We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Known Place in the Heart of South Kolkata” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Straits

Straits
105 S.P. Mukherjee Road | First Floor, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700026, India
91-33-24198604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 1,347 restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Malaysian, Nonya
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Little Known Place in the Heart of South Kolkata”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place serves South East Asian cuisine in a small but tending towards fine dining in the heart of South Kolkata. I came to know about this from Groupon and was pleasantly surprised. Food is excellent and service is also very good. Has a car parking too. It is near the Kalighat temple and devotees who feel hungry after the Darshan and want to enjoy good food in a clean ambiance must visit this place. Only negative is that it is on the first floor and without a lift one has to climb a long flight of stairs.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    12
    14
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Culinary extravaganza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Straits - one of the best restaurants i have been to in Kolkata. The ambience,decor,food - they excel in all these aspects. Their curries n crabs are to die for.

A must visit for people who want to experience a Malay/chinese/singaporean cuisine.

The place is a Gastronomical delight.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

good food ! prices are ok ... definitely not your "average" chinese restaurant , great service ... great mutton rendang .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Something New”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Straits offers a new cuisine to kolkata foodies and does not disappoint on any count. The variety of food, the taste factor and the service - exemplary. Singapore chilli crabs are a must try - nice big crabs in an yummy gravy. The food captures the essence of the malay region to a great extent. Try the different kinds of noodles as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Impressively authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I had been dying to go to place as I've practically lived on Malay curries for a good part of my last 5 years. I was extremely nervous as I was taking my parents and my brother-in-law along and they are a pretty tough crowd to please when it comes to experimenting with food. This was their first tryst with Malaysian food. And they loved it. And my cravings of 10 months had been satisfied. The waitperson pulled all strings to make it an amazing experience (though that maybe because we were a fairly jovial group). If you are nonvegetarian, try the Nyonya Chicken at all costs. Also try the sambal fish and let me know (that one is next on my list to try) - it should be good. The flavours are impressively authentic, considering South East Asian cuisine is a pretty new thing in India. If you go for a tofu dish, insist on the tofu being fried first as it is not paneer, it is TOFU, it is supposed to be harder than the paneer we're used to. It was a great evening. I will definitely be back. Once a couple of weeks if I can manage. The only disappointment was the ambience, as I was expecting a slightly fancier decor, and the absence of a bar menu.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Straits also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 

Been to Straits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Straits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.