We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro by the Park

Bistro by the Park
2A, Middleton Row, Kolkata-71 | Near Loreto College, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700071, India
033-22296494
Improve this listing
Ranked #527 of 2,857 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Cuisines: Italian, Indian, Thai, Continental, Burmese
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I was hanging around Park street with my wife when we decided to have a bite. It was about 4 in the evening so we weren't in the mood for a big meal. We came across this joint on Middleton Row and decided to give it a try. The place has a nice laid back feel about it and is something of a cross between a lounge and coffee shop. The first thing that tells you this place is a little hi-fi is the i-Pads which show you the menu. They have a decent spread of the continental menu and the portions seemed ok as far as I was concerned. I ordered a thin crust pizza and my wife ordered a burger. I was also pleasantly surprised to find that Hoegaarden was available here. The food was good and the service was good as well. The prices are definitely on the higher side when it comes to other restaurants in Kolkata. I will not say I will go back but on the other hand I'm not in a hurry to do that as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    21
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good continental fare: but definitely overpriced!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Located off Park Street, you might want to give this place a miss as from outside is not much to look at! I went in to dine on a weekday at around 8-ish. Though there were tables free in the ground floor, the waiters ushered us to section above. It was empty and dimly sit and the ceiling is so low that an average height individual had to crawl in to get to the table. My husband is a little over 6 feet , so you can imagine the horrible first impression you get in a fine dining restaurant. We felt almost claustrophobic out there. Anyway, we requested the manager for a seat below and it was promptly changed. The menu come in i-pads though we ordered off Christmas Special pamphlet on the table - Turkey Roast. The roast was fine and the portion size did make you feel it was indeed a fine dining restaurant! ;-) However I was surprised for the price they were charging they did not have complimentary breadrolls or breadrolls in the menu as a matter of fact! We ordered a ordered a portion of garlic bread which was absolutely delicious!! However, the brusell sprouts in the roast had a very bitter taste and it was sad to see that the batch was not tested or care was not taken to take out the harsh taste.

Final verdict: Go there if you are tired of the available continental options in Park Street and you have good money to spend! :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great option if staying at Park Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We ate there three times in three days, which is not our usual pattern when we travel. We headed there the first time based on a NY Times recommendation. The food was lovely and the service was great. We went back with others in our group when we couldn't get a reservation elsewhere. Everyone in the group enjoyed the food.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Great if pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The ipad menus are a cool touch and the whole atmosphere is relaxed and unimposingly European but the prices are rather steep for what one gets - one small snack plate of chicken sate on a bed of what seemed like edible polystyrene (!) plus a mocktail cost around 550Rs by the time the various taxes had been added.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“multicusine boutique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

small place further down the road to Peter Cat. walked in as other places were very crowded. To our surprise this turned out to be a gem. Great continental food. Quick and silent service. Decent ambiance. Overall a must try for all the foodies of Kolkata

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro by the Park also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 

Been to Bistro by the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro by the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.