We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel, big rooms and close to City Mall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sonnet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Sonnet to your Saves list
The Sonnet
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Block DD,Plot No. 08 | Sector 1, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700064, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel, big rooms and close to City Mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Was here for 6 days. Bedroom was large and well laid out but the bathroom a bit pokey and one person at a time. Water pressure average and hot water not that hot, Wifi connection very good but only one device connected. Rp 2k for 7 days. Dining room menu was good with some nice Indian wines (you've got to try it just to say you've had it!). Bar was small and very quiet each night. Only 200m walk to City Mall with lots of good shops. But Metro N-S line being build right outside and pillons are finished but not the tracks or the stations so check again when it is eventually finshed - probably 5 years the rate they are going!

Room Tip: Away from the front when the Metro is finished
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GunjanKumar, Front Office Manager at The Sonnet, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Namashkar!

I would like to thank you for writing to us which indicates your true liking for the property, as we firmly believe that it is corporate like you who with your honest comment makes us travel from strength to strength and also acts as a realization for us… as to the basic requirements of corporate. But all said and done, I apologize for the inconveniences which you have mentioned in your feedback and firmly believe and trust that we would be able to meet the expectations that you have entrusted us with, and promise and assure you of our best services at all times.

We look forward to welcome you at The Sonnet very soon in the near future.

Thanks and Regards,
Gunjan Kumar
Sr. Manager Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    93
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
21
16
13
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Two or three visits to Kolkata become necessary every year for some business or other . My company used to book me into one of the three hotels with which they had tied up . All three were excellent hotels , but it took about one and half hours drive from airport .
Last time when I went to Kolkata I was taken to 'Sonnet' and I wondered why it was not tried earlier. The hotel is as cosy and comfortable as any other but had the added advantage of proximity to airport. This is no small advantage taking into account the milling crowd and difficult traffic of Kolkata. The August rains had created poodles of water and slush in many parts of the city but this hotel was surrounded by the spacious roads of Salt Lake.
But this need not create the impression that location is the only good thing about this hotel. In fact I didn't find anything which I disliked in Sonnet. Service was immaculate and food was decent. True , it does not have the class of a Taj or an ITC group hotel ; but the tariff is also accordingly moderated.
Room was clean and cosy enough providing excellent sleep quality.
There is one small thing which didn't quite bring a smile. The Bengali food could have been tastier , carrying real local flavour. Even the famed 'luchi' at breakfast was somewhat soggy , though delivered hot. Perhaps I would have picked up a few more points to crib about had I stayed longer; but with a day's stay in Sonnet I have carried good feelings about the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better view of the surrounding locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GunjanKumar, Front Office Manager at The Sonnet, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest

Namashkar!

I would like to thank you for writing to us which indicates your true liking for the property, as we firmly believe that it is corporate like you who with your honest comment makes us travel from strength to strength and also acts as a realization for us… as to the basic requirements of corporate.
Words cannot express how truly we feel for the inconvenience that was caused. This is especially saddening because we at The Sonnet Kolkata believes in the promise to serve with a deep rooted passion and making the experience of Guest happier and easier for everyone who chooses to stay with us.

But all said and done, I again apologize for the inconvenience that we have caused to you.

We are committed to our valued guest, and we promise to live up to your confidence in us. We believe that The Sonnet would emerge as a true home away from home. We look forward to welcome you at The Sonnet very soon in the near future.

Thanks and Regards

Gunjan Kumar
Sr Manager Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Staff were extremely curtious and helpful.

Check-in and out painless.

Food very good in the restaurant.

An excellent choice for a business traveler needing to be in the Salt Lake area.

Convenient to City Center Salt Lake for shopping or cinema.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GunjanKumar, Front Office Manager at The Sonnet, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest

Namashkar!

At the onset, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the patronage of The Sonnet, Kolkata . Your feedback indicates your true liking for the property, as we firmly believe that it is corporate like you who with your honest comment makes us travel from strength to strength and also acts as a realization for us…

Looking forward to welcome you back with us at The Sonnet, Kolkata

Thanks and Regards,
Gunjan Kumar
Sr Manager Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A great place to stay for business and leisure... an ideal place for business travellers if they have work within the salt lake area or close by. The main city centre is an hours drive in traffic. The rooms are neat clean and well equiped with all needs, staff is helpful and very professional. Room service is quick and you get food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Good hotel for a business trip for the tariff.
Excellent service. Got an upgrade to executive room which was quite spacious.
Helpful staff. Food is very good.
Would visit again is business in salt lake area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roorkee
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was the first time I stayed in Sonnet. It is less than 3 years old. The room is very good. There is a working desk if you have to work on your laptop. The bed is comfortable though the pillows were not great ( they were good ). Room Service food is really good and served in a very professional way. Staff is friendly. The Breakfast has many varieties : cereals, Idlis, Dosas, Scrambled eggs, Oatmeal, Juice, Milk Shake, Omelette , Toast, tea , Coffee , Sausages , Sweets and more :-) . I used the Fitness Center and they opened it up for me even in late hours and I appreciate that. I used it for 2 evenings. Some maintenance in Bathroom was a little below quality but that does not cause any hurdles. Towels were just OK. Need to be improved. Appreciate bright white clean towels. I used the Laundry service and it was reasonable. Overall good.

Room Tip: Only 5th floor is NON SMOKING .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel in salt lake city is small but nice. Modern decor.

Rooms are excellent with all the facilities needed. Beautiful and clean each room has an iron which is not very common in India in hotels this size. Bathrooms are great too.

Restaurant is nice with nice buffet for breakfast and dinner,
The lounge seems to be good too (Did not try). Swimming pool is non existent. Gym small but functional.

Staff- nice and friendly and very helpful.

You can walk down to a nearby mall for shopping or if you get bored in room.

Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Any room is good but go for one that faces main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sonnet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sonnet

Address: Block DD,Plot No. 08 | Sector 1, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700064, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sonnet 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonnet has embarked on a journey of establishing itself as a premium 4-star business hotel group in India. The Sonnet, Kolkata is a symphony in design, service & efficiency. A premium business hotel, located in The City of Joy’s newest and most promising Business Hub, Salt Lake. It’s proximity to the airport and Salt Lake’s sprawling IT district makes it the most convenient location. Amenities and facilities are at par with the best in the industry. With unobtrusive & efficient service, we strive to make your stay a very comfortable one. The Sonnet is a eco sensitive hotel and is committed to the social & environmental causes and responsibilities and is always involved in organizing activities to initiate social and ecological awareness. The environment team at the hotel is always ready to contribute to the smallest concerns and handy in extending all support to environmental needs.The state of the art décor, 64 ultra-modern superbly furnished self-contained guest rooms, the fitness centre “WORKOUT” along with the open air Jacuzzi “SPLASH”, a well-stocked bar “UNWINE”, a Music Lounge “ORION” and Round the Clock Fine Dine restaurant “AURA” provides the boarders with all the physical, holistic and gastronomical relaxation that they need to feel at home. Round the Clock in Room Dining pampers one to lazy meals in the privacy of the room. Tailored tour arrangements in luxury cars, heritage walks, religious services, buddy services, and also tie-up with a renowned SPA are always available at beck n call.For the discerned corporate traveller, The Sonnet is ever ready with specially crafted food by the Master Chefs as per guest preference, place, country or origin. Facilities like express check-in, check-out, Wi Fi connectivity, secretarial services, and chauffeur services are tailored to one’s choice and requirement. Corporate meetings, Seminars, Get togethers can be organized in the well-equipped meeting rooms (starting from 1500 Sq. feet to 4000 Sq. feet). Also not to forget the open air terraces for the social functions as well as evening cocktails…….the package is unlimited. THE SONNET OFFERS YOU ONLY THE BEST, SERVICE IN A PERFECT SYMPHONY!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sonnet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sonnet India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sonnet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.