We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Homely & Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NIPS Service Apartment

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added NIPS Service Apartment to your Saves list
NIPS Service Apartment
EC- 98 Sector 1, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700064, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 196 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Bhubaneswar, India
1 review
“Very Homely & Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our 2nd visit to NIPS Guest House, and we will be looking to visit here again.The people are very friendly and helpful,which gives homely feeling and peaceful.Its near salt lake city center so traveling was easy too.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Murshidabad, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in that guest house several times.I enjoyed my stay to its fullest.Room,Food and behavior of the staff everything was so homely yet professional.I will definitely recommend others those who are looking for budgeted hotels in kolkata.This is my message to the NIPS Guest house staff members,You are on right track,Please keep going.Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was therefor five days for my office trip. The service was excellent and behavior of the staffs are SMILEY and obedient . whatever I have asked anything the staffs were found always at my service with friendly yet professional attitude. The taste of the food was like homely cooked and served hot with the appropriate presentation.I like the place and I will surely come again. I would also recommend for others those who like to stay in their 2nd home.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are quiet, having more space and airy. Try to stay on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for couple of days and it was a wonderful experience. Staffs are very much courteous and friendly. No matter what time it is, they are always available for the service that you want with a smile on their face. The location is very much accessible from places like airport etc. And last but not the least all these comes within your budget which is the most important thing. In a single sentence stay in a homely environment without spending too much.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Good value for money. The room was good, only it requires a fresh coat of paint in room no 102. Breakfast was good. Friendly attendants.The reception room requires to be bit bigger. I stayed for two days and the place was clean esp the dinning hall was good enough.Recommended for people who are travelling budget.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durgapur, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

To begin with, I would say this is one of the best hotels in vicinity of City Centre. Just 200 metres from City Centre, it provides you value for your money with good rooms and quality food!!!
Enjoyed my stay there with the comfort of home standards. Friendly atmospheres, quality services, respecting staff make sure that I'll come here again.
NIPS provides a good ambiance, overall smoothing experience for a traveler who are looking to stay in Salt Lake. The rooms are spacious , bathroom are quiet clean, provides complementary wifi as well as a delicious Continental breakfast in the morning, I really had a great stay in this hotel and won’t mind recommending it to others,So friends enjoy your stays there and feel the experience they provide!!

Room Tip: “choose a room on the 1st floor since there is no lift.”
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I happened to stay at NIPS Service Apartment at their Salt Lake branch twice in May 2014 and June 2014 for the business trip. First things first- Location- This place is located in salt Lake area, relatively close to the airport (45 min approx, INR 225 by non air conditioned pre paid taxi from Airport) .away from the main tourist attractions of the city so unless you have some business in this area, staying in this location is not advisable. Connectivity to the downtown by public transport barring taxies is a problem.Be ready to shell out at least INR 220-250 one-way to the downtown ( Esplanade, Park Street etc.) But on the plus side, close to the location there is ongoing construction of Salt Lake City Centre Metro Station. On its completion the connectivity to the rest of the city will be less of a problem. The location is close to the Salt Lake City Centre Mall and it acts as a good landmark to locate the area. Property lacks the most basic thing and that is a proper SIGNBOARD! Instead that all they have is a paper printed with just EC-98 and pasted on the door! Locating it on your first visit is a nightmare unless you remember that EC-98 is the number of your desired building! Neighborhood is mainly residential and has almost empty streets at night so safety can be a question here especially late in the night so common sense should prevail!
Ok, now about the property itself. Rooms- I stayed in a room on second floor and in my second visit stayed in the room on the ground floor. The room on the second floor was nice, spacious, quiet and clean. However the room on the ground floor was noisy being located next to the kitchen. While the beds were hard and not the most comfortable but were very clean. Bathroom was clean with clean towels. They don't give you toiletries, instead there is a liquid hand wash dispenser and a body wash cum shampoo cum face wash dispenser! Its weird, I've never seen such a multipurpose concoction before. Bathrooms have individual geysers which is really a nice feature. The AC was not powerful enough and was struggling to cool the room, was old (read noisy, without temp setting function) and obviously without remote control, with manually adjusted knobs. Electric kettle was good during my first visit but was smelly in the second visit so had to request for a replacement. TV was nonfunctional in my room on my second visit , i came to know this after coming back from busy day of work at around 10.30 -11 pm, on calling the reception desk no one was available and call was not even answered and no one was even visible in the lobby of in and around dining area, strange!- so was left with no option but to sleep!
This property doesn't have its restaurant but their cook prepares the food on order. rates are reasonable. Food, continental breakfast was delicious. Full marks. I must mention the caretaker Mr. Saha is very helpful and cooperative and is genuinely interested in helping the guests. Overall for the price ( Approx INR 2500 a night with breakfast) its definitely recommended for a budget conscious business traveler.

Room Tip: Choose the room on the higher floor first or second those are quiet (But beware there is No lift)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NIPS2014, Manager at NIPS Service Apartment, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Sir,
It was indeed, a pleasure to have you with us during your recent visit to Kolkata and I take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us. I have noted your specific feedback and I request you to please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.
We truly value your opinions and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
Please do feel free to write to me directly when you are ready to plan your next trip to Kolkata in order for me to personally ensure that you have a seamless and a memorable stay with us.
We value your patronage and we look forward to an opportunity to serve you better in the near future.
Thanks & Regards,
Pradyut Saha
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NIPS Service Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NIPS Service Apartment

Address: EC- 98 Sector 1, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700064, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your NIPS Service Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NIPS Service Apartment India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NIPS Service Apartment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.