We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sonnet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Sonnet to your Saves list
The Sonnet
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Block DD,Plot No. 08 | Sector 1, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700064, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was nice. When we got there seemed to be a mix up in the room in that we were initially told we only had a room for two people instead of the three people that I booked it for. As soon as I presented my Expedia itinerary with the number of adults we were upgraded to a suite. The suite was nice. It has an entirely separate living space that included a couch, some chairs and a TV. The other room, the bedroom also had a TV and so did the bathroom. The bathroom was really nice especially shower. It also had a tub. The room was great. The only disappointment was that the extra bed was simply a mattress put on the floor. It would have been nice to have a frame to make it a bed even if it were small. The breakfast was excellent and so was the buffet in the evening. I also used the fitness facility twice while I was there. Good machines and a trainer. The staff were very friendly and tried to really take care of us. For what we paid for it was very good. I would definitely stay here again the next time I stay in Kolkata.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajib R, General Manager at The Sonnet, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namashkar !

It gives us immense pleasure to know that The Sonnet Kolkata has been a true "Home away from home" for you. Many thanks for writing and sharing your honest feebacks.

My earnest apologies for the mixup and the inconvenience that you faced on Check In but I am happy to note and glad that my Team was able to sort it out to your satisfaction.
We feel proud and honoured when we see that our efforts have given our patrons pleasant recall & nice stories to share with their friends & loved ones, and on such travel and social platforms. We are truly happy that we have been successful in doing so, during your recent stay with us. I am also glad to inform you that " The Sonnet" Kolkata is now member of "Sterling Hotels" by International Hospitality Brand "Preferred Hotel Group" of USA. The Sonnet is the first PHG member in Eastern India and this association is one of our continuous and dynamic endeavours towards global benchmarking.

The Sonnet family assures you of the best services and hospitality at all times and shall wait patiently for you to return back and allow an opportunity to serve you again. I look forward to welcome you soon in the near future, at The Sonnet in the City of Joy. Be with us to experience Symphony in Harmony !!

Thanks & Regards,
Rajib Roy Choudhury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    97
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
24
16
14
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Clean, Neat and comfortable rooms, with minimalistic and modern furniture and decor. Lovely choice of lights. Enjoyed the reading lights by the bed side.

As all centrally A/C hotels was welcomed by an arctic condition room, chilled to 17 degrees, but the floor manager helped in bringing it down to 28, which took some time.

Breakfast was a decent spread with Bacon!! that was fun, but the south indian spread could be better.

Buffet lunch and dinner (part of the official workshop) was OK, especially the vegetarian spread. Fish was well done.

Room Tip: Ask and you shall be assisted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajib R, General Manager at The Sonnet, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namashkar !

It gives us immense pleasure to know that The Sonnet Kolkata has been a true "Home away from home" for you. Many thanks for writing and sharing your honest feebacks.

I have taken a very special note of your feedbacks on the Food & Beverage options on offer and we are working on upgradations and am sure that we would be able to meet your expectations with the new implementations.
We do feel very proud and honoured when we see that our efforts have given our patrons pleasant recall & nice stories to share with their friends & loved ones, and on such travel and social platforms. We are truly happy that we have been successful in doing so, during your recent stay with us. I am also glad to inform you that " The Sonnet" Kolkata is now member of "Sterling Hotels" by International Hospitality Brand "Preferred Hotel Group" of USA. The Sonnet is the first PHG member in Eastern India and this association is one of our continuous and dynamic endeavours towards global benchmarking.

The Sonnet family assures you of the best services and hospitality at all times and shall wait patiently for you to return back and allow an opportunity to serve you again. I look forward to welcome you soon in the near future, at The Sonnet in the City of Joy. Be with us to experience Symphony in Harmony !!

Thanks & Regards,
Rajib Roy Choudhury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great place! Excellent staff and a wonderful experience overall. The note that said ' if you have forgotten any essential items do not hesitate to call our reception and we will supplement it ' was genuine!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajib R, General Manager at The Sonnet, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namashkar !

It gives us immense pleasure to know that The Sonnet Kolkata has been a true "Home away from home" for you. Many thanks for writing and sharing your honest feebacks.

We feel proud and honoured when we see that our efforts have given our patrons pleasant recall & nice stories to share with their friends & loved ones, and on such travel and social platforms. We are truly happy that we have been successful in doing so, during your recent stay with us. I am also glad to inform you that " The Sonnet" Kolkata is now member of "Sterling Hotels" by International Hospitality Brand "Preferred Hotel Group" of USA. The Sonnet is the first PHG member in Eastern India and this association is one of our continuous and dynamic endeavours towards global benchmarking.

The Sonnet family assures you of the best services and hospitality at all times and shall wait patiently for you to return back and allow an opportunity to serve you again. I look forward to welcome you soon in the near future, at The Sonnet in the City of Joy. Be with us to experience Symphony in Harmony !!

Thanks & Regards,
Rajib Roy Choudhury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Nice,clean well maintained Hotel . Very warm & courteous staff, well groomed. Good spread @breakfast. Bathroom/shower fittings require some attention on maintainence...all in all good experience. Nice Bar .

Room Tip: Go for Club Room on higher Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajib R, General Manager at The Sonnet, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namashkar !

Thanks for taking out time to put in your honest comments. We thank you for your patronage of The Sonnet Kolkata and considering us as your preferred hotel during your recent visit to the city.

I have taken a note of all the appreciations and I am touched. I am glad that you had a good time at Unwine, the Lounge Bar at the hotel. But more concerned with your feedback about the bathroom/shower fittings... I assure you that upgradation measures are being implemented to give a fresh feel to all the rooms as well as the entire hotel to make each stay of yours....a comfortable, memorable and an exciting one, furnitures & fittings are being overhauled, the washroom amenities have been upgraded for better bath experience, complete set of new bath and bed linen have replaced the old, and many such more are being implemented; I take this opportunity to assure you that Your Hotel, The Sonnet Kolkata believes in the promise to serve with a deep rooted passion thus striving to ensure a paramount satisfaction for it's patrons. I am sure that in your next stay we would, once again be able to give you memories and pleasantries to share & cherish.

The Sonnet family truly believes in "Atithi Devo Bhaba" and imparting best of services, hospitality standards & benchmarks, thereby creating a Symphony in Harmony.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Sonnet very soon and my team shall go that extra mile to extend the Sonnet hospitality of "Poetry in Service".

Thanks & regards,
Rajib Roy Choudhury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Went there to have dinner .

The menu is extensive n has a good selection from different cuisines.

The only disappointment were the Buffet was cold .
Staffs are very friendly and helpful .
The atmosphere is casual and friendly

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was my second stay in the Sonnet Kolkata on my official tour. Although this Hotel is not in our Corporate Recommended list , I opted for it. This Hotel is also near to a Mall on a walkable distance so you can roam around if you wish to. The Rooms are decent . Average Size. The Best Part of this hotel is the Staff & The Pickup and Drop to the Office Daily which makes my life hassle free & Food. Staff is Very Very helpful in all ways. I keep travelling to Different Cities difficult to get such service. Food is also good. so overall Good property will excellent Service and its a Value for Money Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajib R, General Manager at The Sonnet, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namashkar !

It gives us immense pleasure to know that The Sonnet Kolkata has been a true "Home away from home" for you. Many thanks for writing and sharing your honest feebacks.

We feel proud and honoured when we see that our efforts have given our patrons pleasant recall & nice stories to share with their friends & loved ones, and on such travel and social platforms. We are truly happy that we have been successful in doing so, during your recent stay with us. I am also glad to inform you that " The Sonnet" Kolkata is now member of "Sterling Hotels" by International Hospitality Brand "Preferred Hotel Group" of USA. The Sonnet is the first PHG member in Eastern India and this association is one of our continuous and dynamic endeavours towards global benchmarking.

The Sonnet family assures you of the best services and hospitality at all times and shall wait patiently for you to return back and allow an opportunity to serve you again. I look forward to welcome you soon in the near future, at The Sonnet in the City of Joy. Be with us to experience Symphony in Harmony !!

Thanks & Regards,
Rajib Roy Choudhury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for the second time in 2014. My wife & I worked out our business stay in the Sonnet to be a decent experience after staying couple of days in January 2014. This visit was from 14 Jun to 2nd July 2014 in a Suite which we liked. Very quite, smokeless environment with decent daily suite cleaning by nice fellows.

Dining hall & breakfast time we loved the food and chat with people serving, all very decent souls & ever ready to help you. We had daily a good number of friends visiting us and having diner with us and in all occasions we got decent service. Food is nice but mostly Indian type but the choice is always big enough to satisfy guests of any background.

The location is good for business to be done in the Salt Lake area. The shops in the City Cent, is just 7 minutes walk. We found during June- July a lot of rain this year but it did not interrupt our daily office work we had to attend to.

I guess, parents with young children will be a bit restricted here as it does not have an enclosed kids play area. Apart from this it is very nice place to stay and we will visit the Sonnet again as we visit Kolkata

A. & N. Palit.
Melbourne- Australia.

Room Tip: All rooms on 5th Floor is smoke free this is a no-smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajib R, General Manager at The Sonnet, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namashkar !

My team joins me to thank you for taking out time to post your candid comments on the Tripadvisor. We thank you for your patronage of The Sonnet Kolkata & considering us as the preferred hotel during your recent visit to the city.

I have taken a note of your appreciations and we are happy; we are proactively working on implementing a Kid's Play Area... on your suggestion, as we firmly believe in upgradation of our services to suit all travellers......be it Business or Leisure. Other measures at par with the best in hospitality are also being implemented to make each stay at The Sonnet Kolkata, comfortable & a memorable one. Here I would like to inform you that " The Sonnet" Kolkata is now member of "Sterling Hotels" by International Hospitality Brand "Preferred Hotel Group" of USA. The Sonnet is the first PHG member in Eastern India and this association is one of our continuous and dynamic endeavours towards global benchmarking.

The Sonnet family truly believes in "Atithi Devo Bhaba" and imparting best of services, hospitality standards & benchmarks, thereby creating a Symphony in Harmony.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Sonnet very soon and my team shall go that extra mile to extend the Sonnet hospitality of "Poetry in Service".

Thanks & regards,
Rajib Roy Choudhury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sonnet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sonnet

Address: Block DD,Plot No. 08 | Sector 1, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700064, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#6 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#9 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sonnet 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonnet has embarked on a journey of establishing itself as a premium 4-star business hotel group in India. The Sonnet, Kolkata is a symphony in design, service & efficiency. A premium business hotel, located in The City of Joy’s newest and most promising Business Hub, Salt Lake. It’s proximity to the airport and Salt Lake’s sprawling IT district makes it the most convenient location. Amenities and facilities are at par with the best in the industry. With unobtrusive & efficient service, we strive to make your stay a very comfortable one. The Sonnet is a eco sensitive hotel and is committed to the social & environmental causes and responsibilities and is always involved in organizing activities to initiate social and ecological awareness. The environment team at the hotel is always ready to contribute to the smallest concerns and handy in extending all support to environmental needs.The state of the art décor, 64 ultra-modern superbly furnished self-contained guest rooms, the fitness centre “WORKOUT” along with the open air Jacuzzi “SPLASH”, a well-stocked bar “UNWINE”, a Music Lounge “ORION” and Round the Clock Fine Dine restaurant “AURA” provides the boarders with all the physical, holistic and gastronomical relaxation that they need to feel at home. Round the Clock in Room Dining pampers one to lazy meals in the privacy of the room. Tailored tour arrangements in luxury cars, heritage walks, religious services, buddy services, and also tie-up with a renowned SPA are always available at beck n call.For the discerned corporate traveller, The Sonnet is ever ready with specially crafted food by the Master Chefs as per guest preference, place, country or origin. Facilities like express check-in, check-out, Wi Fi connectivity, secretarial services, and chauffeur services are tailored to one’s choice and requirement. Corporate meetings, Seminars, Get togethers can be organized in the well-equipped meeting rooms (starting from 1500 Sq. feet to 4000 Sq. feet). Also not to forget the open air terraces for the social functions as well as evening cocktails…….the package is unlimited. THE SONNET OFFERS YOU ONLY THE BEST, SERVICE IN A PERFECT SYMPHONY!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sonnet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sonnet India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sonnet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.