We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thesarus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Kolkata

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Kolkata to your Saves list
Swissotel Kolkata
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   City Center New Town, Action Area 2D | Plot No. 11/5, Rajarhat, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700157, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 196 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“thesarus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

very close from the airport, attached to a mall so you can spend your free time having fun.I really liked the management of the staff, because i stayed there for a party ,i have seen the banquets, they are good, every year i choose this hotel for my show, they are very helpful n friendly trust me,they arranged each n every thing i needed on time.i will recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Miss. Shub,

It was a great pleasure having you stay in Swissôtel Kolkata and we would like to thank you for taking out time and post a review on Trip Advisor.

I would indeed take the pride and share with my team members about your appreciation for the banquet team and the effort for the arrangement that would simultaneously help my team members work more efficiently and happily.

I along with my team members would wait to welcome you back at Swissôtel Kolkata on your next visit to Kolkata.

Warm Regards,

Marco Saxer
General Manager
Swissôtel Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    217
    37
    13
    16
See reviews for
87
89
55
356
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Swissotel was wonderfully relaxing after our exciting tour of Sikkim and Darjeeling. We originally intended to stay here 1 night to catch an early morning connecting flight, but ended up staying 2 nights because we missed our flight (our fault). We stayed in Room 801 which is a 1 bedroom suite. The hotel is awesome without any doubt.

Room Tip: i thinh no any tips required.....bcoz all things are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

I along with my team members would like to thank you for giving us a review on TripAdvisor from your regular schedules.

It gives us a great pleasure to hear that you had a comfortable stay in Swissôtel Kolkata and the service delivered by our team, room and the location had fulfilled your expectation.

I along with my team members wait to welcome you again in Swissôtel Kolkata on your next visit to the city.

Warm regards,

Marco Saxer
General Manager
Swissôtel Kolkata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

November 2012, it was my second stay at Swissotel Kolkata. I've been there for business reasons.
I've stayed 15 days. A recent hotel really confortable and definitely one of the most friendly staff I've got the opportunity to meet (after thailand). You will get a restful moment in your confortable room, relaxing moment in the amazing swimming pool with wide view to the new international airport more align with the ambition of Kolkata, and the new town. After a long business day, go workout in the great fitness center where a coach is waiting for supporting you. After exercices, you will have difficult choice between indian restaurant at second floor, outside restaurant, buffet, bar at 6th floor. Food is really nice and service really professional and friendly. Inernet everywhere make you life easier to work or whatever you want. Just very good !

Room Tip: Higher floors are the most confortable but I've stayed a the 5th floor and i didn't get any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear theloubifarang,

It was a great pleasure having you stay in Swissôtel Kolkata and we would like to thank you for taking out time and post a review on Trip Advisor.

It gives us a great pleasure to know that you had a comfort in staying with that and us our location and proximity to airport and to your business travel was a way much easier. We indeed take up the appreciation from your review about our Swiss contemporary and modern designs about the property.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Warm Regards,

Marco Saxer
General Manager
Swissôtel Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Good option depending on your needs. Within about 15 minutes from the airport. Not much in the area; appears residential. If you want to see the city or culture of Kolkata, you won't from here without a long drive. This is a newer property....I believe I was told 2 years old so it isn't worn yet. There is mall adjacent which was a good place to walk or even just 'hang out' to get away from the room. The mall has several restaurant options including several American chains (Subway, McD, KFC, Pizza Hut). Also found an ATM and pharmacy so that was convenient. Hotel staff was very friendly. I thought the breakfast buffet was average. Not a huge spread and the food was okay. I got a good breakfast and left full; but was average compared to other places I've stayed. I did see one staff member at breakfast drop a pair of serving tongs. He promptly placed them on the counter where they collect dirty dishes. A minute later, another staff member came along and move the tongs back to the bread table. Simple mistake but not something a guest should see. I did not like the location of the fitness center and pool area because you had to walk through the dining area to get to them. You get a nice view of people in their workout clothes (and sweat) walking through during breakfast. There were a few other restaurant/lounge options in the hotel. They looked nice but I did not try so can't comment on service or quality. Room was clean and had everything you need. It was a room (king bed, TV, desk and bathroom) and nothing extraordinary about it although I did like the hardwood floors instead of carpet. It was very clean, comfortable and no signs of wear on the furniture or sheets/towels. My only real problem was the Internet service. I was able to connect okay. Made it to the company VPN okay. However, my company softphone was not usable. It would startup and dial okay but that was it. I worked with our company voice services group and after trying a lot of things they said it must be a local hotel issue. Never had that problem before or since. Only real impact is that I missed a couple of calls and got more sleep that night so it worked out for me; I still had email and instant messaging with no problem. I was originally planning 12 nights but left after 2; moved to a hotel closer to the city. I did not move because of a problem at the Swissotel (although the phone issue would have to be resolved if I was staying 12 nights); it was my first trip to Kolkata and to be there that long, I wanted to experience more of the city. If you need 1 or 2 nights close to the airport, this one is recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Swissôtel Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

I am disappointed and concerned to learn that your experience at our hotel was not up to your expectation and I have simultaneously shared your feedback with my team. We will do everything possible to correct the shortfalls you have experienced this time. My team members and I extend my sincere apologies to you in this matter.

I would request you to view this as isolation and not let it mark your overall impression of the hotel and its services. I look forward to welcome you back to Swissôtel Kolkata.

Warm Regards,

Marco Saxer
General Manager
Swissôtel Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Swissotel was wonderfully relaxing after our exciting tour of Sikkim and Darjeeling. We originally intended to stay here 1 night to catch an early morning connecting flight, but ended up staying 2 nights because we missed our flight (our fault). We stayed in Room 801 which is a 1 bedroom suite. The hotel is much more luxurious than swissotels elsewhere, the bathroom even had a TV. There is a decent mall with a walkway to the hotel. An expansive buffet breakfast with too many choices was actually the reason we missed our flight on the first day. The fitness center and infinity pool were well maintained.
We did not expect much from this hotel since we were only looking for a comfy bed close to the airport, but it far exceeded our expectations. The hotel may however not be an optimal location for exploring Kolkata.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

It gives me great pleasure to learn that you had a comfortable and more than expected stay at Swissôtel Kolkata and would like to Thank you for writing us a review from your regular schedules in TripAdvisor.

I would indeed take the pride and share with my team members about your appreciation for the room, service, pool & gym about the F&B buffet arrangement that would simultaneously help my team members work more efficiently and happily.

I along with my team members would await to welcome you back at Swissôtel Kolkata on your next visit to Kolkata.

Warm Regards,

Marco Saxer
General Manager
Swissôtel Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linköping, Schweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

it could have been perfect...the ambiente is well done,the buffet was delicious, but when a 5 star staff insists that internet access can only be given to ONE person in a double room, ( reason given : internet is expensive!), when only one bathrobe is provided and when staff enters the room unannounced and without knocking or ringing... perfect is not a word i would use. sorry was all we heard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Swissôtel Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

I am disappointed and concerned to learn that your experience at our hotel was not up to your expectation and I have simultaneously shared your feedback with my team. We will do everything possible to correct the shortfalls you have experienced this time. My team members and I extend my sincere apologies to you in this matter.

I would like to share with you that due to technical limitations only one individual can login at a time from the respective rooms. In addition to this, I would also specify that the internet access that we provide is complimentary irrespective of the number of occupants and the duration of use. In a double occupancy, we do provide two bathrobes.

I would request you to view this as isolation and not let it mark your overall impression of the hotel and its services. I look forward to welcome you back to Swissôtel Kolkata.

Warm Regards,

Marco Saxer
General Manager
Swissôtel Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebeltoft, Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Nice, but expencive, hard to complain about anything. Only room price, seemed to change every week +/- 10 %. ???
If you want to stay within 20 min. to Airport, and have shopping center just outside hotel. Swissotel is the place to be.

Only minus I can think of,,,,, the superb terrace outside the main restaurant, with green trees etc. Is totally spoiled by the noise from the shopping centers air-con cooling tower.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure of having you stay in Swissôtel Kolkata and I would like to thank you for writing about us on TripAdvisor.

I would hereby extend my sincere apologies for the variance in room rates, but as per the market value and the demand changing day by day our room rates also vary on a weekly basis. I would also find out a possible solution for the noise that heard in the outer area of Café Swiss.

I, with my team members would thank you for your valuable review, as it would help us improve in our near future. Swissôtel Kolkata would wait to welcome you again on your next visit to Kolkata.

Warm regards,

Marco Saxer
General Manager
Swissôtel Kolkata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Kolkata

Address: City Center New Town, Action Area 2D | Plot No. 11/5, Rajarhat, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700157, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Kolkata 4.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Kolkata is Kolkata’s newest five-star luxury hotel near the airport and is attached to a mall featuring shops, restaurants and a multiplex cinema. Located in Rajarhat beside the IT hub, the hotel offers a distinct mix of leisure and business facilities, and is noted for its unique offering of Swiss hospitality and attention to detail.Choose from 147 elegantly appointed guest rooms, including 59 suites with large open-air terraces, each with its own spectacularly exclusive outdoor Jacuzzi. Executive rooms and the Swiss Executive Club lounge provide additional luxury and exclusivity. The award-winning rooftop Sky Lounge is the jewel of the hotel’s three restaurants and bar, offering views over the city. An in-house nightclub with resident DJ attracts hip locals and guests alike. The sumptuous breakfast buffet offers a wide range of choices to energise your day.The business centre and two meeting rooms more than cover all your business needs. Over 1000 guests can be accommodated in cocktail/reception style in Bern, the largest pillar-free banqueting facility – and a team of event planners is on hand to help you hold the perfect wedding at Swissotel Kolkata.Swissotel Kolkata’s alpine-inspired Purovel Sport offers you an exclusive ambiance in which to continue your exercise routine, with a fully equipped gym and a breathtaking infinity swimming pool on the roof.The hotel has separate smoking and non-smoking floors, there is free internet throughout except in the banquet areas, and secure parking is also available for your vehicle during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Swissotel Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Swissotel Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Kolkata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.