We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune Select Loudon

Save Saved
You added Fortune Select Loudon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fortune Select Loudon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21B,Dr.U N Brahmachari Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 189 hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed there for one night on business, room are good, but were noisy . The staff is courteous, Hotel is nothing extraordinary but O.K. for a business hotel. Location is very good and central. Price wise also reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loudonKolkata, General Manager at Fortune Select Loudon, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at “Fortune Select Loudon” Kolkata and would like to thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Being situated in the centre of the city we are in close proximity to all major business houses , shopping areas, historical monuments and hence is an excellent location to stay and is well equipped with facilities such as Swimming Pool, Fitness Centre, SPA .Shortly we are coming up with specialty restaurant and a Salon which will obviously give guest their value for money and luxury.

Once again thank you immensely for your valuable review and feedback . My team and I very much look forward to welcome you back to Kolkata and to “Fortune Select Loudon”.

Best Wishes,

Amitava GuhaThakurta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    64
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
21
9
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here in March'13 in the standard double room. Positive about most things...breakfast platter was very good, as was the room service and responsiveness. Very good location, close to park street etc...comfortable stay...

One negative : we had asked for a wake up call in the morning as we needed to catch a flight but didn't get any. not a biggie but such errors aren't expected in this category of hotels imo

Room tip : Try to ask for a room which faces the pool (and not the road) as it has a better view imo

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loudonKolkata, General Manager at Fortune Select Loudon, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at “Fortune Select Loudon” Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

My team and I are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and liked the breakfast platter along with the room & services. Being situated in the centre of the city we are in close proximity to all shopping areas and hence is an excellent location to stay. I thank you for your kind words of appreciation. I am concerned to know that your experience for the wakeup call service as I understand that the wakeup call you had requested was not delivered on time. I sincerely apologize regarding this matter, a complete departure from our standards. It was indeed a rare instance happened .

I once again thank you immensely for your valuable review and feedback as this help us further improve our services and achieve higher standards of excellence and guest satisfaction.

The team and I very much look forward to welcome you back to Kolkata and to “Fortune Select Loudon”.

Best Wishes,

Amitava GuhaThakurta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

There are plenty of hotels that don't live up to what's portrayed on their websites. Fortune Select Loudon isn't one of them. From the moment you arrive, this magnificent and unique hotel will mesmerize you with its striking concept and design, attention to detail, and outstanding service. It tops my list of hotels in Kolkata that I've stayed in.Anyone coming to Kolkata on business should check this new hotel out. It's fresh and modern, with great service, for the right price.Central location, clean rooms, excellent food quality. Guests will feel very comfortable.
With best regards
Tanmoy Majumdar

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loudonKolkata, General Manager at Fortune Select Loudon, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at “Fortune Select Loudon” Kolkata and would like to thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

My team and I are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us , I thank you for your kind words of appreciation.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to “Fortune Select Loudon” Kolkata.

Best Wishes

Amitava Guha Thakurta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

by far the best four star business hotel in kolkata. right in the middle of the business district of the city. interiors are plush and spanking new as the hotel recently underwent a renovation. what makes this hotel stand apart is the extremely courteous and efficient staff. hope they are able to maintain the high standards in the future as well.
The flipside is that it is a bit difficult to locate. the taxi drivers seem to know only the previous name of the hotel i.e "Raat Din". and nobody in the city will be able to tell you where UN Brahmachari Street is :-) you need to tell them the previous name of the road ie "Loudon Street" before they can guide you there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loudonKolkata, General Manager at Fortune Select Loudon, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at “Fortune Select Loudon” Kolkata and would like to thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

My team and I are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us . Being situated in the centre of the city we are in close proximity to all shopping areas and hence is an excellent location to stay. I thank you for your kind words of appreciation for our team.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes,

Amitava Guha Thakurta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good points:

Decent Hotel with a gym and decent breakfast spread and lunch buffett.

Had a great session at stretching after a work out with their Gym trainer - his name is Basuri - . If you are there at the gym - ask him to help you with body stretching exercises - just the best I have ever had after a workout.

Areas to improve:

Rooms are a bit dark.
Annoying classical music in corridors and at the lobby which could be at a much lower background volume.

Internet is complimentary for 2 hours (why 2 hours ?) but one needs to log in every 20 minutes which is annoying. At a business hotel - internet should be complimentary or a nominal charge in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loudonKolkata, General Manager at Fortune Select Loudon, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at “Fortune Select Loudon”, Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to know that overall you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your words of appreciation especially for the gym trainer.

I am concerned to note your feedback regarding the lighting in the room was bit dark along with the channel music which was bit loud for which please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience caused to you.

I thank you immensely for your valuable review and feedback as this help us further improve our services and achieve higher standards of excellence and guest satisfaction.

The team and I very much look forward to welcome you back to Kolkata and to “Fortune Select Loudon” on your return visit to India.

Best Wishes,

Amitava GuhaThakurta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

well, if you're here on business, its a nice hotel to get to...pretty much business like.
location : close to park street, some distance from the airport
rooms : as standard as you can get. with dimmers and light switches that look like buttons from the console of a spaceship, it can take you some time to get acquainted with their use. Somehow, throughout the hotel, i felt space was at a premium (the elevator could fit only like 3 folks)
facilities : free wifi for 2 hours!
food : average
staff : well mannered and helpful

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loudonKolkata, General Manager at Fortune Select Loudon, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at “Fortune Select Loudon”, Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to know that overall you have ranked us good business hotel and had a comfortable stay. I am concerned to note your feedback regarding the lighting panel in the room for which we have placed a instruction for its usage. Our guest lift capacity is 600 kgs , approximately can take 8/ 9 person at one time.

I thank you immensely for your valuable review and feedback as this help us further improve our services and achieve higher standards of excellence and guest satisfaction.

The team and I very much look forward to welcome you back to Kolkata and to “Fortune Select Loudon” on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes,

Amitava GuhaThakurta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel ambiance is very nice and its located somewhat centrally. The staff is very helpful and courteous. The rooms are spacious and offer all the amenities that one needs for a comfortable stay in a hotel away from home. The best thing was the availability of free wi-fi for 2 hours. This was amazing. A work desk and TV with a lot of channels was also cool. The food was quite good with a good variety. Overall the stay was good even though it was a short one. Thank you.

Room Tip: choose the room facing the hotel entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loudonKolkata, General Manager at Fortune Select Loudon, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,


It was a pleasure to have you stay at “Fortune Select Loudon” Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read your kind words of appreciation for our team and the facilities provided by the hotel including 2 hrs of complimentary internet. Such positive and encouraging feedback goes a long way in motivating us to achieve higher standards of excellence.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to “Fortune Select Loudon” on your return visit to Kolkata.


Best Wishes
Amitava GuhaThakurta

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fortune Select Loudon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Select Loudon

Address: 21B,Dr.U N Brahmachari Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#10 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortune Select Loudon 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Fortune Select Loudon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Select Loudon India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune Select Loudon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.