We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet meat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Girish Ch Dey & Nakur Ch Nandy

Girish Ch Dey & Nakur Ch Nandy
56, Ramdulal Sarkar Street | Hedua Park, Near Hatibagan, Kolkata (Calcutta), India
+91-9432494423
Website
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sweet meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Bengali sweet meat shop. A must to try their .'sandesh' Though located at hedua tank, near collage street. If you are a sweet lover then a must must visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    57
    20
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A must for all sweet lovers...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Born and brought up in North Kolkata and just 1 mins from Nakur's sweet shop is a huge advantage for me......from a very young age I have been a huge fan of Nakur's variety of sandesh. For me and my family it a must for all ceremonies and parties.
When ever there is any new introduction of any new sandesh I am always there. Prasanta da one of the owner and a familiar face used to always send me new samples and would take my opinion. But with the suddden death of prosanto da....Nakur suffered a shock but again gradually its back with the new additions.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Mouth watering Sweets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

No doubt its one of the best Sweet Shop in Kolkata. You will get all the sweets of best quality and if you like chocolate try the Chocochips sandesh , they have 3-4 variety in chocolates .

Please do not include the sweet shop in restaurent .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Sweet after Sweat......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Yes, Kolkata visit is incomplete if you don't visit this one. DONT MISS.

Very Hard to locate the shop, but everyone helps you find it :) and GPS helped but we had to sweat it out to get here.

Look is traditional, the flavors are subtle, quality is top notch, and they have a distinctive 'not-too-sweet' taste. This place has got something special...... Heavily recommended everywhere, and so you make it a point to visit, and then it is not easy to locate. Once you reach here and you get the feeling of - oh, this is a just a old century sweet shop.

Wait till your taste buds give you the final verdict. And they will thank you a zillion. I don't have a sweet tooth and ended up eating 7 varieties of Sondesh.

This is the place. Every single variety of Sondesh is mouth watering and very tasty

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pride of Kolkata”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

It is said "IF YOU VISIT KOLKATA AND DIDN'T HAD SANDESH THAT MEAN YOU DIDN'T WENT TO KOLKATA" and if this is true than GCD&NCN is the place which truely reflects our Kolkata culture.... Try it's butter scotch and chocolate sandesh which is out if this world...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Girish Ch Dey & Nakur Ch Nandy also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 

Been to Girish Ch Dey & Nakur Ch Nandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Girish Ch Dey & Nakur Ch Nandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.