We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit for Kolkata visitors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oh! Calcutta

Oh! Calcutta
3rd Floor, Silver Arcade, 5 J.B.S. Halden Avenue | T-1, T-2 (EM Bypass), Kolkata (Calcutta) 700105, India
033 - 22517036
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 2,653 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Mumbai
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A must visit for Kolkata visitors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Typical Bengali spread which is not so popular among non-Bengali population.
Service is good.
However price could be little lower.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    47
    19
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
“Authentic Bengali Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I visited to this shop its very nice food i enjoyed the mango drink ans the sweets.
The environmental and cleanses is very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silchar, India
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Second to None”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Wonderful food, service, ambiance.
And the best part is you do not have to wait your turn sitting outside on plastic chairs. You go, eat, enjoy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Sad place for Vegetarians”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Everyone knows its famous for non-vegetarian food. But you don't expect 5-6 choice of vegetarian items in the complete list. Disappointed.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional Bengali cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The menu here consists of a lot of traditional Bengali food that my mother/grandmother/aunts made at home, during my childhood days in Kolkata. My favorites are: Cottage Cheese and Peas croquettes to start, followed by Shrimps cooked in green coconut shell (Daab Chingri), and Banana Flower vegetable (Mochar Ghanto), with rice, Pudina Paratha and Roasted Raw Mango Sherbet (Aam pora shorbot). For dessert we shared the Bhapa Sondesh (Paneer sweeted dish), and Ice Cream made with jaggery - each and every item was to die for and had amazing flavors, very well cooked, with no residual oils remaining on the plates or serving bowls. The shrimps are cooked and served in a green coconut shell and is a must have.
The service is amazing - definitely deserves a 5 star, they are at your table serving you, as soon as your plate is empty. The one starter, 2 entrees, and 2 desserts were more than enough for the 3 of us. I go there every year, once a year.
I have also heard that the menu items at the other branches in other cities are different and I can understand why - some of the dishes on here are very Bengali and may not appeal to everyone. But if you are looking for 5 star Bengali meal, this is the place to go :-)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oh! Calcutta also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 

Been to Oh! Calcutta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oh! Calcutta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.