We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally Located, Room for Improvement !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune Select Loudon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fortune Select Loudon to your Saves list
Fortune Select Loudon
21B,Dr.U N Brahmachari Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ideally Located, Room for Improvement !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This Hotel is located quite in the heart of the city & very close to Park Street. So ideal for Business traveller as well as those on Leisure trips.

The rooms are well appointed, very well maintained & quite comfortable.

Personally the Coffee shop "Zodiac" didn't impress me at all . . . If you are there just for b/f probably a good spread, but for dining, not recommended. Better walk down to Park Street & you will find a whole lot of options.

Even the Staff needs a lot of brushing up as far as Hospitality is concerned.

For the Money, I would try to find a few more options . . .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loudonKolkata, General Manager at Fortune Select Loudon, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at “Fortune Select Loudon” Kolkata and would like to thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and I hereby acknowledge your feedback . Our hotel location and proximity to the business houses and offices make it ideal choice for corporate and business travelers. Our endeavor is to offer excellent accommodation, food and prompt service to all our guests however I am truly concerned to know about your recent experience & observation for “ Zodiac” wherein we couldn’t meet up to your expectation and assure you that necessary measures has been taken accordingly to give all our valued guest their value for money with true spirit of hospitality.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to “Fortune Select Loudon” Kolkata.


Best Wishes,

Amitava Guha Thakurta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    68
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
22
8
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel has lovely and clean rooms. Room service, breakfast and restaurant is great. The hotel is also centrally located near park street and with easy access to public transport. I visited this place the second time during this year and have to say that hotel continues to remain well maintained. Bathrooms are also nice, big and clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loudonKolkata, General Manager at Fortune Select Loudon, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at “Fortune Select Loudon” Kolkata and would like to thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Our hotel location and proximity to the business houses and offices make it ideal choice for corporate & business travelers. Our endeavor is to offer excellent accommodation, food and prompt service to all our guests and is a true value for money. My team joins me in thanking you for your very generous words of appreciation for the hotel and its services. Such positive feedback goes a long way in motivating the team to achieve higher standards of service excellence.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to “Fortune Select Loudon” Kolkata.


Best Wishes,

Amitava Guha Thakurta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

On a short trip to the city, I wanted to be located close to Park Street, and this cosy little, refurbished hotel had a suprisingly good rate. The rooms and bathrooms were were new, minimalistic and comfortable. As little time was spent inside the hotel, this was all that was needed, but it means I did not have a chance to explore the restaurant/bar and general facilities.

On an important side note -- I had left behind a rather expensive piece of article after my stay. The housekeeping staff had retrieved it and logged it. After emailing the hotel a couple of days later, they were able to hand it over to a friend with the least amount of hassle and utmost co-operation, even though this could only be done close to midnight (due to my friend's travel plans). A wonderful epilogue to what was a pleasant stay at this establishment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loudonKolkata, General Manager at Fortune Select Loudon, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at “ Fortune Select Loudon” Kolkata and would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor.

My team and I are delighted to know that you enjoyed your short stay with us however couldn’t experience the other offered services which is equally good and could have delighted you. Your kind words of appreciation for the team go a long way in encouraging them. Our hotel location and proximity to the business houses and offices make it ideal choice for corporate & business traveler travelers. Our endeavor is to offer excellent accommodation, food and prompt service to all our guests and is a true value for money. My team and I feel privileged that you have considered writing this review.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to “Fortune Select Loudon” Kolkata.

Best Wishes,

Amitava Guha Thakurta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

this hotels rooms are lovely with comfort being perfect but could have better lighting in the rooms as they are quite dark at night and not to sound mean but some of the staff could do with more training I got the feeling that this was more of a business hotel and not used to tourist asking questions at one time I had words with a member of staff trying to point out some things that had happened when he just started talking to another member of staff but after I told him he was very rude things got better would I stay again yes because it was a very nice hotel good b/fast and in a good place for sightseeing

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loudonKolkata, General Manager at Fortune Select Loudon, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at “ Fortune Select Loudon” Kolkata recently and would like to thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are truly concerned with the lighting in room & also have noted the training aspect of staff member which could have been much more better. I have addressed the issue and assure you that such situation will never arise in future. Our hotel is ideally located to all business hubs and places of interest which becomes a first chose for all business or leisure travelers.

My team joins me in thanking you for your generous words for the hotel and its services..

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to “ Fortune Select Loudon” Kolkata .

Best Wishes,

Amitava Guha Thakurta

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was here in the month of October this year and stayed for 2days, At the onset worth mentioning is the hospitality, the staff were all very helpful and thorough. The room was ready and clean. The bed and the airconditioning comfortable. The amenities and the breakfast were both perfect. The location of the hotel too is a stone s throw away from Park Street which is considered to be the heart of Kolkata. The hotel offers good value for money for the guests. Would like to recommend others too for staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loudonKolkata, General Manager at Fortune Select Loudon, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at “ Fortune Select Loudon” Kolkata recently and would like to thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

My team joins me in thanking you for your very generous words of appreciation for the hotel and its services. Such positive feedback goes a long way in motivating them to achieve higher standards of service excellence.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to “ Fortune Select Loudon” Kolkata .

Best Wishes,

Amitava Guha Thakurta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed here for 8 nights at the beginning of October. (third floor). The room/ bed was very comfortable and clean. I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly, not sure why other people have commented differently. The amenities were great - nice exercise room, beautiful pool. The food was just okay, not sure how much was the food itself or me and the cultural differences from American food. I enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning, and found it to be well supplied with a great amount of choices. Downside, internet was not always reliable, and we were able to hear the music from the club downstairs at night. The location was fantastic, and the hotel security seemed very thorough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loudonKolkata, General Manager at Fortune Select Loudon, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at “Fortune Select Loudon” Kolkata. We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and for your words of appreciation.
Our hotel location and proximity to the business houses and offices make it ideal choice for corporate travelers. Our endeavor is to offer excellent accommodation, food and prompt service to all our guests and is a true value for money. My team and I feel privileged that you have considered writing this review.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to “Fortune Select Loudon” Kolkata.

Best Wishes,

Amitava Guha Thakurta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Last week did stay in this hotel for 2 nights. Property seems to be old and has been done up. Rooms are big, bathrooms are clean. A/c not very comfortable, at time has problems. Room serevice is just ok, you will get bearers who are very serious,with no smiles on their face, food quality is aveage. Buffet breakfeast has no much choice, idly and vada was not up to the mark. Tea served was just not hot enough. Slow service. If you go there at around 7 AM which is the opening of the restaurant there is nothing much available, you will find waiters running around preparing the buffet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loudonKolkata, General Manager at Fortune Select Loudon, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at “Fortune Select Loudon” Kolkata and thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor especially for the detailed observations that you have made and we have noted with great concern the areas you have highlighted for improvement. We have already addressed most of these issues and through our ongoing learning and training initiatives, have refocused on the same immediately.

I look forward to have you stay at Fortune Select Loudon on your return visit to Kolkata and I am sure you will have a delightful stay with us enjoying the best of the hospitality & warmth.

Your patronage is deeply valued and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Wishes,

Amitava Guha Thakurta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortune Select Loudon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Select Loudon

Address: 21B,Dr.U N Brahmachari Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#10 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#13 Best Value Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fortune Select Loudon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Select Loudon India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune Select Loudon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.