patrons and we are pleased to note that we succeeded in our endeavor. We are glad to know that you had a par excellence stay and found our service, amenities and dining options at Casa Kitchen more than satisfactory.

We thank you again for your recommendation and will be honored to serve you on your next trip to Kolkata.

Best Regards,

Warm Regards,
Kaustubh Das
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

From the time we booked this hotel based on TA reviews, the hotel didn't fail to impress us. We contacted the hotel via email upon booking for information on transport, food, currency, tour and other matters, for which their manager Mr. KD have been very prompt in replying. He also gave few good suggestions to make our tour better. Check-in was a breeze with Mr. KD personally welcoming us. Everything was tip-top, courteous and well coordinated. Comfortable rooms, we love the hot shower in the monsoon season, clean environment with hardly anything to complain.

Their in-house Casa Kitchen serves very good food for breakfast, as well as dinner. Being vegetarian restaurant doesn't limit them in creativity. Food were served fresh, tasty and staff are attentive.

Another manager, Mr. Dinesh deserves our gratitude and compliment for his assistance in touring the (infamous) Kalighat Kali Temple, which is known to rip off unsuspecting tourists like us. He followed us throughout, guided us to the temple, and even arranged for special entrance to the main sanctum through his contacts. The trip was good with him around.

Overall, this is the best hotel mid-range hotel we've stayed in India, with excellent staffs, who go the extra mile to help you. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Casa Fortuna, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for giving us an opportunity to host you at our boutique hotel in Kolkata. It was a privilege serving you and your appreciating feedback has doubled our happiness.

Hotel Casa Fortuna is one of the sought-after hotels in Kolkata that provides impeccable hospitality, tailored service and world-class amenities. We are glad that you were impressed by our offerings and had a hassle-free sojourn right from the starting. Your appreciation has not only made us happy but also inspired the whole team to up the level of their performance. We are also delighted to learn about your pleasant dining experience at our vegetarian restaurant, Casa Kitchen.

We thank you again for honoring us with your patronage and recommending our hotel on this prestigious forum. We hope you would soon give us the pleasure of hosting you again.

Warm Regards,
Kaustubh Das
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Fortuna

Address: 234/1, A. J. C. Bose Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Fortuna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to introduce ourselves as one of the most modern boutique hotels, which is purely vegetarian, situated right in the heart of the city. It is what today’s customer is looking for and we are fully confident that our hotel will be the perfect choice at any time of the year to have a relaxing holiday or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Fortuna India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.