We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet, clean, modern boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Fortuna

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Fortuna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Fortuna
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   234/1, A. J. C. Bose Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 190 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sweet, clean, modern boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

New to Kolkata so have no clue about it's location but the hotel is very clean, compact room with modern bathroom and door key entry system. Food in restaurant is very good, staff very friendly. Internet has been very sketchy, still working on getting it to stay on as I type, but it's complementary so not too frustrating.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Casa Fortuna, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is great to have such nice words about our hotel on the public platform like TripAdvisor. We are glad to have hosted you during your first trip to the City of Joy. It is nice to know that you had a pleasant stay at Hotel Casa Fortuna and our services were at par with your expectations. We express gratitude for your acknowledgment of our services & amenities, comfortable rooms, cleanliness and food quality. Complimentary Wi-Fi makes us a preferred option among discerning business travelers. We assure you that your feedback about our internet connectivity has been noted.

Thank you for the review and give us an opportunity to serve you again.

Warm Regards,
Kaustubh Das
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    51
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
22
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Foothills, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Casa Fortuna has only been open for one year and there is no doubt that it will become one of the top choices in Kolkata. The rooms are very comfortable with ample space and nice bedding. The staff at the hotel are very accommodating and friendly. Overall, this hotel is a great value - you will not go wrong in choosing the Casa Fortuna while staying in Kolkata!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Casa Fortuna, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
The entire team at Casa Fortuna joins hands with me in thanking you for your feedback. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. Centrally located, we take pride in our state of the art amenities and superlative standard of service and a review like yours is testimony to us being on the right track.
We once again thank you for your custom and thank you for your recommendation.

Warm Regards,
Kaustubh Das
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

this is a good hotel.
rooms are small cosy and comfortable.
no bath-tub/closets. bathrooms are clean.
b'fast service is good, items included are tasty. hot and fresh served.
good cost-comfort ratio.
highly recommended for budget visitors.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Casa Fortuna, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Casa Fortuna and sharing your experience with us. We are glad to learn that our services and amenities were with par with your expectations.

Our team is dedicated and makes every effort to provide a perfect stay experience and your kind words are inspiring. Besides being centrally located, we guarantee you the comfort of a pleasant stay combined with unmatched hospitality, efficient service and scrumptious meals.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Kolkata.

Warm Regards,
Kaustubh Das
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A well furnished Hotel, best suited for business travellers.

Positives

- Excellent service
- Very modern styling, room setting, impeccable bathrooms, Full Wall size windows in the room, for a broad view & open feeling
- Very Neat & Clean
- Pure vegetarian food.. & good quality food.
- Very courteous staff indeed.
- 5 Minutes walk to Rabindra Sadan Metro Station
- Perfect for a business traveller who wants basics in place + Free Wi-fi + well Placed.
- For Morning walkers, the green area of Kolkata (its Lungs) & the Victoria Memorial are a 5- 10 mins walk.

Negatives
- Rooms are a tad smaller, incase you want to spend longer time in the hotel room. (around 90 - 100 sq ft)
- Although All Glass wall gives an excellent feeling initially, but after 2 days... a person wants to open up a window in the morning for some fresh air.. BUT YOU CANNOT, as these are fixed !

Good value for money, in short.

Room Tip: All rooms have full wall glass, so all should be almost similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Casa Fortuna, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear R Jain,

Thank you for the review.
We thank you for sharing your experience with us. Hotel Casa Fortuna is a business hotel located in the centre of Kolkata’s business district. At the property, we pride ourselves with our service, cleanliness and food quality. In short, we are a perfect accommodation for discerning business travelers with free Wi-Fi, central location, clean-rooms and glass windows to allow the early morning sun.

Once again, thank you for choosing us. We look forward to host you again.

Warm Regards,
Kaustubh Das
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have no complaints. This hotel met all of our expectations for the price we paid. Everything was clean, modern and comfortable. It is definitely geared towards the business crowd, but it was also perfect for us on our holiday. The location is great because the Forum shopping mall is down the street and it is was easy enough to walk around downtown, take the metro (about 10 min walk), or catch a cab to any Kolkata tourist destination. We also paid 350 Rs for a ride to the hotel from Howrah train station and only 400 Rs to get to the airport when we departed. The only downside is that we sometimes noticed the noise from AJC Bose Road, but it wasn’t too bad and car horns are pretty much a problem everywhere in India anyway.

Also, because the hotel is rather new many cabs did not know where to go and get it confused with the Fortune Hotel. Insist that the hotel is on AJC Bose Road near the Hindusthan International Hotel, on the corner of Woodburn Park Road across from The Flying Monk restaurant. The Forum Shopping Mall is a good landmark because it is on Elgin Road near the corner of Woodburn Park which connects you back to AJC Bose and the hotel. It is a very short walk (5 min.) or drive to the hotel from The Forum mall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Casa Fortuna, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Casa Fortuna and sharing your feedback with us on this public forum. We are glad to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and our services were with par with your expectations.

We regret the inconvenience caused due to noise from outside the property. However let us assure you that the structure is built on the technology which is 90% sound-proof. We once again thank you for your custom and look forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards,
Kaustubh Das
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

1)We were in Kolkata for a week, and stopped over at the Hotel Casa Fortuna. . It was a very impressive hotel and our check-in went very smoothly. The lady who attended to us was very helpful The staff were very friendly and courteous and they went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Nothing was too much trouble for them and for us the level of service struck just the right balance. We had a lovely room which was very comfortable. The beds were a good size and very nice and comfy.


The rooms are quiet and nicely appointed. We were pleasantly surprised at the purely vegetarian buffet breakfast spread which has some mouth watering delicacies which we thoroughly enjoyed.


The hotel is located in the heart of the city in close proximity to all places of interest, sightseeing and entertainment which was most convenient, as well as the shopping malls, this kept the ladies in or group very happy ! Indeed the hotel is very very conveniently placed. This hotel is my first choice when staying in Kolkata ! . We are now looking forward to booking a return visit later in the year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Casa Fortuna, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Dhruv,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Casa Fortuna and sharing your positive feedback. Our team is dedicated and makes every effort to provide a perfect stay experience and your kind words are an acknowledgement of your efforts. Besides being centrally located, we guarantee you the comfort of a pleasant stay combined with unmatched hospitality, efficient service and scrumptious meals.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Kolkata.

Warm Regards,
Kaustubh Das
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Hotel is centrally located. Rooms are well decorated and clean with all basic ammenities.

It is one of the rare fully Veg Hotel in Kolkata. Foods are excellent and also the staff.

It is value for Money.

Room Tip: 2nd Fllorr rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Casa Fortuna, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guest during your recent visit to the city. We deeply appreciate and thank you for posting a review. Hotel Casa Fortuna besides being centrally located guarantees you the comfort of a good stay complete with all amenities. Our unmatched hospitality, including efficient staff and delicious meals, are meant to give our guests value for money and an experience that will stay fresh in their minds for a long time.

We thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Warm Regards,
Kaustubh Das
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Fortuna

Address: 234/1, A. J. C. Bose Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#16 Best Value Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Fortuna 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to introduce ourselves as one of the most modern boutique hotels, which is purely vegetarian, situated right in the heart of the city. It is what today’s customer is looking for and we are fully confident that our hotel will be the perfect choice at any time of the year to have a relaxing holiday or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Casa Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Fortuna India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.