We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bhammar's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bhammar's Inn to your Saves list
Bhammar's Inn
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   13 A, Dover Road | Ballygunge Circular Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700019, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I used this during a business trip. So the requirement was simple: good room, clean bathroom, AC, TV, breakfast, and wi fi.

This inn satisfied these requirements. It was surprising to find that they charge Rs. 75 for the wi-fi .. but I thought that was okay considering that the wi-fi signal was strong and the speed was fast.

In-house food is simple vegetarian, and breakfast is served in the room.

Location is easy to find as long as you carry a smart phone with google maps. Else its a problem.

Easy connectivity via taxi to the rest of the city

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
3
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is an average hotel and good for very short stays.The hotel is hard to locate.Above all the staff would not do anything till they are paid additionaly.
They will keep standing at your door.You should stay here if you have work near Ballygunge.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

It was pleasant to stay in this hotel. Most of the things in this hotel is restrictive in nature.
Food choices are limited. The Taxi driver finds it difficult to reach there. There are not much street side eating joints within walking distance. The reception has a narrow lane from the main road.
Specially while travelling with family, this needs to be taken care of.
But the conduct of the hotel manager & owner makes the hotel worthy of appreciation.
Positives abt this hotel,Tidy , Quiet & soothing. Staffs make sure-you feel at home.
For business travellers on long stay plan, must visit this hotel.
Remember to instruct taxi driver as Ballyganj Circular Road

Room Tip: Try 2nd floor. Top floor has resturaunt & kitchen adjoining
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The hotel was hygienically maintained, room was clean at the time of check-in including the bedsheet and towels.

Hotel allowed early check-in, which was a big positive for me as I reached Kolkata quite early in the morning.

Entrance is not so good through a small lane.

The following were not working:
AC Remote
TV Remote
Cable TV

Bathroom was not very cleanly maintained.

Did not try the food at hotel but the choice was very limited (restricted to veg food only - does not serve even eggs)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
393 reviews 393 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
398 helpful votes 398 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

we have been just at this hotel for 11 days straight, 6 persons; three rooms; three from USA and three from Europe. We are very happy. Mr Amit Minni is the manager and does an excellent job with his hotel, with guests and with the hotel and staff itself. He ran interference so many times helping us over the cellular phone with taxis drivers for directions, finding local restaurants, advising about the cyclone storm and costs of tours and guides etc. etc.

The hotel is in a nice and safe neighborhood, where high rises are going up all around and nice walking area near, Homeopathic shop, chemist, market with fruit and vegetables, approx 2 miles to Park Street and a short walk to chai wallas, gelato stand, coffee shops, restaurants, and of course there is the great hotel restaurant of Pure Veg that will work to develop any meal you want with proper encouragement and direction.

The smallest rooms 1500 rps, are the smallest and upgrading to the 1800 rps rooms is well worth it as at least twice as much space is offered. All ac, fans, tvs (great cable system available), wifi, outlets and room amenities work well. The rooms are clean, and hotel has been renovated recently under new ownership...all sheets, bedding, towels are changed on request. the hotel is actually off the street and could be difficult to find as not much signage to the street...though with an address it is easy to find. It is very quiet though...not much street noise.

We were kept in Calcutta due to cyclone and stayed with the manager and cook for our duration in Calcutta. We also went into town Park Street etc, and visited Blue Sky Cafe on Sudder Street, Mokombo and Peter Cat Restaurants on Park Street. Red Chilli Pepper Chinese nearby and Ganges Restaurants on Dover Road near to the hotel, and Coffee Day nearby, and Barista coffee, on Park and near Hogg Market for coffee.

We also went Pandling during Durga Puja for the 4 days and nights in the area. We had a wonderful time

Thank you Bhammers Inn for helping and making our visit memorable

Blessings Kriya Yoga Group

Room Tip: go with the 1800 rupee room your get way more room especially if you share it with another person
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We tried reserving a room online through their website but when we arrived they had no record of this. They had no rooms left of the type we had requested so upgraded so for no extra cost for the duration of our stay.

Room was very clean and spacious and had hot water. We ate breakfast and 1 dinner at the hot which were both fairly cheap and tasty.

Within walking distance to other restaurants and only a short taxi ride to Victoria Memorial and other attractions. Also close to South City Mall.

Only downside is taxi drivers really struggled to know where the place was. None were familiar with Dover Road so we had to direct them fr Ballygunge Circular Road each time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed in Bhammars Inn copule of weeks back and my feedback on the stay is positive. Its not a hotel by its construction but a renovated portion of a building converted to a guest house with few rooms. Its a bit old & upscale locality and very close to places like Gariahat and can be reached by walk. While reaching here by taxi, first timers will be having difficulty in finding it as the hotel is located in a by-lane at the middle of Dover Road. There is a kitched with attached dining facilty serving Indian vegetarian food and room service option is availale. Food quality is good. Please note that there is no lift, also the taxi cant reach to the doorstep of the hotel and you need to take cab driver's help if you have lot of luggages. Howover the staffs are cooperative. Recommended for single traveler for short stay.

Room Tip: Cheapest rooms are not that good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bhammar's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhammar's Inn

Address: 13 A, Dover Road | Ballygunge Circular Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700019, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bhammar's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s our great privilege to intimate you that we have opened a GUEST HOUSE in the name as "BHAMMAR'S INN" “homely by nature” at the heart of the city, the "City of Joy" "KOLKATA". Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, stay with us to discover the magic of difference. We at Bhammar's Inn are amide to make your stay an affair to remember, indeed memorable. The guesthouse offers the perfect environment for travelers from all over the world who search for modernity and an atmosphere that is clean, comfortable, secure and restful. Our Professional and friendly staff are committed to ensuring that your stay is both enjoyable and comfortable.We would like to inform you that we have 11 AC Double bed room, with modern facility such as:-Wi-Fi internet access in all the RoomsCable Television, Multichannel color LCD "99 channels"TelephoneAir-conditioningCeiling FanWork DeskBedside LampsPrivate Bathrooms with curtained shower areaComplimentary soap, shampoo, & fresh towels in the bathroomLaundry & Dry CleaningMini Fridge (available in the Executive Room Only)Our check out time is 12.00 Noon.We have a VEG- Restaurant for In House services.We accept all Card (visa/master). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Bhammar's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhammar's Inn India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bhammar's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.